We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New Luxury Hotel overlooking the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great location in Agua Calientes on the river road. It is a 2 minute walk to the bus stop that takes you up to Machu Picchu and only 5 minute walk to the center of town. The hotel's amenities are very modern (wifi, TV, etc) and the service is impeccable. While the cost is slightly more than other Agua Caliente hotels it is definitely worth the price. I would recommend this over the hotel in the park because you are so close to resturaunts and shops in town, while at the park you are isolated.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room overlooking the river, it was just roaring when we were their and quite be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Steven
Thank you very much for giving us a nice review about our property and services. As you have mentioned We have a good very location near to restaurants and shops.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Sumaq is an upscale modern hotel conveniently located on the river road such that the bus to Machu Pichu stops right out front. Also less than 5 min walk to restaurants/shops. Room had balcony overlooking the river- which was roaring in march. Our room also had jacuzzi tub, good wifi, tv, dvr, and option of 2 different plugs /voltage- helpful for recharging camera battery etc. . Front desk loaned us towels which we took to the local hot Springs. These Pools were not really hot enough for my taste and water looks rather murky but it was still a fun local experience for my teen son and I after long day of hiking. Dinner at the hotel was tasty and beautifully presented but If there is a large tour group staying there - Eat elsewhere or ask to be seated at a different time to avoid the crowd. You will have a great time whereever you stay. Machu pichu is majestic . wayan pichu is a challenging climb with many steep and irregular stairs- I took it slow and very cautiously and it was worth it!

Room Tip: Most rooms have river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Good morning
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I met head waiter Guido Valencia after he checked on us at our dining table. Guido is great and we struck a relationship where he helped us with information, served our family beyond expectation... and shared Machu Picchu stories about the famous place next door. Guido and staff are one of the best organized teams we've seen!! We will return!!

All your staff were fantastic...can not think of anything to change. We were guided for hiking locations and given warm tea when we returned out of breath! What a great hotel by the river! Love it!!

Room Tip: pick a room facing the river and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Stephanie
Thank you very much for post a very nice review about our staff and services. We are glad that you had a very nice experience with guido. i will notice about your post
Again thank so much for giving us 5 poitns.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our family spent one night here while enjoying the sites of Machu Picchu. This hotel was wonderful. The hotel and rooms were beautiful, staff were very friendly, accommodating and very attentive service. Guido and the culinary staff were excellent. Meals were excellent and the presentation beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Sue
Thank you so much for giving us a nice review about our services and hotel.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Quiet, edge of town, great service, good restaurant, nice view across the road of Urubamba River.

Avoid the craziness of town if you're tired. This is a restful place. And each employee seemed to take an extra step of hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GManPackerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Lovely place to stay had brilliant room 1107 has jacuzzi bath and a real fireplace in seating area nice kingsize bed very comfortable - we were on a tour and was the best all round hotel we stayed in service was excellent - great position overlooking the river - bus stops right outside on way back from Machupicchu. Food was well presented and staff very attentive and good humoured. They even let us have a second breakfast before and after early trip up to Machupicchu - great place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for giving us a very nice review. We are grateful for your nice words towards our property and services, Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a great stay here which included breakfast buffet and 3 course dinner. Beautiful rooms and facilities with undertones of the great Inka culture. Amazing food, great view of the Urubamba River, and comfy beds. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: request/purchase a river facing room, great views and soothing sounds as you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmike01star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

thank you very much for giving us your feedback about our property. We appreciate your nice review

We really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 6 in Machu Picchu
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £250 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing