We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Dunas
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing location”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay here, pretty location with plenty of space to walk the attractive grounds, the rooms were fair, beds could have been better, be a good place for kids, food good, extensive buffet breakfast with no restriction on what you could eat, I gave it a 4 star rating more like 3.5, great location for visiting the local area, would I revisit ? answer yes.
Look out for the lady tour operator in the foyer area, she was great and took us around the local places of interest, plus a great visit to Paracas with boat trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TezFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments through Trip Advisor.

We have several investment proyects for our romos to offer you comfort.

Your opinion is very valuable for us.

Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    349
    76
    16
    10
See reviews for
565
170
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for one night and first impressions were 'wow'. The grounds are fantastic and this low rise hotel is set out like a village. There is a choice of pools and plenty of other entertainments, especially if you have children. The room we had was huge but very basic. Sparse furnishings meant there was loads of echo. However, the walls to adjacent rooms are non-existant - you will hear every wake up call, toilet flush, blowing of noses and conversation. Hence, bring your ear plugs.
One good point - the shower was great and there were loads of satelleite channels (including several english ones).
The bar was great, especially as you could relax in a sofa by the open fire. The restaurant was good but we found the meals to be very salty (especially the mashed potato). Breakfast was the usual peruvian buffet - could do better!!
Overall the resort was peaceful and had plenty of character. It is a little way out of town so you will need to catch a taxi to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

We have several projects to improve the confort of our romos including blocking outside noise.

We look forward to having you with us.

Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

First things first - if you're planning on using the discount voucher from Trip Advisor, make sure you email the hotel to confirm that the voucher is redeemable and then print your email correspondence to present at check-in. On arrival, the receptionist tried to inform me that the voucher was not valid when reservations were made online. Only when I showed her the voucher AND my prior email to management was I given the 20% discount in credit with which to pay for food, drinks and other services.

Overall, the hotel is decent. The grounds are beautiful but there is some work being undertaken to build a new pool. It's by no means disruptive though. The rooms could do with a bit of improvement, however. Our room was clean but the paintwork needed retouching and the beds were pretty uncomfortable (especially when a wheel broke off one unexpectedly). The mosquito screen also had a hole in it, while the plywood placed over the window above the door (presumably to minimise light into the room at night) was flimsy and poorly fitted.

Food is good but a little overpriced but given that there is little on offer in Ica itself, this is perhaps understandable. The staff are very friendly and everyone made an effort to say hello when we passed them. Additionally, the tour operator in the hotel, comes highly recommended. If you want a good value and personalised trip to Paracas, Huacachina, the vineyards or Islas Ballestas, she's worth paying a visit.

In summary, this is a perfect place for families with plenty on offer to keep kids occupied. Once renovations are complete (hopefully in the rooms too), this will surely be a 4 star resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foggyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your suggestions of our Hotel through Trip Advisor.

We are improving communcation with Trip Advisotr, but we suggest you send and e-mail confirmation of your reservation to no have drawbacks. Currently we are building and interactive pool in the área of the golf corse to our customers suggestions, wich will be ready by the end of the year. We regret any inconvenience this has caused you go.

We also are making renovations in our romos to improve our facilities.

We apreciate your comments

Sincerely.

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We spend one night and the kids without parent supervision was horrible! The noise and knocking at the door and running away, draging things and playing at all hours made me call for help twice. The spa was nice. The room simple and the team nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your comments through Trip Advisor.

We regret that you could not have a good rest during your stay. It is school holiday season and many families with children come to our hotel. We are taking precautions for this situation is not repeated.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Comfortable, clustered-rooms in a charming maze around a little lagoon. Pool area lovely where breakfast buffet is pricey but delicious. When I didn't like our assigned room, the staff was accommodating and moved us to one more to my liking. Need to take taxi to the center of Ica where there are some good restaurants and a vibrant central plaza. The Cruz del Sol bus out of Ica will stop to pick up passengers but note: it may arrive early and it may arrive late and you must go downtown to buy your tickets.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riveredge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear guest:

We appreciate your comments through Trip Advisor and hope you to return soon.

Best regards,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and three boys (11, 9, 6) had a great time at Las Dunas. It was my third time there, but my first time with children. The resort is easy to get to from Lima, yet it is isolated and quiet. We had one room with 5 beds on the first floor, which was fine. We essentially swam all day and used Las Dunas as a hub for other places ( such as Paracas, etc). The room was just to relax in the afternoon and to sleep at night, so it served it's purpose at 3.5 stars. The AC worked fine and the shower was hot. They are making improvements ( which was the cause of loud noise), but we booked a room online and found a nice rate. They have done well with improvements to the resort, so it's very accomodating for families. Many organized activities for all ages, plus the gym is new. We played basketball in the pool, tennis, pitch/putt golf, and sand boarded. I would suggest to bring a cooler for snacks and water. You can safe quite a bit if you bring water (it's the desert). Plus there's a fridge to help keep things cool. The staff is friendly and the beer is cold! We had such a good time that we decided to stay two extra nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rneps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to receive your comments through Trip Advisor.

Our services have been created with the comfort of the family. Our location is ideal for visiting the Nazca Lines and Ballestas Islands.

We are glad you thoroughly enjoy your visit.

Sincelerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arriving by bus from Lima, we were dropped off directly at the hotel which was a true oasis. The grounds were spectacular and the rooms spacious and comfortable. The restaurant food was gourmet and we were only sad that we had only two nights at this spectacular resort!

Room Tip: Just beware that the hotel is not near any other restaurants..... But, you will not miss going out a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue31nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ugo G, Manager at Hotel Las Dunas, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear guest:

Thank your for sharing your experience through Trip Advisor.

We hope you can visit us again and stay a little longer.

Sincerely,

Ugo Gherardi
Resident Manager
HOTEL LAS DUNAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ica hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vinas Queirolo
1.8 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#3 of 28 in Ica
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ollanta
Hotel Ollanta
#14 of 28 in Ica
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa de Valverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Dunas

Property: Hotel Las Dunas
Address: Av. La Angostura No. 400, Ica 11000, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Dunas 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest and have fun in the middle of nature! Las Dunas Hotel is an oasis located in the middle of the desert at 300 km south of Lima, it owes its name to the sun shining all year round over its gardens, lagoons and towering sand dunes. From here you will be able to start your experience discovering the wonders of Peru. Let yourself be surprised by the vast natural desert of Ica, the enigmatic Nazca Lines, Paracas National Reserve, and visit the old wine cellars in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Dunas Hotel
Las Dunas Ica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing