We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“survived the cave connection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sumaguing Cave

Sumaguing Cave
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Sagada
Certificate of Excellence
Las Piñas, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“survived the cave connection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

it might seem simple to read and listen the stories of this cave, but you haven't been to Sagada if you haven't been inside this cave. wait, not just inside, but completed the course of this cave! don't go short-course unless you're physically weak for it. also, use non-slippery footwear and get ready to crawl and get bruised and also scarred. have a guide with you. the guides literally grew up playing inside the cave. as our guide said, "this was our playground," so don't doubt their skill and wonder how you can be so dirty with [--] and the guide looks like he just went to a picnic and be still neat wearing white. this actually happened to us. haha! but yeah, go in!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MRK9809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    140
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SURVIVED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

If you're going to Sagada, this is the place that you MUST try. It would be a great regret to have went to Sagada and didn't visit the place. Honestly, at first, it was kind of odd to be touching slippery stones, which you would later on learn to be filled with bat poop and that the general smell inside was that of bat pee, but amidst the smell and the stretched muscles, the beauty of the rocks inside the cave would take it all away, especially when you get to the part where they would require you to remove your slippers (or shoes). The guides were entertaining showing you naughty rock formations and are indeed adept in their jobs. Even the walk going to the cave entrance was a sight to see, but you would definitely have to take a ride going back after this cave experience AND A BATH.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickolai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cave Conquered!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We just did the normal caving instead of the cave connection. Experience was physically tiring but awesome! This activity is definitely not for the weak and maarte. Bat poops are everywhere.

Helpful?
Thank Lloyd Dominic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

It took us 6 hours to finish the cave connection. Our first time to do spelunking. Very challenging. I suggest you prepare yourself physically for this. We all had a great time.

Helpful?
Thank MaFe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Explored!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Amazing! I never thought I would enjoy it! In fact I'd never thought I would do it explore it again for the second time!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolephi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sumaguing Cave also viewed

 
Sagada, Mountain Province
Banaue, Ifugao Province
 

Been to Sumaguing Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing