We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

While traveling with Globus Tours to Peru, our visit included a stay at the Sumaq Hotel, Aguas Calientes, at the foot of Machu Picchu. The hotel is new, comfortable, and the service is excellent. Just one complaint, no coffee maker in the rooms and no room service. The little city of Aguas Caliente is charming with all it colorful handmade items for sale. Our visit to Machu Picchu was a highlight of the tour. The weather was clear and sunny with a little rain in the afternoon. The hotel restaurant serves delicious food. It was here that we ate alpaca steaks, the taste is a combination of lamb and beef, tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    327
    83
    33
    15
See reviews for
385
852
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night before going up to Machu Picchu. All the staff were very friendly. Included in the room price was a Cebiche cooking class where you tasted the result, a Pisco sour making class, another free Pisco sour in the evening and an amazing 3 course dinner. Oh and afternoon tea but we skipped that. They also bought a selection of chocolates to the room in the afternoon which was a nice touch. The dinner was delicious and you choose from any dishes on their al a carte menu which was extensive. The service at dinner was impeccable and the dishes well presented. So even though the hotel rate is quite expensive all the inclusions make it ok value. The rooms are nice. They only thing I would say is that if you are getting the train back to Cuzco the same day as you are doing Machu Picchu then don't come down from the mountain too early as you will be waiting around too long. As check out is 10am at the hotel then there is no place to shower before you get on the train. We went up early to Machu Picchu and walked back down. We were back by 12 and had to wait until 3:50 for our train

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anj_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel. we let use the showers to all our guest you were ask about it at the front desk

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After staying at another luxury hotel in the Sacred Valley where every single thing seemed to add to the bill, I was a little nervous about moving to the Sumaq. Fortunately, this hotel knows how to do it right! The price is not inexpensive, true, but once you pay for the room pretty much everything else is included, which makes for a very relaxing experience. From the juice they give you while checking in to the truly outstanding dinner (all included), we could not have been happier with the facilities or the service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caesarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Leonards, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We knew that our experience at this hotel was going to be amazing as soon as we walked in. The staff at reception were very friendly and professional. We were invited to a cooking class and afternoon tea ( all included in the package ). We cannot comment on these as we were so tired after spending the day at the magical site of Machu Picchu. We did get a beautifully presented platter with home made wafer biscuits. Dinner was amazing, the waiters were lovely and very helpful. Our tomato soup was divine, the Alpaca steak was cooked to perfection and the home made icecream was just yummy. The hotel room was very spacious and comfortable. One of the only hotels whilst our travels in Sth America that actually provided bottled water. The balcony off the bedroom provided us with the view of the raging Urubamba River. Loved this hotel, the town of Aguas Calientes and of course Machi Picchu which has the biggest WOW factor. Thank you Peru for an amazing experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our services.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.

all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the moment we arrived in Aguas Calientes our experience with this hotel could not have been better. A staff member from the hotel, Juan, met us at the train station and carried our bags down to the hotel lobby. The people at the reception desk settled us into comfortable chairs and brought us cool towels, a welcoming drink, and a pastry. There were so many extras included in the price of our stay: a complementary buffet breakfast, free pisco sours, afternoon tea, and a first-rate three-course dinner at the hotel restaurant. All the little touches that make for a great stay were there. For example, we wanted to get up early to watch the sunrise over the Sun Gate at Machu Picchu. The hotel had a special bus for its guests, so we did not have to wait on line out in the cold at the bus station. Another extra was the complementary cooking demonstration. Fernando did a great job with the Pisco sours, and Ribalino taught us all about ceviche. The staff at the reception desk could not have been better. One special staff member was our waiter Steep, who did everything possible to make our experience great. The hotel itself was beautifully appointed and sparkling clean. Our view of the Urubamba river from the window balcony was breathtaking. We hope to return again in the near future!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank born2travel262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The whole experience was amazing. The Vistadome train to the Hotel, the view from our room of the River surging down. The room was a good size and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was average. We only had one night there but enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay there again, just for the atmosphere let alone the stunning Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,342 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Service is excellent at every level.

Room is spacious and bed is very comfortable.

Tea time macaroons and bedtime chocolates were more than we expected.

The restaurant was five star quality from the complimentary Andean mushrooms through the appetizers and the main course

The chocolate tort and ice cream was to die for.

Best experience in Peru.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TAMAN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing