We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone says "WOW!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Churup Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Churup Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Edwards, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everyone says "WOW!"”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Literally. Churup was my home for nearly two months and I loved sitting at breakfast every morning, as the blearly-eyed travelers arrived on the overnight bus from Lima. Immediately their faces would turn from tired and worn out to lit up with surprise as they saw the living and dining area upstairs with an inviting fireplace and beautiful views of the Cordillera Blanca (minus the one building that decided to add on an extra story to disrupt the view). I was looking for clean, cheap and quiet and Churup exceeded my expectations. Nelly was wonderful in welcoming me from the very beginning. She loved to regale me with stories of her time in Texas. She is wonderful! As are brothers Epi and Pablo. Everyone was super kind and welcoming. And the icing on the cake was the wonderful fellow travelers I met who gathered around the fireplace each evening. Churup became more than a home away from home... it became near and dear to my heart. So grateful for my time there!

Breakfast is simple and typical for places in Peru - bread, fruit and coffee. And the fresh juice is incredible! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    65
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
87
51
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was definitively a smart choice. My bedroom was so comfortable I thoght I was in a four-star hotel. It had a nice balcony and spacious ensuite bathroom, the bed was smooth and spotless, and the carpet was not a problem, considering the fact I have some alergy. The place was silent at night. Breakfast includes a very good coffee (rare thing in Peru...), bread, jam and butter, fruits and scrambled eggs. Staff was very helpful, friendly and prepared to make suggestions and give directions about day-treks around the city. It is not a party hostel but has a good vibe for meeting other travelers if you are interested.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legadono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

For our second visit to Huaraz, we looked no further than the Churup, having enjoyed it previously. Once again, we were happy and comfortable there - good continental breakfast included in roof top dining room with great views of the mountains, quiet being about 10 mins from town centre, lots of hot water all day, luggage storage when away on trips, and very helpful staff for organizing various taxis for us for day tours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandpeterCanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Churup Guest House is one of the best places I've stayed. The views of the snowcapped mountain from the rooftop patio are stunning. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean comfortable and a good value. The best feature it beautiful and cozy dining/common room, which has a lit fireplace every night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aboomucsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I picked this place because I'm a sucker for great views, and my husband just comes along for the ride. The kitchen/lounge area is on the top floor with views of Huascaran . It's cozy with a fire place, comfy couches to just hang out.

It's in a good safe location if you're not planning on spending every meal in town, because then you'll end up having to walk several blocks for every meal. For us it was perfect, I like the quiet, we're no longer at the age where we need to party and/or be in a happenin area, so for us the location was perfect, close enough and far enough. There are some pollo places nearby and a nice seafood restaurant across the street (pricey for our budget) if you don't want to cook. We are low key and usually travel on a budget so we end up eating where the locals are.

The breakfast was decent, just like all the other hostels in Peru serving the typical fare, bread jam butter coffee juice tea. Optional eggs extra. We did order a lunch pack for one of our hikes, it was pricey, even the guy working there said to just get one and share. It was a good amount of food, but we also got an extra sandwich from another cafe, so it worked out.

We were super grateful they let us check in early, our flight landed at 6 or 7 am and we were tired, they let us in and we were able to take a nap. The rooms were fine, beds comfy. We stayed 4 nights. They cleaned the room everyday.

Nothing to complain about! Except climbing stairs at elevation was tough! Would definitely recommend this hostal

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoveLIFE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

churup guest house is one of the best hostels i stayed in in peru.
it`s a really nice place :) with a cosy fire place.
good breakfast, nice an clean kitchen and nice sitting room.
i really recommand this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babsi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel is amazing value. It is gorgeously decorated and has a fireplace in the dining/communal room near the kitchen. Breakfasts are very good by Peruvian standards: freshly squeezed juices, tea, coffee, fruit and good quality bread. There are many nice places to relax including a terrace with great views, a small courtyard garden and numerous small inviting sitting areas on each floor. Very clean and maintained daily.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#2 of 16 in Huaraz
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Galaxia
Hotel Galaxia
#8 of 16 in Huaraz
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Sebastian Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andes Warak
Andes Warak
#10 of 16 in Huaraz
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Patio de Monterrey
El Patio de Monterrey
#3 of 16 in Huaraz
122 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churup Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churup Guest House

Property: Churup Guest House
Address: Jr.Amadeo Figueroa 1257 | La Soledad, Huaraz, Peru
Region: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Huaraz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Churup has started in 1996 as low-budget backpackers hostal. During the years we have been expanding and renovating our hotel to serve our guests' needs. Many of our guests were impressed by the atmosphere, views and personal touch. In 2013 the opening of Hotel Casa Ravines was a new milestone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Churup Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churup Albergue Hotel Huaraz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing