We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumaq's package to visit Machu Picchu is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We got a Sumaq special package to visit Machu Picchu that included many extras and made the trip very smooth. It all worked out beautifully. The hotel itself was very nice and the food was some of the best we had on our entire 10-day trip. Our package included two nights in a suite with a fireplace, a guided tour of the Manuel Ballon museum on our first afternoon (don't miss it, it's a lovely little museum with good exhibits to introduce you to MP), nightly pisco sours, two breakfasts and two dinners, tickets and a guide for MP including pickup at the hotel door on the bus up the mountain so we didn't have to stand in line, tickets and a guide to climb Huayna Picchu, two massages after our big day, and on our last day, our guide took us on a nice bird-watching walk to a waterfall, with a packed lunch from the hotel, before our afternoon train. We couldn't even squeeze in the cooking lessons on how to make ceviche! We did all our other arrangements ourselves elsewhere in Peru, including PeruRail tickets, but Sumaq made the Machu Picchu portion of the trip very special. Special thanks to Guido, our excellent guide!

Room Tip: We really liked our suite with fireplace, but the other rooms looked fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Good morning
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and mention our Sumaq Special package.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,908 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were part of a group of 18 people. Our travel agents booked this hotel for us. Most of us got rooms facing the river. My usual luck continued as my travel companion and I got a room facing the train tracks. We were going to stay only one night and I have ear plugs so I just let it go. I went across the hall to my friends' room to take a look at the river. It was pretty loud!

Our room was large and clean. After reading some of the reviews that there was no air conditioning, I was a little concerned. I found our room was not damp and the temperature was very comfortable. Air conditioning would be a waste at this elevation anyway.

By the way, at check-in, the staff was ready for us and handed out drinks, appetizers, and towels. Very nice touch. After we put our luggage in the rooms, we headed to the streets to take a look around. It was nice to be able to walk everywhere.

Had dinner at the hotel. Very good food. A+ for presentation. After dinner, some of us went to the 3rd floor lounge to finish our wine. Very pleasant.

That night, I put my ear plugs in, expecting trains to rumble by all night. My travel companion told me that the last train came by around 9:30pm! All quiet at night except for the (what I believed to be) tree frogs chirping.

Our experience at the Sumaq Hotel was great! No complaints at all. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel on June 16, 2014. We arrived in Aguas Calientes on the VistaDome train and a representative from the hotel was there to pick up our luggage and take it to the hotel. We met our guide and were off on the bus to Machu Picchu. After touring the ruins until mid-afternoon we caught the bus back to town. The guide got us on the front seat of the bus and told the driver to let us off at the Sumaq. The bus let us off just across the street and saved us a walk back from the station. From the outside the hotel looks nice but unassuming. Once you enter you find a very nice oasis with an excellent, courteous staff. We relaxed on one of their comfortable couches with a refreshment provided by a staff member while they completed our registration. We selected the second seating for dinner and went to our room to freshen-up. We went to the bar and had a complimentary Pisco Sour while waiting for dinner. Dinner was a three course meal with three choices of entrée. We both had cilantro soup, trout (it was excellent) and a warm tart for desert. The next morning we slept in until about 8:00, had a very nice breakfast and went back to Machu Picchu to take pictures. We came back to the hotel, getting off at the Sumaq stop again, before going to the train station to catch the VistaDome to Cusco. While relaxing and waiting for the train the hotel staff invited us to a complementary cooking class they were holding. We declined because we thought it might cut us short of time to walk to the train station. The hotel delivered our luggage to the train station and we picked it up from the staff member (with a claim check) before boarding the train. The accommodations at this hotel were very good but the staff were the plus factor that made for an excellent experience. If we return to Aguas Callientes and Machu Picchu we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gthrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

On day 3 we took the Vistadome to Machu Picchu Puebla (Aguas Calientes) and were pleased to see a representative from the Sumaq M P Hotel waiting to collect any baggage that we did not want to carry to the lost city on the bus. Even though minimal baggage is allowed on the train it was very convenient to be able to leave it in trust to the hotel and not loose time on our adventure, so off to the bus we went. After touring the ruins upon request of our guide Beri the bus dropped us near the hotel (for some essentials shopping, like a can of oxygen) rather than where we boarded. At the Sumaq M P we were directed to wait in the lounge area where we were served a fresh drink and snack while registration was brought to us rather than standing at the front desk, after a busy day at Machu Picchu this was quite welcome.

The Sumaq is right on the main road and the rooms although not as elegant as some we stayed in were very clean, of good size and comfort. Most of all from the room point of view, it was the view I enjoyed. Our 3rd floor balcony gave us a clear view up and down the street, the mountain across the road and the rushing Urubamba (Vilcanota) River. The street below is a little busy with buses and small town like but the sound of the rushing river drowns out any annoyances. Personally I like to see the people, the city, and the culture. In the flowering trees across the road I saw the largest hummingbird I have ever. The location of the Sumaq on the edge of the city to Machu Picchu by bus is very convenient.

Without a doubt the food and service at the Sumaq restaurant was excellent. I have included some pictures of the trout dinner with this review. I can honestly say it was the best dinner I had on our eight-day adventure, enhanced by three Pisco Sours which are delicious!

On day 4 the bus picked us up right at the door of the Sumaq M P hotel and off we headed with our guide Beto for day two at the ruins of the Lost City of the Incas. Upon our return to the city we got off the bus at our lunch restaurant and then toured through the market leaving our bags to be transferred to the train station by our guide. As night approached it was time to take the Hiram Bingham Dinner Train (an expensive but worthwhile treat I allowed myself) back to Cuzco.

Would I stay at the Sumaq Hotel again, yes!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for the view of the valley facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hank_and_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beautiful hotel!!! Wonderful friendly staff that treat you like your a rock star. The views were are stunning. The river and white water just blast by hotel and the sound was so relaxing. Don't even think about booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank josh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. Service was top-notch from the moment we departed the train station until our departure. We didn't quite have our plan for Machu Picchu set when we arrived, and Winy (I think was her name) was very helpful and also arranged our bus tickets for up to MP. It's a little far from the train/bus station (well, farther than other hotels but everything is close) but the bus to Machu Picchu picked us up in front of the hotel (arranged by the hotel).
We also had to arrange some of our travel plans subsequent to our visit to Aguas Calientes fairly last minute and the staff was helpful and accommodating. The included dinner and breakfast were both excellent. The bed was comfortable (and we're both kinda picky). It's no secret that hotels in Aguas Calientes are a bit overpriced, and this is no exception. But if you are willing to pay a little more for a nice hotel with great service, this is an excellent option. My only other complaint is that there was loud hammering/construction in the hotel around 7am. I know people get up early to visit Machu Picchu, but we weren't planning to wake up until 8am. Furthermore, even if I had already been awake, the last thing I want to hear first thing in the morning is loud construction. Especially at the price I paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lmschmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words, We are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations. As you have mentioned we are remodeling our lobby in order to show more special details for all of you
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

very nice, clean, comfortable hotel with helpful staff great food situated along a beautiful raging river. highly reccomended!!!!! Luxury in the quant little town of Macchu Picchu. The bus to Macchu Picchu picks you up directly in front of the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigPoppi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#2 of 30 in Machu Picchu
2,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £245 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing