We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Wiracocha Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wiracocha Inn
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We literally arrived, laid our heads to rest, and got up at the crack of dawn for Machu Picchu, but were happy to find breakfast served early enough so we could eat before our trek. Our guide met us here and it was a short walk to the bus that morning. The room overlooked the river and we left our window open for nice sounds of the river. I experienced some issues with the hot water, but my friend had a nice hot shower!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmesometravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very comfortable stay in Aguas Caliente: friendly staff, clean, warm room with hot shower, and a tasty, filling breakfast to start our hike up to Mach Picchu. We were taken care of from the time we checked in. Downtown, near the buses and train station. We recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoabMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Once again the crazy people who write bad reviews on TripAdvisor almost swayed us from staying here. But ignore the idiots who have written poor reviews about this place! If you are a sensible budget traveler looking for a one night stay in Aguas Caliente so you can enjoy the glory that is Machu Picchu at 5:00am in the morning, this is the place for you! The services was friendly and helpful, the rooms are perfectly clean and the bed comfy. It is NOT infested with bugs (someone wrote that, they must be whack). We had a room facing the river and indeed the sound of the river flowing downwards lulls you to sleep. It's a semi tropical climate so things are damp here, but that goes for everywhere in Aguas Caliente and has no relation to the hotel. Breakfast is included and is served at 5am, giving you just enough time to rush down to the bus stop and wait in line for the first bus up to Machu Picchu. They'll hold your luggage in a seemingly secure room while you're gone for the day.
My one and only complaint is this: the shower did not have hot water when we were there, and the water pressure was quite low. This was a bummer after a big hike of course, but not a deal breaker. If you're on a budget and you want to spend the night in Aguas Calientes without paying upwards of $300, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missjessrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good place to stay in Aguas Calientes - the staff were helpful and friendly and the location is just a few moments from the main street with shops and restaurants. Wifi worked without any issues, as did the (consistently hot!) shower. We were able to leave our luggage without any issues. There were some bugs in the room (the hotel is located right by the river), but nothing too major. We also found it clean.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LK12113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hostal. The owners cooked us a delicious breaksfast every morning and helped us with whatever we needed. Note to those staying here, we slept with the window open and we had gnats and the room was mopist because of the river right there. This place was nice, we had our own bathroom and really didnt spend too much time in our room except to sleep so for the price, i would receommend!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river were nice, you could sleep to the sound of the river. Single rooms or more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

No matter which end of the budget scale you're at (from the most basic hostel to the most expensive hotel) I think the number 1 priority for any person is a clean room. I stayed in lots of really basic hostels and homestays in Peru (much cheaper than this) but cleanliness was something that was usually pretty good. This place however is filthy, with grim bathrooms and bedding and marks and dirt all over the wall. A sign of the back of the door stated that any marks to the wall would have to be paid for... if they'd collected money from everyone who'd done so they'd be rich! The staff were completely unfriendly and unprofessional. There are two computers available for customers but when I went down a waiter from the hotel was on one checking his Facebook. When I went to the other one he told me the internet didn't work on it. I thought it was quite funny until the same waiter was on the one working computer 3 hours (!) later. So tough luck for guests. Privacy is none-existant with a window between the bedroom and the corridor (imagine a hospital or asylum). I've seen this once elsewhere but they at least had a decent curtain - not here though with a too small curtain for the window. The clear bathroom window also looked onto a building site allowing an array of builders to look at you in the shower (possibly more terrifying for the builders to be fair). The window pane actually fell out when we closed the window and breeze can be felt through it when shut. Noise insulaton from the disco across the river is non-existant (I can vouch they finish playing loud music around 4.30am - just as you'll be wanting to get up to go queue for the bus to Machu Picchu). What really really bugs me however is how a prominent guidebook recommends it as an ok place to stay. This was the lowpoint of our trip, being stuck on a bus in a miner's strike was preferable. Avoid.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JReading156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our hiking company booked us to stay at Wiracocha. Be warned... there are bugs and i mean a multitude of BUGS everywhere in this hostel/hotel. You'll seem them when you come in and you'll them in your room. IF your room is bug infested just simply go downstairs and request a new room (preferably without windows), my aunt got eaten alive by mosquitoes that night.

Our original room's sheets were new, but the new room was really old but I took that over being bitten all night. It gets the job done after a long hike and you'll be out the door early in the morning to head to Machu Picchu.

Breakfast is good and the staff is friendly. There is free luggage storage and they picked us up at the train stop and took us down there. Would I return? Definitely not but at least it gave us a comfy bed with a hot shower before our wonderful day at Machu Picchu! Have realistic expectations and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Rooms without windows are the best. Check your room, bathroom, ceilings, sheets before crawling in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALeigh2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
259 reviews
0 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#17 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
240 reviews
0 mi away
Waman Hotel
Waman Hotel
#11 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,056 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rupa Wasi  Lodge
Rupa Wasi Lodge
#13 of 29 in Aguas Calientes
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiracocha Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiracocha Inn

Address: Jr. Wiracocha s/n, Aguas Calientes, Machu Picchu, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Machu Picchu > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range: £53 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wiracocha Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Wiracocha Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiracocha Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing