We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic establishment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic establishment!”
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Situaded near the railway station to Cusco and the bus station to Machu Picchu, by a walk.
Rooms are very large, comfortable and clean. The ornaments used inside are peruvian craftsmanship.
The restaurant offers delicious peruvian food. Be right to stay near the balcony, to have a beautiful view of the river.
The staff is very pleasant and incredible professional.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cariocaviajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    327
    83
    33
    15
See reviews for
385
850
82
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth MA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

This hotel is not cheap but you get what you pay for. The service and rooms were great. Breakfast, included, was a little disappointing as it was not the usual buffet but rather a al carte and somewhat limited for a five star. Dinner was included and though the food was excellent, the dishes did not seem to mesh.
The layout of the hotel is very nice and the third floor bar has a great view of the river. The hotel was spotless and the rooms were very funky with new modern fixtures, etc.
There was no garden.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My family and I (two adults, two kids under 7) decided to stay at the Sumaq based upon the positive reviews on TA. I booked through their website, and got a 50% discount off the second night through an online promotion, which included full breakfast for the four of us and full dinner for two adults. We had a superior deluxe double room on the second floor with a direct view of the Urumbamba River. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. There was ample room for everybody. As I said, the room faced the river which is quite amazing, but for those who do not enjoy the sound of rushing water, you may want to request an interior room. I found the sound to be quite relaxing, while others may find it to be a bit loud. I and my family had two very good night's sleep.

The staff is extremely attentive without being overbearing. A glass of iced coca tea welcomed us along with small cakes and cookies as it was tea time when we arrived. A complimentary pisco sour prior to dinner on our first night was very good. The food at the hotel's restaurant can best be described as "novoandino" and is very good. A full three-course dinner was included with our stay (beverages are extra). I highly recommend the classical trout ceviche with rocoto chiles - fresh, spicy and delicious! The breakfast buffet was quite extensive, with everything from fresh fruit and yogurt to eggs, bacon and andean toast made with quinoa.

This hotel is in a great location, has excellent food and service and is suitable for all types of travelers (singles, couples, families, etc.). The hotel is quite eco-conscious by recycling and minimizing waste - even the architecture pays homage to the Inca way of building by working with the existing environment - check out the partially-open stairwell built against the rock. If we are ever lucky enough to get back to Machu Picchu again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMountainMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Our family of 5, including children ages 5, 10, and 15, stayed at the Sumaq for 2 nights. The hotel was absolutely beautiful with a very spacious and welcoming lobby area. Our children enjoyed the hotel's tea and cakes in the afternoon, especially after the long day of hiking at Machu Picchu. The staff made sure that we had a large, comfortable room with beds for all, arranged a wonderful guide complete with bus pick-up right at the hotel for our day at Machu Picchu, even loaned us umbreallas for a rainy afternoon. The food was superb with an extensive menu. We loved our time at the Sumaq!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famn_damily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I stayed one night at Sumaq recently and loved it! The staff was great (they went and got my MP and bus tickets for me), the location was convenient (no reason to pay double to stay at Sanctuary Lodge unless you want to be first in line for Wayna Picchu tickets....Sumaq is first hotel back on road to Aguas Calientes, my meals were included (although only had one there and it was ok), which I wasn't aware of when I booked - they also packed a breakfast and lunch for me on the day that I caught the first bus to MP at 5:30am. I had a massage the first day at the spa (the 90 minute one) and it was so AMAZING that I got another one the second day after another long day at Machu Picchu. The rooms were nice, very comfy bed and great view of Urabamba River from balcony.

The only downside was the road out front was under construction so it was muddy and unattractive directly in front of hotel. But it really didn't bother me and the workers kept reasonable hours. The hotel is only like a year old so I suspect the construction work will be done soon. See photo below.

I definitely recommend this hotel if you don't want to pay double for the Sanctuary Lodge, but still want a nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

The location is great - right on the Urabamba River and the last hotel in the river valley before you bus up the mountain to the World Heritage Site. My guest room, however, was only average and was nothing special except for its riverside view from an upper floor. I spent 2 nights here while visiting the ruins.

I did not use the business or spa facilities but the real surprise for me was the restaurant with its excellent menu, high quality food, contemporary presentation and superb service.

While I would recommend this hotel, the next time I visit MP, and there will be a next time, I will stay at the Sanctuary Lodge on top of the mountain for at least one night.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

My husband and I, part of a group of 9 family members traveling together, stayed at the Sumaq Hotel in Aguas Calientes on the night of November 11, 2009. Our lodging had been arranged through the Peru For Less agency.

While the relatively few hours that we stayed at the Sumaq really did not provide an adequate amount of time to fully assess the hotel, throughout our stay we were impressed by the maintenance and appearance of the Sumaq as well as by the superb service provided by all the hotel staff members. That outstanding service began when, upon our arrival, we left our luggage with the Sumaq porters at the train station, and it extended to the time that our luggage was delivered to the station for our departure from Aguas Calientes.

Special mention should be made of the Sumaq's maitre d'hotel, Erick. He and his staff made us feel both pampered and at-home -- and they were most helpful in dealing with the special dietary needs of some in our group. The quality of the food preparation and presentation at the Sumaq (where both breakfast and dinner were included in our room rate) was worthy of a dining room in a major city and quite a surprise in the isolated hamlet of Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SinQueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguas Calientes
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#3 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
Casa del Sol Machupicchu
#4 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inkaterra Machu Picchu Pueblo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
Taypikala Hotel Machupicchu
#6 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
Belmond Sanctuary Lodge
#1 of 3 in Machu Picchu
2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel

Property: SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel
Address: Av. Hermanos Ayar Mz 1 Lt-3, Aguas Calientes 18, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Green Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Family Hotel in Aguas Calientes
#1 Spa Hotel in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUMAQ - Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel is a family hotel with ample experience in the luxury hospitality business in the country. Experience that makes Sumaq a hotel dedicated entirely to its guests. In addition to its exclusive service, it offers a privileged location in the Machu Picchu historic sanctuary, on the banks of the Vilcanota River near the main tourist attractions. The Aguas Calientes train station is just a ten-minute walk away, and we provide bus service from the door of the hotel to and from Machu Picchu for our guests. Highlights: •Privileged location: Staying at Sumaq means enjoying Machu Picchu’s most beautiful landscapes, where you will find lush vegetation, enormous mountains, valleys, the Vilcanota River, a waterfall and ancient trails. •Creative cuisine: Enjoy our exclusive haute cuisine that features traditional Peruvian dishes prepared with exotic ingredients from southern Peru. •Passion for service: Our staff is the main element that gives Sumaq a warm and friendly atmosphere, with attention to your needs. •Co-existence with the local culture: Immerse yourself in the outdoor activities prepared especially for you, in which you will experience the authentic traditions of our neighboring communities. •Support for sustainability: Sumaq guides its staff and guests in its mission to protect the environment and the social setting. Our sustainable practices have been verified by the Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumaq Hotel Machu Picchu
Sumaq Machu Picchu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing