We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Isolated....”
Review of Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sagada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rock Inn
Ranked #5 of 22 Sagada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Expensive and Isolated....”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our group took our lunch here after our trekking in bomod-ok falls. It's very far from the town proper. Once you are there, you will be isolated from the activities in sagada. We ordered our food. And again, the food in the menu is a standard menu from any restaurants anywhere. No choice at all. The food was also expensive so we decided to order some dishes and later on divide it among us. And as usual in a sagada resto, food will be served an hour or so later. Well, there was a solution so that you will not get bored waiting for your food. For a fee of 50 pesos, you can go orange picking in their back yard. Eat all you can. Just ensure that you eat at least a kilo (around 6-7 pcs) as a kilo of orange is worth 50 pesos. After about an hour of orange picking, we went back to the resto. The food was not yet ready. We waited for at least another 30 minutes and the food was finally served. The food was ok (bulalo with potato), is this how they cook bulalo here? Very funny indeed. My group ordered fried bangus. They served us grilled bangus instead. Ho ho ho.... are they deaf here? We were all hungry, asking the resto to change our order will take another 1-1/2 hours. What in the world happened in sagada.... anyway, i'll have double thoughts coming back here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serjt-las-pinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed here on 5th December 2013. It took a while to find and is quite some distance from the town. It was clear the boss was away as the inn seemed to be run by a few disinterested kids who did not even welcome us and prefered to party amongst themselves and watch tv in the dining room with their even younger progeny. Rooms were poor, dirty and there was NO hot water. We took two of the more expensive rooms so this really wasnt acceptable especially when we had travelled for hours and hours to get there, and the only thing we longed for was a hot shower. The grounds are amazing but the whole experience was let down by the lack of basic courtesy on the part of the staff, however one of the men there made us a fire and took us to town for free to his credit, but this was the only thing resembling customer service we got. The inn really is out of the way, with misleading signs which say its '250 metres' ahead when it was another 1km walk! We were fine with this as we were told there was a free shuttle service which we took on the first evening. However on the second day this all changed and they tried to charge us 200 pesos to go to the town 2km away. We had already paid 350 the night before to get back to the inn at 9pm as there are no formal taxis in the town after dark. It was the final straw so we said we would leave instead and the young woman at reception said fine and really didn't care either way. Not good business sense when we were the only customers there and were going to pay 3500 in total for the next night. I know in british pounds sterling 200 pesos isnt much but when we had paid 500 pesos to travel 7hrs and 180km to sagada by coach you can't help but feel there are principles at stake here when the drive to town takes 5 minutes and is 2km. It is also dangerous to walk back to the inn in the dark as the route is plagued by stray dogs which seem to get vicious when night falls, so you have to take a chance asking favours in the town if you want to get back in the evening and for obvious reasons the locals like to try it on ripping off the tourists. All in all a disappointing experience which really let down the obvious care and attention that had gone into making the grounds spectacular. I think the boss should think twice before letting these kids run the hotel in his absence as they seem to be turning it into a private social club for their friends and babies at the expense of the customers.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you're looking for low key, peace and quiet with delicious food and a good location, then the Rock Inn or Rock Farm is for you. Yes, it's low-key - the showers are crude, but functional and the towels are rather thin, so if you want luxury, this place is not for you. If you eat at the property, be sure and have the fresh yogurt. It's amazing and comes with lots of fresh toppings. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is a wonderful firepit for pre-post dinner gatherings. The staff are very accommodating and kind, though their restaurant service was a bit unorganized, the food was good.

Room Tip: Most rooms are with bunk beds - if you need a double bed, be sure and ask for it. The bunks are comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExplrCr8B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

When we decided to visit this place I kept on complaining at the back of my head because it's a but far. But when we reached this place I was in awe because of the beauty of it and it's history. The owner is really really humble and kind. I will surely recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffQuiambao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Nice little hotel tucked away in the forests of Sagada. Located a few kilometers away from the town proper so it's a little out of the way if you don't have a vehicle. Otherwise very quiet and very nice ambiance for a hotel. Food is also available for those that don't wat to go too far from the hote.l

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daCoach420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Nice, clean lodging in Sagada but not walking distance to town proper. Our room was in the 2nd floor, with 3 double-deck beds. Each room has it's own T&B, but there is a common T&B room (3 shower cubicles and 3 toilet cubicles) on each floor, located at the far end. Since the trip was a public tour, I shared the room with 5 fellow adventurers. The staff are helpful, especially when we reported that the shower in our room was not working. They immediately replaced it. The inn also has a nice restaurant, with wooden furniture, really pretty. My only complain is that they close early, around 9pm, so we couldn't have a cup of coffee after dinner in town (we were craving for some warm drink because of the cold weather in this mountain of Sagada) . Overall, it's a decent place to return to after an adventure-filled day. And did I mention, I so love the orange orchard of Rock Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineYell0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Away from the crowd, this is a great place to stay. Stayed here for three days in a room with 2 beds (double and single) and a clean toilet. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Have a nice fireplace area outside of the building. The shower heater was not heating well but it was good enough considering the cold weather in the area. No trash can and toiletries were provided inside the toilet except for the toilet paper and towel. Bedsheets were tidy and Room space was comfy. Need to advise the staff to make the room though. Their Yoghurt is a must try.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagada
15.7 mi away
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
48.5 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
499 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coffee Heritage House & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sagada Heritage Village
Sagada Heritage Village
#7 of 24 in Sagada
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Masferre Country Inn and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Kanip-aw Pines Lodge
Kanip-aw Pines Lodge
#3 of 24 in Sagada
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Inn

Property: Rock Inn
Address: Batalao, Sagada, Luzon 2619, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Mountain Province > Sagada
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Sagada
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Sagada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing