We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel.”
Review of Monkeywasi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huaraz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monkeywasi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Very good hostel.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The hostel is very good clean and makes you feel home, also there is internet all over the hostel, and laundry service. The owner gustavo is really kind and make you feel comforiable he also saved my bag for 8 days trek for free and it was very helpfull he also have pizzeria in town and can get you food to the hostel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Larissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    16
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
30
78
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at MonkeyWasi in May...

It was one of the best hostel experience.
Gustavo is just a great man !
I felt very good ...chill out vibe, hammocks, climbing wall, warm showers,
kitchen for your use - so you can cook your own meal if you wish...
Met some interesting and really great folks also passing by...
Gustavo can help you with your trips / trekking etc..just ask him.
The place has positive energy and easy going vibes.
If in Huaraz - I will always come back to this place !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel was great value, extremely clean and very friendly. The owner also owns a restaurant in town where he gives you a discount, which is delicious. While we were there he also did a group BBQ which was super fun. You can do laundry, it's well located and they have great knowledge of the mountains to share. A great place for climbers and non climbers alike.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LauraBrailsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I loved our stay at Monkeywasi. Our overnight bus arrived in Huaraz at 6AM. No problem, Gustavo (the owner) was waiting for us and happily let us into our room early to rest (no extra fees for early arrival, no problem!)

Once we'd rested, we had a chat about what we thought about doing. Gustavo speaks very good English and even better espanol so we had no problems with communication. He asked us about our ideas for activities in the area, our physical condition, experience and how altitude was affecting us. He then suggested several different hikes and several agencies he recommended we visit - no hard sell.

We found a hike through a reputable agency (upon his recommendation) and left the next day (we booked another night for our return).

When we got back from our hike (incidentally, the Santa Cruz trek - stunning!), we arrived early. Gustavo was out running errands. We gave his mobile/cell a call and he told us to hold tight. 10 minutes later he was back (a little out of breath)?after riding his bike across town to let us into our room.

Nothing was ever a problem - advice on food and restaurants (both authentic Peruvian and good western food), dealing with taxis (who are the only annoyance in Huaraz), directions, room to lock our bags while we were away, where the best trivia night is held, etc etc. The guy is a legend.

Aside from Gustavo, the hostel itself is awesome featuring a climbing wall for climbers (or amateurs like me), a coca tree for warding off altitude sickness, comfortable beds with ample blankets for cold nights, bean bags, hammocks, hot showers and tv should you require it. The place seems to have a calming effect on everyone - it's just so relaxed and chilled. It's easily the most chilled accommodation I've stayed at in South America, yet it maintains a healthy communal atmosphere.

Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Existentialmagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here alone on and off for 3 weeks. Really relaxed vibe (home from home), always full of fun, adventurous people! Great place to hang out between adventures in the mountains with its cool climbing wall, hammocks and welcoming, knowledgable owner Gustavo. I loved my stay and would really recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at a few hostels in Huaraz including Church and Akilpo. Monkey Wasi was my least favourite of the three. Not that it was bad, just not at the standard of the others.

Pros:
- Climbing wall
- Nice socialising area with hammocks

Cons:
- Felt (and smelt) dingy
- Strange layout where you have to walk through the TV area upon entering the hostel

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tyler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at Monkeywasi for over a week. It's in a prime location, close to the center of everything but not too close so you can actually sleep without hearing car horns all night. It's spacious and relaxing. You can do laundry, cook at your convenience and just hand out. Good place to meet other travelers looking for a good time and lots of laughs. The owner is very friendly and willing to help you find your way.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a nice view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colombiana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#2 of 16 in Huaraz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Sebastian Hotel Boutique
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Tumi Huaraz
Hotel El Tumi Huaraz
#7 of 16 in Huaraz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akilpo Hostal
Akilpo Hostal
#1 of 61 in Huaraz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hof Hostel
The Hof Hostel
#5 of 61 in Huaraz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Churup Guest House
Churup Guest House
#2 of 61 in Huaraz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkeywasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkeywasi

Property: Monkeywasi
Address: Jr. Agustin Mejia 797 | Soledad Alta, Huaraz, Peru
Region: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Huaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkeywasi is a small, friendly hostel for climbers, trekkers and backpackers looking for a simple base from which to explore the area. We provide accommodation, cooking facilities, WiFi and indoor bouldering, solar powered showers, as well as general information on bouldering, rock climbing and mountaineering in Huarascan National Park, the Cordillera Blanca and Huayhuash. For those pressed for time, we can organise your guided climbing/hiking packages before arrival to save time and cut out the stress. We offer a safe, clean and affordable base only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Huaraz and we’re a great place to meet up with other climbers, trekkers and adventure travellers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing