We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Mummies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cementerio Chauchilla

Cementerio Chauchilla
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Half-Day Chauchilla Cementery Tour from Nazca
Ranked #4 of 31 things to do in Nazca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cemetery holds the mummified remains of members of the Nasca culture, dating back between 200 BC and 500 AD.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Mummies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The preservation of these mummies was truly amazing!
Definitely worth a visit. However, wear suitable clothing, as it is a very open desert space and so gets really very windy (eg. don't wear floaty skirts ext.)
Would highly recommend a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    152
    59
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorea, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Amazingly well preserved mummies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Although only 12 tombs are preserved, the visit is impressing. You will see 2000 year old mummies compete with long hair, teeth and garments, even the corn offerings are still recognizable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IsaMoorea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Restored Nascar ruins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

It's a long, dusty 1 hours ride out to these ruins. They are impressive for their size, but they have been restored and I was unable to walk around. I personally think it was worth the trip, but if you are not a "ruins" buff, you might not agree with me.
Condor Agency arranged for a taxi/guide trip for soles 80.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnkeSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VERY INTERESTING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

What can I say…mummies in the desert and its all open. The most incredible thing I have ever seen.????

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank billykins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We visited the cemetery as part of our tour with Great Nazca Tours. I found the site very interesting. I have visited a lot of cemeteries, catacombs and ossuaries around the world, and I always find it fascinating to see how different cultures preserve their dead.

There is a small museum you can visit before checking out the tombs. Worth a quick look for the mummy and examples of artifacts found in the tombs.

It should be noted that the graves aren't quite as original as you may be led to believe. As explained by our guide, the cemetery was discovered in the 1920s and extensively plundered. Protected by Perúvian law since 1997, the majority of the scattered bones and plundered pottery have been restored to the tombs.

If you are interested in this sort of attraction, definitely make time to check out Chauchilla cemetery. Because there is no information posted at each grave, it may be best to go with a tour guide or a well written book to explain what you are seeing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cementerio Chauchilla also viewed

 

Been to Cementerio Chauchilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing