We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but cheap”
Review of Wiracocha Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wiracocha Inn
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Male
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very basic but cheap”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Most people stay in Aguas Calientes only for the night or for a few hours to go to Machu Picchu....The beds are confi and the palce is clean but very basic. Breakfast starts 05h00 so if you want to grab something simple it is possible. Breakie is simple though. Keep in mind though that check out is 09h00 !!! So if you have a later departure in the afternoon to go back this may not work for you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    97
    77
    38
    24
See reviews for
34
116
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We literally arrived, laid our heads to rest, and got up at the crack of dawn for Machu Picchu, but were happy to find breakfast served early enough so we could eat before our trek. Our guide met us here and it was a short walk to the bus that morning. The room overlooked the river and we left our window open for nice sounds of the river. I experienced some issues with the hot water, but my friend had a nice hot shower!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvmesometravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very comfortable stay in Aguas Caliente: friendly staff, clean, warm room with hot shower, and a tasty, filling breakfast to start our hike up to Mach Picchu. We were taken care of from the time we checked in. Downtown, near the buses and train station. We recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Once again the crazy people who write bad reviews on TripAdvisor almost swayed us from staying here. But ignore the idiots who have written poor reviews about this place! If you are a sensible budget traveler looking for a one night stay in Aguas Caliente so you can enjoy the glory that is Machu Picchu at 5:00am in the morning, this is the place for you! The services was friendly and helpful, the rooms are perfectly clean and the bed comfy. It is NOT infested with bugs (someone wrote that, they must be whack). We had a room facing the river and indeed the sound of the river flowing downwards lulls you to sleep. It's a semi tropical climate so things are damp here, but that goes for everywhere in Aguas Caliente and has no relation to the hotel. Breakfast is included and is served at 5am, giving you just enough time to rush down to the bus stop and wait in line for the first bus up to Machu Picchu. They'll hold your luggage in a seemingly secure room while you're gone for the day.
My one and only complaint is this: the shower did not have hot water when we were there, and the water pressure was quite low. This was a bummer after a big hike of course, but not a deal breaker. If you're on a budget and you want to spend the night in Aguas Calientes without paying upwards of $300, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missjessrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good place to stay in Aguas Calientes - the staff were helpful and friendly and the location is just a few moments from the main street with shops and restaurants. Wifi worked without any issues, as did the (consistently hot!) shower. We were able to leave our luggage without any issues. There were some bugs in the room (the hotel is located right by the river), but nothing too major. We also found it clean.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LK12113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hostal. The owners cooked us a delicious breaksfast every morning and helped us with whatever we needed. Note to those staying here, we slept with the window open and we had gnats and the room was mopist because of the river right there. This place was nice, we had our own bathroom and really didnt spend too much time in our room except to sleep so for the price, i would receommend!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river were nice, you could sleep to the sound of the river. Single rooms or more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

No matter which end of the budget scale you're at (from the most basic hostel to the most expensive hotel) I think the number 1 priority for any person is a clean room. I stayed in lots of really basic hostels and homestays in Peru (much cheaper than this) but cleanliness was something that was usually pretty good. This place however is filthy, with grim bathrooms and bedding and marks and dirt all over the wall. A sign of the back of the door stated that any marks to the wall would have to be paid for... if they'd collected money from everyone who'd done so they'd be rich! The staff were completely unfriendly and unprofessional. There are two computers available for customers but when I went down a waiter from the hotel was on one checking his Facebook. When I went to the other one he told me the internet didn't work on it. I thought it was quite funny until the same waiter was on the one working computer 3 hours (!) later. So tough luck for guests. Privacy is none-existant with a window between the bedroom and the corridor (imagine a hospital or asylum). I've seen this once elsewhere but they at least had a decent curtain - not here though with a too small curtain for the window. The clear bathroom window also looked onto a building site allowing an array of builders to look at you in the shower (possibly more terrifying for the builders to be fair). The window pane actually fell out when we closed the window and breeze can be felt through it when shut. Noise insulaton from the disco across the river is non-existant (I can vouch they finish playing loud music around 4.30am - just as you'll be wanting to get up to go queue for the bus to Machu Picchu). What really really bugs me however is how a prominent guidebook recommends it as an ok place to stay. This was the lowpoint of our trip, being stuck on a bus in a miner's strike was preferable. Avoid.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JReading156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aguas Calientes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aguas Calientes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
Hotel Ferre Machu Picchu
#10 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
Hotel La Cabana Machu Picchu
#8 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hatun Inti Classic
Hatun Inti Classic
#14 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Machu Picchu
0.3 mi away
Santuario Hotel
Santuario Hotel
#13 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiracocha Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiracocha Inn

Property: Wiracocha Inn
Address: Jr. Wiracocha s/n, Aguas Calientes, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Aguas Calientes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Aguas Calientes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wiracocha Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wiracocha Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiracocha Hotel Aguas Calientes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing