We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,039)
Filter reviews
2,039 results
Traveller rating
1,505
381
96
38
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,505
381
96
38
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscevichethe busthe rivercooking classmachu picchuwelcome drinkbeautiful hotelstar hotelpisco soursthe hotel staffbreakfast and dinnercourse dinnerincluded dinneri highly recommend this hotelsacred valleysanctuary lodgejunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 2,039 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We spent two nights here October 2017 before and after our visit to MP. The staff was outstanding: professional, helpful, and responsive. The room was luxurious, far exceeding our expectations. Meals were creative and delicious. They offer a tea time, lobby bar and very comfortable public area in the lobby. A few of our friends did not want to hike at MP; they stayed behind for a fabulous culinary demonstration/cooking class. Sumaq was a sweet respite for us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 843lucindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear guest,
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu. We work hard to meet your expectations, and we are happy to know that our staff, culinary experience and services in general have been to your liking. Your opinion encourages us to continue working as we take part in the wonderful experience that our guests have in Machu Picchu. We hope that you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We weren’t expecting much from this hotel as we hadn’t seen any reviews. To say we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement! From the moment we checked in we knew we picked the right place. Cold drinks, hot towels and friendly staff greeted us and whisked us up to a spacious room with lovely views of the mountains. We were also treated to free afternoon tea as well as complimentary pisco sours in the bar. But the best part of all was the food, it was amazing and the service second to none. I urge anyone who is staying here to try the restaurant, you won’t be disappointed!
Wish we could’ve stayed longer.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Bemus,
We appreciate your kind comment and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. As you mentioned, Sumaq is concerned about ensuring the highest quality in our services. We hope that, thanks to the culinary classes that you have taken part in, you can prepare some Peruvian dishes at home. We hope to see you soon at Sumaq. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Our friend booked this hotel for us and it was one of the high points of our vacation to Peru. Great luxury hotel and excellent food, drinks, and service. I even got to use the spa which was also very good. Every meal was excellent and top notch. I didn't expect this kind of high-end hotel in the middle of the jungle. Rooms were relaxing and over the top, along with a great view. Treats every night on our pillows and on the table.

We learned to appreciate Pisco Sours here and sat by the fireplace in the lobby every night enjoying them. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

They also coordinated a great guide for us to Machu Picchu, Xavier who was an expert guide and taught us a lot about the culture and pushed us to get up early to catch sunrise on the mountain, and our climb up Huayna Picchu overlooking the ruins.

Even when they realized I overpaid for the spa, they tracked me down at the train station to return my money. Very impressive service, and kind people.

I'd love to go back here someday, and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river would be the best.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markminter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Mr Mark,
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu.Your comment motivates us to continue working passionately. Our mission is to be part of the wonderful experience that all our guests experience in the sanctuary. We hope that you will return very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

possibly the best dinner of my life...stayed only one night sadly but every mouthful was a delight.
i will remember the slow cooked meat and perfect risotto for years. dessert of a local take on lemon meringue with caramel was wickedly suerb. The hotel service was excellent, great welcome, room very nice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JenR1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Jen,
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu. We work hard to meet your expectations, and we are happy to know that our staff, culinary experience and services in general have been to your liking. Your opinion encourages us to continue working as we take part in the wonderful experience that our guests have in Machu Picchu. We hope that you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

I brought my boyfriend here for his birthday and the service was incredible. The hotel itself is also probably the nicest in the Aguas Calientes region. I would recommend it over the Belmond Sanctuary Lodge which is located next to Machu Picchu. It's nice being away from the tourist crowd. At sumaq, the views are equally stunning, the food is also very good and safe. The hotel adds a lot of nice little touches including a welcome drink, a cooking class and afternoon tea. We also had massages which were amazing. Thank you to Davvy and the entire team for making our stay unforgettable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tres B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Monika,
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu. Your comment motivates us to continue working passionately. Our mission is to be part of the wonderful experience that all our guests experience in the sanctuary. We hope that you will return very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews