We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE best mountain accommodation around Huaraz”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazy Dog Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huaraz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Dog Inn
Ranked #1 of 55 Huaraz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Huaraz, Peru
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“THE best mountain accommodation around Huaraz”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

There are quite a few nice mountain accommodations around Huaraz, however if you look for the best, it's th Lazy Dog. Wonderful staff, great food, beautiful rooms, very comfortable beds with view on the stars, at walking distance from beautiful valleys, with fine horses to ride, and importantly: completely sustainable, ecologically and socially.

I can only endorse what previous visitors have already said: I recommend a stay at the Lazy Dog Inn to everyone who likes to be outdoors in all comfort.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
56
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The Lazy Dog Inn is located outside the city of Huaraz. They are in an isolated location with beautiful views of the mountains. For our family, we used the Inn as a relaxing spot before and after a backpacking trip. The owner Diana, went out of her way to help us plan, organize and even shop for our trip into the mountains. She did a fantastic job making sure our trip with a young child went smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenGrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Absolutely amazing place. Not only are they eco-conscious, the views, the cabins/rooms were amazing... loved the incense in the bathrooms too, given that they are using dry composting with the toilets (! so cool !). Three of us were in the cabin (we had a fireplace that was the source of heat, tough to get it going at altitude, but it worked just fine). I just missed the sunset, but was able to take in the pretty hues once the sun went behind the mountains.
Loved that we were close to hikes (we did take a long drive to one of the other lakes on our first day of acclimization....), we even walked the way home from Churup.

Diana (her hubby was away) was amzing- when we accidentally left her 1 map (1?!) in the van from the prior day's excursion, she hand drew a pretty good replica for our Churup adventure, and it was pretty accurate. We didn't get lost, but as they kept assuring us, there was only 1 way up, 2 ways down. yeah, I know, huh? Seemed to be true though...
The sauna is complete, and my friends all took part. It's a dry-sauna. I skipped, given altitude headache post-crazy hike.

The cabins are situated up high, I think it's about 3500 meters or so, and that first day I was a tad out of breath just walking from the cabin to the main lodge. Churup laguna (4450 meters) cured that the next day.

My friends that missed out on the crazy laguna churup hike had a blast on the horses.

Food was amazing- catered to our veggie needs. My friends made dinner one night for our host Diana (and her volunteer assistant, Andrea) and another guest.
There was always wine available, plenty of tea, clean water.
All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everitt510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Just returned from a great stay at the Lazy Dog Inn. The owners were incredibly accommodating. My nieces have severe allergies and the menus were planned such that they always had delicious options. The kids also LOVED the horseback riding lessons. All around a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris123Lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

A great choice for a stay in the Cordillera Blanca if you don´t fancy downtown Huarez, this is about half an hour out of town (they can arrange a taxi for you) well placed for trekking or just lazing around in the comfortable accommodation. They cook lovely food, breakfast and dinner are included and you can have lunch too if you want. There´s a lovely cozy lounge with roaring fire, internet, and loads of DVDs, books and CDs to make use of. There is also free wifi that worked in my room too. A great place to meet other travellers and to be treated brilliantly by the lovely staff!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennettSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Lazy Dog Inn in July. It was a great experience. Diana was so helpful and made us feel very welcome. The food is excellent and the surroundings beautiful. I would definitely recommend anyone to pay the lazy dog inn a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

My husband and I live in Peru (for his work) and have travelled extensively in the country. This was - without doubt - a high point in our vacation travels. The Lazy Dog Inn is located in a wonderfully scenic place at the foot of the Cordillera Blanca. The hosts - Diana and Wayne - are incredibly knowledgeable of the local offerings, the local culture and society, and the fabulous offerings of "things to do".

My husband is a vegetarian and I am a carnivore - we both loved the meals (breakfast and dinner are included in the price). The vegetables are grown locally and the variety of ethicity of menus is more extensive than in the fine dining establishments in Lima. Lunch and dinner include homemaid soups that are worth pleading for the recipe. The main dishes are varied and wonderful, and the wine selection adds fabulously to the experience. While I did not indulge in the beer choices it was clear that the Inn has a variety sufficient to keep the Aussies, Canadians, Brits and Americans quite happy.

The accomadations were fabulous. We stayed in one of the cabins and loved the space, the fireplace, the skylight with a view to the stars at night and rising sun in the morning, the tub and the wonderfully comfortable mattress (firm) and pillows (soft). Falling asleep each night with a eucalyptus based fire was a pure delight.

The best aspect of the Lazy Dog Inn is the the host team and what they have to offer. Diana is incredibly knowledgeable of local hiking trails, day trips in the area, local crops and people, and on and on. She is great and creates a comfortable family / social environment that is casual and very homey. We do not generally go to bed and breakfast kind of places but found the balance here to be perfect and appreciated the availability of free internet for those moments when we really did have to connect..

Finally, for those who can acclimate fast and want to hike - this is a perfect location to call base camp. We started hikes from our cabin door and headed straight out to see fabulous meadows, rivers, glacial lakes and glacial peaks. The hiking offerings are well worth the stay as was the sauna at the end of the day.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KakiDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huaraz hotels
3.9 mi away
La Casa de Zarela
La Casa de Zarela
#2 of 16 in Huaraz
166 reviews
12.2 mi away
Cuesta Serena Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
San Sebastian Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
El Jacal
El Jacal
#2 of 55 in Huaraz
135 reviews
3.8 mi away
Churup Guest House
Churup Guest House
#2 of 57 in Huaraz
232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Morales Guesthouse
Morales Guesthouse
#3 of 55 in Huaraz
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Dog Inn

Property: Lazy Dog Inn
Address: Apartado 94, Serpost, Huaraz, Peru
Region: Peru > Ancash Region > Huaraz
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Huaraz
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Ecological Inn 8 km NE of Huaraz at 3650 meters in Altitude. Situated on 10 acres of land you will find hand made adobe constructions that host cabins, rooms and the main lodge. Many have fireplaces and skylights. Given its Green accreditation , we use dry composting toilets, recycle all grey water and kitchen wastes in addition to plastics and such products. 8 greenhouses on the site, with outdoor gardens, help to proved a wide variety of fresh produce for guests. There are trained horses for lessons, 2--4 hour guided trips, reservations required. Our close connection to the local area, community and its peoples has helped to build a local community center which houses many of the projects we have. Opportunities to have lunch with a local family, volunteer and be involved. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing