We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice people and very cheap !”
Review of Casa Jaimes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Jaimes
Ranked #48 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Huaraz
Spain
1 review
“very nice people and very cheap !”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

we sleep in a room 4 persons only 10 soles each one ! they are very nice people, you feel like in home :) the breakfast is included and the organize a lot of excursions around Huaraz !
very recommended.
We are Pedro and Maria from Spain :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
17
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jena
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in a double room with private bathroom (24S/night, including some breakfast). Casa Jaimes is a budget option as you can get a bed for as little as 10S/night. However, the prices definitely reflect quality. The shared rooms are not charming at all. They were basically clean but they need some washed curtains and some new paint on the wall (and please, this time only on the wall and not also on the furtniture, the window and the lamp). Most rooms are quite dark as they only have windows to the corridor.
The kitchen (even quite big) is dark, unorganized, not well equipped and not very clean. Most of the house is quite dark and seems to me not very welcoming. Common areas as staircases could need a regular cleaning.
The location is good and close to the Main Plaza.
Now the reason why I gave a "poor" for service: 1) Senora Olinda is a friendly person but there is staff hanging around the hostel that should no work in guest management because of unfriendlyness and a "I dont care"-attitude. If you ask for something as e.g. an extra blanket, you might get as an answer that there are no spared blankets and that the hostel is completely booked - even if the room next to yours is obviously free. 2) Toilet paper is not included in the rent of a room. Don't expect paper in the shared bathroom. If you have a private bathroom, you get one roll for free and any other you pay 1S. Hands up, who has already heard of something similar in a guest house!? Better stopp offering free breakfast and invest the money in something more essential.

My conclusion: If you are neither travelling on a very low budget nor speaking hebrew and thus part of the big israeli family at the hostel, invest some soles more and sleep somewhere else.

Room Tip: There is a twin room with a window to the street (instead of having a window to the corridor) and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thereblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

ive stayed here with my friends for 2 nights, good atmosphere very nice owners.
had one of the best showers in peru. the Seniorita gave us breakfast and coffe at 5 am before we went trekking.

the price is very good and the hostel is located near the center of huaraz
the owners also helps orginizing day trips and other activities

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamRosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We (a couple) stayed in this Hostal the Casa de Jaimes and really enjoyed our stay there. It is not expensive at all but offer a good service. Hot water 24/7, good kitchen which can be used, cable-tv and a nice staff which is willing to help. Aswell, they have a own tour-company in which you can book tours to great trekkings, as the huayhuash, laguna 69 and others. It is three blocks from the market and two blocks from the plaza, a great place to spend your time in Huaraz!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Only twelve soles and you have a very hot shower, 3 computer with internet, a simple breakfast..You can use the kitchen, wash your clothes. The perfect plan for a backpacker! The owner is a smiling woman.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in total. A double room was only 20soles a night. (10each!) includes Peruvian breakfast (bread, butter, jam, tea, coffee and milk), wifi, 3 computers free to use anytime, kitchen use, hot water. Spacious clean comfortable rooms. One minute walk from the centre of town. run by a very friendly family. They let us check out late (just before our 10pm bus) for no extra charge. Got our laundry done here also. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
como
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

You could not find better in this mountain town, this quiet hostel and cheap .... clean, friendly and a short walk from the center.
Prices are from 8 to 10 soles, keeps the kitchen and Internet access. The owner is helpful and friendly, young environment.
That you can ask for more?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#7 of 16 in Huaraz
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andes Warak
Andes Warak
#10 of 16 in Huaraz
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hof Hostel
The Hof Hostel
#6 of 65 in Huaraz
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hospitage Ezama
Hospitage Ezama
#4 of 65 in Huaraz
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
AndesCamp Hostel
AndesCamp Hostel
#8 of 65 in Huaraz
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatun Wasi
Hatun Wasi
#16 of 65 in Huaraz
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Jaimes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Jaimes

Property: Casa Jaimes
Address: Calle Alberto Gridilla 267, Huaraz 02001, Peru
Region: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Huaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family that is accustomed to receiving all the tourists who come to our house. We have extensive experience in the services we offer and foremost we believe all our visitors as friends. We are a guest house since 1982 and have everything in our house as if it were your own home. In 1998 we have our own Travel for all routes including Huayhuash and Santa Cruz. Know that we always give them a lot of security and we are experienced in everything we offer. We have bought many brand new team and we have people who are working for us and are the best and very experienced. You only charge what is just about everything, never charge expensive. We also organize adventure tourism and extreme sports (mountaineering, mountain biking, ice climbing and rock, etc). We work with very experienced people and have new equipment and high quality. We always offer the best. Casa Jaimes and we get to our house you will have many benefits and confidence. We are sure that as you hear about us and this website will explain much of us and what we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Jaimes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing