We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Quiet and Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Quiet and Clean Hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel had the best food in Machu Picchu with the most attentive staff. It was such a delight to be greeted at the train station and have our luggage taken care of while we explored the quaint town of Machu Picchu Pueblo. We spent the night listening to the sound of the Urubamba River, woke before daybreak, met our guide and were whisked away on the bus in time to see the most magnificent sun rise I have ever experienced.

The hotel is very clean and spacious and in a quiet section of town. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Terrie

Really glad to realize that you had a wonderful experience while in our hotel. Thank you for your comments on our food. We are very happy you enjoyed it.

Thank you again for all your appreciation to us. I look forward to hosting you at Sumaq again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    321
    81
    33
    14
See reviews for
374
826
78
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. The rooms were spacious and clean. The restaurant offered an exceedingly broad selection of vegetarian dishes, each of which were delicious. Although the rooms only have heaters (no A.C.), the service was immaculate. In particular, head waiter Guido Valencia went the extra mile in serving us. He even acknowledged my birthday, without our mentioning it. His attentiveness and dedication made our stay at Sumaq a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mparikh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
all hte best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We got a Sumaq special package to visit Machu Picchu that included many extras and made the trip very smooth. It all worked out beautifully. The hotel itself was very nice and the food was some of the best we had on our entire 10-day trip. Our package included two nights in a suite with a fireplace, a guided tour of the Manuel Ballon museum on our first afternoon (don't miss it, it's a lovely little museum with good exhibits to introduce you to MP), nightly pisco sours, two breakfasts and two dinners, tickets and a guide for MP including pickup at the hotel door on the bus up the mountain so we didn't have to stand in line, tickets and a guide to climb Huayna Picchu, two massages after our big day, and on our last day, our guide took us on a nice bird-watching walk to a waterfall, with a packed lunch from the hotel, before our afternoon train. We couldn't even squeeze in the cooking lessons on how to make ceviche! We did all our other arrangements ourselves elsewhere in Peru, including PeruRail tickets, but Sumaq made the Machu Picchu portion of the trip very special. Special thanks to Guido, our excellent guide!

Room Tip: We really liked our suite with fireplace, but the other rooms looked fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Good morning
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and mention our Sumaq Special package.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were part of a group of 18 people. Our travel agents booked this hotel for us. Most of us got rooms facing the river. My usual luck continued as my travel companion and I got a room facing the train tracks. We were going to stay only one night and I have ear plugs so I just let it go. I went across the hall to my friends' room to take a look at the river. It was pretty loud!

Our room was large and clean. After reading some of the reviews that there was no air conditioning, I was a little concerned. I found our room was not damp and the temperature was very comfortable. Air conditioning would be a waste at this elevation anyway.

By the way, at check-in, the staff was ready for us and handed out drinks, appetizers, and towels. Very nice touch. After we put our luggage in the rooms, we headed to the streets to take a look around. It was nice to be able to walk everywhere.

Had dinner at the hotel. Very good food. A+ for presentation. After dinner, some of us went to the 3rd floor lounge to finish our wine. Very pleasant.

That night, I put my ear plugs in, expecting trains to rumble by all night. My travel companion told me that the last train came by around 9:30pm! All quiet at night except for the (what I believed to be) tree frogs chirping.

Our experience at the Sumaq Hotel was great! No complaints at all. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel. Thank you for considering SUMAQ with your 5 points.
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel on June 16, 2014. We arrived in Aguas Calientes on the VistaDome train and a representative from the hotel was there to pick up our luggage and take it to the hotel. We met our guide and were off on the bus to Machu Picchu. After touring the ruins until mid-afternoon we caught the bus back to town. The guide got us on the front seat of the bus and told the driver to let us off at the Sumaq. The bus let us off just across the street and saved us a walk back from the station. From the outside the hotel looks nice but unassuming. Once you enter you find a very nice oasis with an excellent, courteous staff. We relaxed on one of their comfortable couches with a refreshment provided by a staff member while they completed our registration. We selected the second seating for dinner and went to our room to freshen-up. We went to the bar and had a complimentary Pisco Sour while waiting for dinner. Dinner was a three course meal with three choices of entrée. We both had cilantro soup, trout (it was excellent) and a warm tart for desert. The next morning we slept in until about 8:00, had a very nice breakfast and went back to Machu Picchu to take pictures. We came back to the hotel, getting off at the Sumaq stop again, before going to the train station to catch the VistaDome to Cusco. While relaxing and waiting for the train the hotel staff invited us to a complementary cooking class they were holding. We declined because we thought it might cut us short of time to walk to the train station. The hotel delivered our luggage to the train station and we picked it up from the staff member (with a claim check) before boarding the train. The accommodations at this hotel were very good but the staff were the plus factor that made for an excellent experience. If we return to Aguas Callientes and Machu Picchu we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gthrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh On
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

On day 3 we took the Vistadome to Machu Picchu Puebla (Aguas Calientes) and were pleased to see a representative from the Sumaq M P Hotel waiting to collect any baggage that we did not want to carry to the lost city on the bus. Even though minimal baggage is allowed on the train it was very convenient to be able to leave it in trust to the hotel and not loose time on our adventure, so off to the bus we went. After touring the ruins upon request of our guide Beri the bus dropped us near the hotel (for some essentials shopping, like a can of oxygen) rather than where we boarded. At the Sumaq M P we were directed to wait in the lounge area where we were served a fresh drink and snack while registration was brought to us rather than standing at the front desk, after a busy day at Machu Picchu this was quite welcome.

The Sumaq is right on the main road and the rooms although not as elegant as some we stayed in were very clean, of good size and comfort. Most of all from the room point of view, it was the view I enjoyed. Our 3rd floor balcony gave us a clear view up and down the street, the mountain across the road and the rushing Urubamba (Vilcanota) River. The street below is a little busy with buses and small town like but the sound of the rushing river drowns out any annoyances. Personally I like to see the people, the city, and the culture. In the flowering trees across the road I saw the largest hummingbird I have ever. The location of the Sumaq on the edge of the city to Machu Picchu by bus is very convenient.

Without a doubt the food and service at the Sumaq restaurant was excellent. I have included some pictures of the trout dinner with this review. I can honestly say it was the best dinner I had on our eight-day adventure, enhanced by three Pisco Sours which are delicious!

On day 4 the bus picked us up right at the door of the Sumaq M P hotel and off we headed with our guide Beto for day two at the ruins of the Lost City of the Incas. Upon our return to the city we got off the bus at our lunch restaurant and then toured through the market leaving our bags to be transferred to the train station by our guide. As night approached it was time to take the Hiram Bingham Dinner Train (an expensive but worthwhile treat I allowed myself) back to Cuzco.

Would I stay at the Sumaq Hotel again, yes!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for the view of the valley facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank_and_Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your comments on our services. As you mentioned, we assistance to our guest from the train station to the hotel and viceversa. Then when they arrive at Sumaq, we give them a welcome drink with and a delicious snack.
We are really glad for your experience with us. We do appreciate your words on your room, we are very sure that you enjoyed your peaceful view to the Vilcanota River.
We are trained into exceeding each of our guests´ expectations.
Indeep, really hope that you had a great time with us and do look forward ot hosting you in the next future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Beautiful hotel!!! Wonderful friendly staff that treat you like your a rock star. The views were are stunning. The river and white water just blast by hotel and the sound was so relaxing. Don't even think about booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E-commerceSumaq, Gerente at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your preference in Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel!
We are very grateful for your nice words and comments towards our property and services.
Happy to see that you did have a great experience while in our hotel.

Really hope to have the chance to host you again in time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
1,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picch...
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing