We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.....”
Review of Hotel Carpati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carpati
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Baia Mare
WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel.....”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I have been on a 4 week European holiday that has taken me from Spain,Germany, Austria and Romania. This is a very very nice 4 star hotel. Book the oversized rooms, you won't be disappointed. The front desk was very helpful with me booking some local activities. And the food is very good in the restaurant, and it is prepared quickly.

Thanks!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Proracer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
16
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cockney in Wrexham, North Wales
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Only gripe with this hotel was the parking. There is not a lot but I was allowed to park around the rear of the hotel which was great.
As i said in the title do not go by the outside of the hotel. Once inside it's really nice.
I booked a Superior Double which was a really nice size. £153 for 3 nights you will not get anything like this in the uk.
It had two bathrooms, large flat screen telly, two arm chairs and plenty of room to work.
The room was very well presented and really clean. Cannot fault the room at all.
Food was ok but boy oh boy does the smoking become a bit much.
What is it with the Romanian people, do they not know the dangers of smoking yet?
I found it best to eat outside up wind of anyone smoking.
All in all, I would stay here again if there for work.
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior double room its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GavinBridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay here. We expected the very small rooms, though the rooms had all amenities, good towels, bedding, and comfortable beds. The room was cramped but comfortable and located about a 5 minute cab ride from the main square.
However, the service was terrible. I had emailed to ask about getting a taxi to meet our late night train arrival, but never got a response from the hotel. Not one person even smiled during the three days we were there, questions were answered with shrugs, our room was not made up one day, and the wakeup call we requested never came. We asked advice about buying train tickets and no one on the staff seemed to know that there was a full service train ticket office one block away from the hotel, (which we later found out from a guidebook.)
The breakfast buffet provided in the room rate was dismal. There was dry bread, greasy eggs and terrible coffee in a dark room. We abandoned it after the first day for the hotel’s nice outdoor café, where we paid for excellent expresso and a decent breakfast. We had dinner in the pretty terrace restaurant overlooking the river one night. There’s a big menu with English translation. The service was slow, food was decent, but not on a par with the view. You’ll get a comfortable bed here, but not much else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abdtNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogosesti, Maramures, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

my clubs had meetings weekly at Carpati Hotel and it's the perfect place for any kind of plans you have in Baia Mare; Meetings, Coffee, Lunch, Good Hotel and so on.
It's very good located in City Center but somehow in a quiet area. It's expensive but it worth it.

Room Tip: nice view on the near by river and park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odorheiu Secuiesc, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Strategicly placed, easy parking , nice lobby , lovely resaturant helpful staff. The room I got was very small , the flat TV was too close to the bed . Bathroom also too small , although cleannes and towel were quality made ind impecable . I think they should never put such small rooms into a four star hotel. So take a look at your room before choosig it - probably the others are bigger

Room Tip: take a look before you choose a room , you should get a bigger place for your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewiswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Nothing to complain about this hotel.I spent one night in February 2013. The room and the bathroom were large and clean, and the shower worked perfectly, both the hot water and the pressure. Maybe breakfast could be improved (mainly the quality of the oranje juice). The restaurant was big, with a large selection of dishes, and cheap. The hotel decoration is kitsch and old fashioned, reminded me of the 70s, but sincerely, I do not care too much about that. The price of the room + breakfast was around 45 €.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Don't be put off by the orange and white painted concrete. Inside it s very comfortable and my room was very, very good. Excellent wifi in the room. Good position for the town centre. However breakfast was barely edible. The restaurant, like so many in Romania, produces edible, filling but unexciting and unimaginative food. If I was in Baia Mare I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room which does not fave south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baia Mare hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Castel Transilvania
Hotel Castel Transilvania
#2 of 12 in Baia Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mara Hotel
Mara Hotel
#5 of 12 in Baia Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Magus Hotel
Magus Hotel
#6 of 12 in Baia Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eurohotel
Eurohotel
#9 of 12 in Baia Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivulus
Hotel Rivulus
#7 of 12 in Baia Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.9 mi away
Complex Lostrita
Complex Lostrita
#4 of 12 in Baia Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carpati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carpati

Property: Hotel Carpati
Address: Strada Minerva 16, Baia Mare 430143, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Maramures County > Baia Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Baia Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carpati 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Carpati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpati Hotel Baia Mare
Hotel Carpati Baia Mare, Romania - Maramures County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing