We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had my worse sleep ever here in Peru!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Ica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This ragamuffin of a hotel is right next to a roaring street that stays busy all night. We asked for quiet rooms so got one in the interior but you not only could hear that roar but there was a loud disco, heavy on the base line, until 5 am. The food was also sub-par, and I am being kind! Plus, even after 6 emails, they failed to meet us at the bus station and didn't even apologize. What a dump.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel grounds are very nice....and quite interestin. They have an old pisco destilery ...a mini zoo .... a play area....and a pool. It was nicely taken care of.
The bathrooms have been remodeled but are tiny. The gas heater was shut off by the wind and we had to wait once they lighted it up again....ok.
We paid the full price of 110 dollars a night. And at the check out....the surprise...they simply refused a receipt!!! He said there was no receipt for foreigners!!! And my husband is working in Peru and has an immigration card. The hotel employee even called his accountant...so he said....and continued to refuse a simple receipt! Outrajous....sad.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tmanickchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A nice place to relax and explore Ica and the surroundings. Rooms are big, clean and with hot shower. Breakfast is included and nice. Service of the staff is helpfull and friendly. Swimmingpool is nice. The hacienda is besides a noisy and busy road, wich makes the place a bit dusty and noisy when relaxing at the pool. But in the back of the hacienda its more quiet. Outside the centre, wich we liked, but you need to take a taxi to go to other restaurants. Busstations are 5 a 10 min by taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the Hacienda to have a quiet and good sleep. We had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

They were a bit slow on the original confirmation, but no problems after that. They have many lounging areas, a pool, and restaurant. The welcome drink and breakfast were nice touches. We were there in the off season so no one talked to us without us asking about pisco. They are accommodating about when you check in and out (although a late checkout may have a cost). The service at the restaurant is great, the menu peruvian fusion. The shower fluctuated in temperature no matter what fiddling. Beds comfortable and plenty of sheets and blankets. Room a good size. We enjoyed our time here. You don't even notice you are right off the road. The reception was helpful for any taxi and information.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyLaViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed with our 11 year old son for a night in October 2013. and this was without doubt one of the most charming and elegant hotels we stayed in during our time in Peru. The hotel is built around an old hacienda and Pisco distillery. All carved wood and trailing flowers.

Our room was a spacious triple, with a double and single bed. It was simple furnished, but also elegant, with lots of wood. The shower was nice with plenty of hot water.

There is an elegant courtyard which has been covered over to provide a lovely open air lounge. There is a small playhouse and playground for the kids, together with a small pool, and a petting zoo, which included the most gorgeous baby alpaca ever! Peacocks and other animals roam around the grounds.

The breakfast was all freshly cooked, and one of the best we had in Peru. The hotel restaurant also provided a mix of traditional Peruvian food and international cuisine (mainly Italian), which was of high standard, and reasonably priced.

There was only one downside to this place. The noise! It was next to a VERY busy main road, where the traffic never seems to stop, and drivers beep their horns all the time. it was noticeable in our room which was about half way back. I imagine if you were towards the front it could be much worse. This is such a shame, as it really is a lovely place. Also, if you do not wish to eat in the hotel, you will probably need a car or taxi to get to another restaurant, I as I would not feel safe walking along the road.

I think the room rate was about $60, which was very reasonable. I imagine this reflects the location. If it was a little further from the road, it would probably be much busier and more expensive. All the same, a great place to relax and chill.

Room Tip: Go as far towards the back of the hotel as you can. i.e. away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The property is beautiful and well maintained. There is also a small area on the back of the property with birds, deer and a few alpaca. The rooms seem to be in the different stages of renovations. The first room we saw was a little dark and seemed to be a little older. They were working on the plumbing and did not seem to be finished so they moved us to another room. This room looked like it had a recent facelift and was very nice and had more light in through the windows. The only real complaint was the room was cold at night and there were no portable heaters. The restaurant was reasonable and the food pretty good. Breakfast was typical Peruvian. The front desk spoke some English but very minimal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

El Carmelo is a good stand bye if you have no other decent place to stay in Ica. I have stayed there many times and it is always as I expect it. The rooms are "generally" clean, the bed linens old, the staff not entirely happy in their work and the owner never smiling or greeting guests. It has gone up in price, perhaps to some changes in the last several years such as re-tiled baths and apparently shifting from in-room instant hot water heaters to solar. We had a difficult time getting consistent hot water in our room. We were told the hot water had been fixed but it was still come and go (one minute scalding the next freezing). We may be back, but only if we can't find something else better when we need to stay in Ica.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ica hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Dunas
Hotel Las Dunas
#2 of 30 in Ica
1,143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Jazmin
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vinas Queirolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Las Flores
Hotel Las Flores
#4 of 30 in Ica
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa de Valverde
1.6 mi away
Hacienda San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda

Address: Carretera Panamericana Sur Km 301. 2, Ica, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Ica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Ica
Price Range: £33 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Carmelo Hotel and Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing