We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel that delivered what it promised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tasmania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel that delivered what it promised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

We spent 2 nights in this modern hotel and were not disappointed. All hotels are expensive in AC so value is relative. Rooms were comfortable with top quality fittings and bathroom. The restaurant had a varied and good menu (which we couldn't take full advantage of due to stomach upset caught before we arrived there). Service in all areas was excellent and most staff went out of their way to help. Luggage service to and from station and we utilised one of the many sitting areas for a few hours after we checked out to relax while we waited for our train in the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFBtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    320
    81
    33
    14
See reviews for
371
820
78
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We had booked a hotel next door but refused to stay in it as it was appauling. So we bit the bullet and paid extra to stay at Sumaq. The rooms were spacious with lovely views across the river. the staff were friendly, the bar provided great recommendations regarding cocktails (try the passionfruit one), and the restaurant food was fabulous. We also enjoyed their spa service enjoying some massages which were in a lovely setting in the basement. would strongly recommend it. Don't waste your money on eating at SANCTUARY LODGE) unless you want to pay alot for smorgesboard food (it was all about the quantity and not the quality - and probably the second worst meal we had in Peru). It was far nicer to do the Machu Pichu tour and come back down away from the crowds and relax in Sumaq.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazarrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

We were impressive by the outstanding service that we received from the minute we checked in to even after we checked out! At check-in we were served juice and a small snack. Our room had an amazing view of the river and the gorge. We were offered complimentary "Pisco Sours" at bar before dinner and this also came with a little appetizer. Dinner and Breakfast were included in the price of the room. The restaurant wait staff offered exceptional service. Our appetizer, main and dessert were all delicious!
We had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

This is a very comfortable hotel after exploring Machu Picchu. Restaurant food, staff and service are exceptional - best I've had in South America. Only negative is if you like to sleep with window open ask for room not on ground floor as it is easy access from outside. No air con so i like window open.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleBiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Newly opened 5 star hotel, right at the end of town. Rooms facing river, fabulous. Best hot stone massage I've ever had. Don't past up the lamb in Peruvian spices. Friendly staff. They handled tickets for bus to MP and would go to the station & have bus stop at hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limestone57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

I would recommend this hotel but was disappointed that after paying over 450.00 was charged an extra 170.00 for my friend to stay with me. It would have been the same price had the other name been on the reservation which is not a good policy to me.
Other than that the service and the food was exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGiordano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angisitia28, General Manager,management at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Thanks for taking time to give us your feedback. About the extra money , unfortunatly its a policy of many hotels that if a third people is going to stay in a double room they have to pay an extra money for the extra bed and services ( And in our case includes the half board ).
We are happy that you enjoy the food at our hotel and once againg we appreciate your comments that help us improve everyday and we will keep working toward our guests satisfaction.
Best regards
Angie Clavijo , General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland County, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

We had been traveling through Equador and Peru for almost 2 weeks sightseeing by the time we got to the Sumaq Hotel. The day we arrived, we had spent a better part of it in Machu Piccu so we were definitely ready for a rest. Our stay began with a very warm welcome and, while they were completely attentive, the staff allowed us time to unwind and relax in their beautiful lobby (providing free drinks and snacks too!). The rooms were wonderful and the restaurant in the hotel was one of the best we went to on our vacation. Anything we needed assistance with, the staff was ready and willing. I would highly recommend checking this hotel out!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomson321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
Casa Andina Classic Machu Picchu
#7 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing