We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paracas Reserve, Huacachina Oasis & Nazca Lines”
Review of Mystery Peru

Mystery Peru
Ranked #5 of 14 Outdoor Activities in Nazca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paracas Reserve, Huacachina Oasis & Nazca Lines”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hernan was our guide and he was fantastic. I agree with the description of his passion and knowledge expressed by other reviewers. The tour itinerary was full with a significant amount of driving, but given the opportunity I would do it the same way again. All the sites are really interesting and worth the effort to see them. Thank you Hernan for being so helpful and patient with us. Unfortuntately I can't say anything positive about our driver. But my guess is that it isn't necessary since we voiced our concerns throughout the trip. He was new in his role and it likely was evident to all that this job is not a good match for his skills.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaTysonAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    7
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ikea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nazca lines, sand buggy & sandboarding”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went on a day trip described above with this tour company, our host was a wonderful gentleman by the name of Hernan. He, as said in another previous review, is passionate about his country and loved to show his passion. He was very informative and made sure we were comfortable, happy and had everything we wanted. I highly recommend and ask for Hernan to be your guide! Excellent experience with Hernan and Mystery Tours. Thank you Hernan, you are a very special, down to earth person, your love of Peru has stirred my love of Peru!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank haskalabobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great tour with Ramon”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We used Mystery Peru for a two day tour of the Ballestas Islands, the Paracars natural reserve and Nazca and it was a pleasure to be driven around by our guide Ramon. Ramon picked us up at 4 30 am from our bnb in Lima, and after picking up another traveller we set off towards Pisco to catch the 8 o'clock guided tour of the islands. After that we moved on to the breathtaking views offered by the Paracas reserve and then on to Ica for a tour of a Pisco distillery with plenty of samples included (beware!). We then moved on to the oasis of Huacachina where we had lunch and climbed a few dunes in the scorching heat. Finally we drove to Nasca where we spent the night in preparation for an early flight over the lines the following morning. Ramon then drove us back to Lima with a stop in Ica town archaeological museum. It's no my intention here to review all the wonderful things we saw, but rather to express how much we enjoyed the tour and our time with Ramon. He is very knowledgeable and passionate about the area and great at explaining the historical and natural significance of the places you are visiting. He also has a few interesting theories on alien interventions in the Nasca area worth checking out! The two days were really packed and intense but totally worth it. Also thanks Ramon for your dulche de leche recipe, yummy!

Overall an intense, tiring but totally rewarding tour of a unique part of the world, and we couldn't have had a better guide!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Long, long trip but worth it. We saw so much and learned even more on our private tour of the ballestas island and nasca lines with Hernan. He was excellent. Very entertaining and passionate about Peru. No one is a better representation of Peru than him. He spoke excellent English.
Our only complaint was the boat ride around the ballestas island was not in English as well as Spanish. But another guest on the boat explained things for us and the rest of the trip was viewing all the animals

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AMumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and personal tour.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hernan picked us up early to ensure that we made it back to Lima on time for our flight home. The car was very nice and they handled the tough driving. I wouldn't recommend driving it yourself if you're not familiar with driving in Peru! We loved all the activities and the food. It was the best way for us to see the Nazca lines from Lima in one day and back. Plus the dune buggy ride and sand boarding at the huacachina oasis was an amazing bonus. The guide was very polite, personable, and knowledgeable. Recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Warpig1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mystery Peru also viewed

Nazca, Ica Region
Nazca, Ica Region
 

Been to Mystery Peru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing