We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed two nights in the Sumaq. From check in to check out the service was fantastic. Hotel room was spacious, and clean. The downside of the room, no air conditioning, which made the rooms feel damp. Our dining experieince (breakfast and dinner included) was bar none, from the service to the presentation of food to the taste. I got all the service I needed when asked.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcia0254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    327
    83
    33
    15
See reviews for
385
850
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night while on a tour of Peru. I loved being on the roaring river that provided a calming sleep. Our room had a balcony over the Urubamba River. We had a gourmet dinner, lovely goody platter in our room. And after spending the day hiking around Machu Picchu, my husband and I treated ourselves to massages in the wonderful inhouse spa. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: I would definitely choose a room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songbird76034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed 2 nights there. It was good since check in until check out. The service was great, the food was excelent and I got all assistence that I need there (even that I didn't know that I would need. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leonardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Leonardo
Thank you very much for your feedback we really appreciate your nice review
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.
Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitesboro, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This property is located at the end of the hotel strip, the first one you see as you take the bus to Aguascalientes Calientes from Machu Pichu. We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the Urubamba River. Our stay included a three course gourmet dinner, welcome cocktail, goody platter in the room, and an afternoon tea. We could also have attended a cooking class, but we didn't have time. They were even nice enough to loan me a hiking stick to climb Huaynu Pichu. They will store your luggage for you and take it to the train station so that you have no worries about carrying it with you all day. My only complaint was that the motion sensors that turn on the hall lights were not sensitive enough if you walk quickly. We were caught in the dark a bit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Propietario at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

nicely located. great staff. excellent food. very short walk to bus stop that takes you to the ruins. The nearby plaza is a nice escape during the evening. Room was excellent! highly recommended. Worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neurosurgeon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for one night while seeing Machu Picchu. One of the perks was having them hold a seat for us on the bus. Bonus. The room was so heavily perfumed that we had to ask for a change. They informed us that it was the smell in all of their rooms. They were right. The next room was also heavily perfumed. Headache. We chose not to eat dinner there - given our experience with the room. This place is really expensive and promotes itself as a luxury hotel. Save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovethebeach21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
First of all I would like to thank the time you have taken to leave your comments on Tripadvisor, it is very important for us to know the opinion of our guests, this allows us to identify our strengths and work on our weaknesses to achieve continuous improvement in our services.

I appreciate your feedback, I hope in time you can stay again with us so that we can reverse the negative perception we left on you.

all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

While traveling with Globus Tours to Peru, our visit included a stay at the Sumaq Hotel, Aguas Calientes, at the foot of Machu Picchu. The hotel is new, comfortable, and the service is excellent. Just one complaint, no coffee maker in the rooms and no room service. The little city of Aguas Caliente is charming with all it colorful handmade items for sale. Our visit to Machu Picchu was a highlight of the tour. The weather was clear and sunny with a little rain in the afternoon. The hotel restaurant serves delicious food. It was here that we ate alpaca steaks, the taste is a combination of lamb and beef, tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing