We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property but not close to restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The property is beautiful and well maintained. There is also a small area on the back of the property with birds, deer and a few alpaca. The rooms seem to be in the different stages of renovations. The first room we saw was a little dark and seemed to be a little older. They were working on the plumbing and did not seem to be finished so they moved us to another room. This room looked like it had a recent facelift and was very nice and had more light in through the windows. The only real complaint was the room was cold at night and there were no portable heaters. The restaurant was reasonable and the food pretty good. Breakfast was typical Peruvian. The front desk spoke some English but very minimal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

El Carmelo is a good stand bye if you have no other decent place to stay in Ica. I have stayed there many times and it is always as I expect it. The rooms are "generally" clean, the bed linens old, the staff not entirely happy in their work and the owner never smiling or greeting guests. It has gone up in price, perhaps to some changes in the last several years such as re-tiled baths and apparently shifting from in-room instant hot water heaters to solar. We had a difficult time getting consistent hot water in our room. We were told the hot water had been fixed but it was still come and go (one minute scalding the next freezing). We may be back, but only if we can't find something else better when we need to stay in Ica.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my sister. Lovely, safe accommodation in what is otherwise not that nice a city. The hotel was very quiet when we stayed - hardly any other guests.

About 5 minutes in a motocar into the Plaza Mayor and 10 minutes in a taxi to the sand dunes at Huacachina. There are a number of wineries close by as well.

This was the nicest accommodation I saw in Ica. It provided a good breakfast. The mini zoo at the back was lovely to walk round and I did like the baby Llama!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozza28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We got in late trying to find a place to stay and ran across this hotel. The rooms are really great, work up in the morning and realized how beautiful this place was. The zoo in the back was an even better surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Traxor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on short notice on the recommendation of the owner of the restaurant that we ate at in Ica. We were very pleased. We had an indoor room so it was very quiet. The twin beds were comfortable but not luxurious. The room had great ambiance though a bit spartan. There was a television that worked but we did not use. Breakfast was included.
The grounds are lovely and spaceous with what appears to be authentic wine or pusco making equipment. There is a pool with lounging areas as well as an extensive garden in the back with a small zoo. The zoo had mostly birds- chickens, cockatiels, parakeets, pheasants, peacocks as well as rabbits, an alpaca, and a deer. There was a koi(?) pond and some children's play equiptment. A lovely place to stay the night.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traversecity4961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The staff is really friendly and the food is really good. They help us to find tours around the city and they have a little zoo on the back of the hotel. The rooms are really cozy and they do have hot water in the showers and wi-fi all over the hotel. The hotel from the inside looks like a Lima Colonial times era!! It is a lovely hacienda that you can stay and relax!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiorella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

After trying to book a couple of hotels in Ica, we sort of fell onto this cozy hotel. Has a nice little pool area, pisco sours were top notch and service was excellent. Good value for the price. Would definitely stay there again. The decor reminded me of a small grape bodega and I later found out that they produce pisco as well. Not a modern hotel as everything is rustic and woody. Looks like a hotel from the early 1900's with that kind of vineyard hotel feel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ica hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#2 of 31 in Ica
1,223 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Pallar
Hotel El Pallar
#14 of 31 in Ica
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#4 of 31 in Ica
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa de Valverde
2.9 mi away
Hacienda San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda

Address: Carretera Panamericana Sur Km 301. 2, Ica 11000, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Ica
Price Range: £32 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing