We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hostel”
Review of Churup Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Churup Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Was a good quiet hostel that had a great breakfast/ guest room on the top floor with great views of the mountains. The staff was sometimes tough to find if you needed something but pretty helpful. Location wasn't great. Found I was walking down to the main area all the time. Good quiet hostel with great showers.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeardedSaskKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Genuine, helpful staff in the office. We were able to drop bags at 7am (headed downtown for a great breakfast at the California Cafe). We were able to check in early at 11am but no hot water - gas had run out! But hot water was fine after that. Hostel had nice, clean, warm and comfortable rooms. A rooster and dog 'choir' in a nearby yard went off a few times during the night, but not at dawn, luckily! Breakfast was OK - just fruit, bread, juice and hot drink (coffee ran out one morning and water not hot another morning!). Had to pay extra for eggs. Liked the upstairs common room and kitchen in the evenings - fire was nice and we enjoyed being able to make hot drinks and chat to other travellers. Not too far to the plaza and city centre. We walked every day (had to take a taxi one night in a downpour) and felt safe at night. Friendly and good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayjay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I used a 3 bed dorm with a shared bathroom (luckily no big dorms) and only downside to room was that it was a little smelly (numerous Trekkers coming and going) and the lockers are made of metal thus noisy...ok maybe that is being picky but at 5am is annoying!
The breakfast is very good and plentiful and the lounge dining room with the fire is a great place to relax, read and chat. The tours offered are also good value and found Laguna 69 tour to be cheaper than places in town.
Definitely not a party hostel but then town has that!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Nice, clean, warm, inexpensive place in a good location. We arrived at 4am with no room booked as we had not realised we would need to get an overnight bus from Trujilo and they just put us straight in a room to let us sleep and they didn’t charge us for that evening either.
A few negatives in that they advertise that they speak English which they don’t really, but a mix of Spanish and English got everything sorted with ease. Also the beautiful garden is more a scrubby yard and the fire is not lit every night as said. However these are really minor as the rooms are very nice.
They also have a tour company.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMaudP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

It was the off season, and I was sick, so these might affect my review. But I chose the place for it's lounge area and it was all that I expected. There is new construction that the images don't show, so there's a building partially blocking the view from the panoramic window, but only partially. The beds were nice, but the rest was kind of dirty, at least in my room (dorm style).

The people were nice, but I didn't feel super welcome. Almost like I had to try to get them answer questions. They seemed very guarded about amenities. Everything was under lock and key. I had to ask every time I wanted to use stuff... It almost felt like the owners had been stolen from or mistreated or taken advantage of and they expected that to happen again...

Fresh bread and amazing juice in the morning. Comfy couch, good wifi, fireplace, location wasn't too bad. A pretty good place.

The showers were just fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Unfortunately, I was sick on my first couple days here, but this place wasn't a bad place to recover. The fireplace is really great and my favorite amenity there. The staff is very helpful when it comes to information about activities and the TV room is usually free if you feel like watching TV. The kitchen was OK, it was a little low on dishware. The breakfast was a little skimpy, but the juice was always fresh. The fire gives a nice ambiance for socializing with fellow adventurers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creosote2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here with our two sons for a few days before and after doing the 5 day Santa Cruz trek. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was substantial and the rooms clean, comfortable and well priced. They also have a large area upstairs for relaxing and meeting other travellers that includes an outdoor deck with spectacular views of the mountains. The Guest House is also conveniently located across the road from the Huascaran Adventure Travel Agency making it easy to organise activities in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Neverl00kback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.2 mi away
San Sebastian Hotel Boutique
0 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#3 of 16 in Huaraz
177 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Patio de Monterrey
El Patio de Monterrey
#5 of 16 in Huaraz
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Colomba
Hotel Colomba
#8 of 16 in Huaraz
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akilpo Hostal
Akilpo Hostal
#1 of 72 in Huaraz
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churup Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churup Guest House

Address: Jr.Amadeo Figueroa 1257 | La Soledad, Huaraz, Peru
Region: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Huaraz
Price Range: £14 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Churup has started in 1996 as low-budget backpackers hostal. During the years we have been expanding and renovating our hotel to serve our guests' needs. Many of our guests were impressed by the atmosphere, views and personal touch. In 2013 the opening of Hotel Casa Ravines was a new milestone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Churup Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churup Albergue Hotel Huaraz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing