We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings”
Review of Hotel Majoro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Majoro
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nazca
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here as part of an organised tour. I arrived after dark as I had done a late afternoon flight over the Nazca lines, so didn’t truly get to appreciate the hotel and gardens (which are lovely) until the morning. I had a lovely room, with a comfortable bed. Unfortunately I didn’t have hot water in the shower either that evening or the next morning.

Breakfast was good. I liked the craft shop on site where local craftspeople are invited to come and live and sell their products for a period of time.

I didn’t have time to have a pisco sour here, however others on the tour said they were the best ones they had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimepardo, Owner at Hotel Majoro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear guest, you are correct regarding the hot water issue. Unfortunatelly the boiler broke down, at the wrong time, and even though we did our best to have it repaired before your arrival, we just did not, and obviously the auxiliary boiler was not enough for all of our guests to have a bath. Thank you for your opinion, and I'm sorry to learn you did not have time to try one of our pisco sours, but hope you had the opportunity to try our pure pisco after dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

When to drive to this hotel you wonder what / where am I going in for. But once you have been carefully checked by the heavily guarded security at the gates, you walk into an oasis! It has very beautiful lush green lawns, an excellent bar, a nice pool and a small pooltable as well......Be careful as you walk around the resort as there are a lot of peacocks and llamas around - so make sure you have some footwear so as not to step on poo! The ambience is lovely. There is a craft shop which has some awesome handwork. It is ideally located close to the Airport for the NASCA flights as well as the open air museum that has the mummies. The restaurant on site has excellent food both buffet and ala carte menu ( not expensive). We loved the pool and the music in the evening at the artistically decorated restaurant. The rooms were lovely - absolutely SPACIOUS.....and very well done up. Thanks to ECS travels ( http://www.ecstravel.com/en/) for booking us into this lovely hotel. One of my Favourite hotels during my stay in Peru.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from reception ...on the right side, just down the art shop. These rooms are spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumukund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimepardo, Owner at Hotel Majoro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Glad to learn you enjoyed your stay at Majoro, a place where we want our guest to relax and enjoy nature, besides learning about Peruvian culture represented by all the art work shown at the premisses, and Peruvian customs, like learning how to make your Pisco sour, or visiting the craft shop, where, Victor, from Ayacucho, weaves all kinds of ítems. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A delightful oasis in the dry desert of Nazca. The hotel is converted and restored from an old hacienda set in lush green gardens complete with natures lawnmower, the alpaca. Service excellent and each room has its own individual touch. Although out of town, it was great to be able to have beautiful surroundings to take time out and relax.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimepardo, Propietario at Hotel Majoro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013
Google Translation

muchas gracias por su opinion. Lo que queremos es que nuestros huespedes se sientan en su casa y que se relajen con la naturaleza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We just loved this place. Beauteful restored old hacienda into a new boutique hotel. Everything worked perfect and eventhough it is outside Nazca it is not difficult to find. It is quite easy to get from the hotel to the Nazca lines from the hotel. Perfect hotel, good and serciveminded staff to a very attractive price. We will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimepardo, Manager at Hotel Majoro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

thank you for staying with us, and next time you visit us, I hope you will enjoy the improvements.
Best regards, Jaime Pardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We stayed again, this might be the seventh year error stay at the Majors Hotel in Nazca, on our way to and from Arequipa. The facility is beautiful, as an old country house and farm has been restored to a beautiful and cozy hotel. Service is excellent, they make their own pisco, the Peruvian brandy, which serves great pisco sours by the great pool you will find next to the beautiful garden. Rooms are very spacious. No tv, which can be great when traveling with the family, but you will have access to a big one in the quaint living room. Food and service are excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimepardo, Propietario at Hotel Majoro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your comments and especially in understanding our concept. Our mission in Majoro is to make sure that you disconnect from the world and get to enjoy what peace and serenity is. That is precisely why we don't have T.V's in the rooms. Here you get the chance to enjoy what you describer; our own Pisco distillation to later enjoy it as a Pisco sour. Cheers...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Hotel Majoro is definitely off the beaten path, about 5 miles out of town. I had read that it was a renovated hacienda, so I knew to expect an older property. The owners have done an amazing job. It is a truly unique property. All of the rooms seem different in size and layout. There is a central pool on one side, and gardens on another side. Peacocks and an alpaca roam around.

We arrived by bus after 10pm, and the manager got the restaurant to fix us dinner even though they appeared to be closed. We were starving by that time. The food and service were great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotsomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimepardo, Propietario at Hotel Majoro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your comments, and after that bus trip that you had was the least we could do...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We loved this hotel with its beautiful park. The two of us got 2 rooms with 3 beds, lots of space! We also fell in love with the alpaca and the little vacuna which met us at the in check. Dinner was not so spectacular, but all right.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsti27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaimepardo, Propietario at Hotel Majoro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear guest, I´m glad to learn you enoyed your stay with us. Next time you come, I´ll make sure that you'll be happy with the food we serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazca hotels
2.5 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Nasca
0 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Cantalloc
Hotel Nuevo Cantalloc
#11 of 19 in Nazca
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Hacienda Nasca Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Oro Viejo
Hotel Oro Viejo
#3 of 19 in Nazca
231 reviews
2.4 mi away
DM Hoteles Nasca
DM Hoteles Nasca
#5 of 19 in Nazca
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hospedaje Yemaya
Hospedaje Yemaya
#2 of 19 in Nazca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majoro

Address: Km 453 Panamericana Sur | Vista Alegre, Nazca, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Nazca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Nazca
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Majoro 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hacienda Majoro, a single floor hotel, was built in the 19th Century as an Augustine convent. In the early 20s it became a Pima cotton hacienda and its land was expropiated in 1968 with the Agrarian Reform. The previous owners converted the old hacienda building into a hotel in 1980. The present owner bought it in 2004 including 60 acres of land where tara trees (caesalpinea spinoza), cactus and grapes are grown. The hotel contains a vast collection of Peruvian art, it also has a pisco cellar and a Planetarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Majoro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majoro Hotel Nasca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing