We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, accommodating, 'that'll do' type place”
Review of Hotel Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alegria
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nazca
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly, accommodating, 'that'll do' type place”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived late night (10pm) from Lima on a Cruz del Sur coach (very comfy with VIP option) and this hotel was perfect as literally across the road from the coach station. Reception staff was friendly and warned us that there was a possible workers strike march which could be noisy during the night and put us in a room at the back of the hotel to minimise noise. Room was basic and clean, although there was a little damp on the wall which separated the bathroom. Bed was very comfy with clean sheets and the shower was warm and reasonably powerful.

After doing the Nazca Lines flight with the sister company and next door neighbour Alegria Tours/Alas Peruanas they allowed us to hang around the hotel all day and use pool and shower facilities while we waited for our next coach to Cusco.

Free wifi is being used to write this.

All in all an ok option given that no hotel in Nazca seems to have outstanding reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twjchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    121
    85
    15
    6
See reviews for
38
114
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel with swimmingpool and a very nice and relaxing patio. However the employees are not too friendly. Make sure to book and to fixroom price upfront as they wanted to charge double the price on site. Cental place is a few minutes away.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MFS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is in a good location and has a nice garden to lounge in. The rooms are pretty bare bones though, and the walls are thin so it can be quite noisy at night. We had a decent stay for one night before flying over the Nazca lines the next morning, but I wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank skrishnan516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel located a few steps from the train station, which seems to be one of its few redeeming features. My first room was located on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel, from which I had to move due to the excessive noise. My second room was located on the 2nd floor at the front of hotel, which looked into an atrium shaft, which I later discovered carried the sound of the lounge and dining areas. There are many other rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area, which I am sure are much quieter.
The rooms are in need of renovation - old furnishings, stained sheeting and toweling, windows with unlock-able locks. Showers were hot.
"Included Breakfast" consisted of bread, jam, instant coffee and tea - eggs will cost you 5 soles.
Lunch and dinner were far better options, with both meals quickly prepared with great ingredients.
During my stay, the hotel was in the midst of building a lift, which will certainly make it much easier in taking your bags to the third floor.
I found the staff on reception to be helpful and professional.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had a room on second floor just above reception. Was okay, nothing special, beds were medium comfortable and the showers were hot so not that bad. Wifi needed a little extra strength and as usual we could have had an extra pillow

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The hotel grounds were really nice considering we're in the middle of a desert. The location of the hotel is a few steps away from the bus station and the front gates lock at night. I don't know how dangerous it might be in the city but didn't seem to have any issues when I was there. The hotel was 3 floors that overlooked the pool and small garden. Our room was on the 3rd floor. The rooms were spacious but a bit tired looking. Thankfully the arid desert air helped things stay nice and dry but things were on the dusty side. A lot of the noise from nearby could be heard at night, like the night club and the ever cawing rooster.

The front desk isn't very friendly and tend to be curt. But they are as helpful as they feel like being. It is a bit of a hit and miss with that one.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel so I don't have much to say about the amenities. The breakfast area was nice and in the covered terrace area. Breakfast was pretty good with fresh juice, coffee/tea and bread with jam/butter. Nothing excess and that's fine by me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Lovely setting with the hotel rising above the pool and small garden. On 3 floors; our room was on the upper floor and looked out to the side of the hotel. Room was small but bed was very comfortable. Bathroom small too but everything was in working order so no complaints.

We had lunch when we arrived - very nice with cooling drinks. Breakfast was good too. There were plenty restaurants round about so ate out in the evening.

Pleasant stay for one night but might have been a bit cramped if there for longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkfootpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazca hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 18 in Nazca
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Viejo
Hotel Oro Viejo
#3 of 18 in Nazca
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Hacienda Nasca Oasis
0.1 mi away
DM Hoteles Nasca
DM Hoteles Nasca
#6 of 18 in Nazca
250 reviews
2.0 mi away
B Hotel Nasca Suites
B Hotel Nasca Suites
#9 of 18 in Nazca
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alegria

Property: Hotel Alegria
Address: Calle Lima 166, Nazca, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Nazca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Alegria in Nazca is located just 5 minutes away from the Maria Reiche airport and the main town square - Plaza de Armas - near the bus station. Its superb location provides easy access to all Nazca`s tourist attractions. The Hotel Alegria was built with the latest technology in antiseismic construction offering comfort and safety. Its 48 spacious rooms have 24 hours ecological hot water systems, private bath, private Satellite TV, national and international telephone connections and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegria Hotel Nasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing