We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable Bed”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calera
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I've stayed here before, and I should have known better, but I like to give places a second (and maybe third or fourth) chance before I write them off completely, especially when they are the only Choice brand hotel in the area.

That being said, over the past several years a few things have never changed: The bed is nearly as hard as a rock. I have yet to have a comfortable night's rest on any of the beds at this hotel. Internet has always been so-so, but this last time I was at the edge of the coverage so it was borderline pathetic. The price is much higher than I would expect for a typical Quality Inn, especially of this quality.

I will however note that this most recent stay was more enjoyable for the following reasons: The room was updated with newer furniture and appliances and was really clean and comfortable (except for the bed). The hotel was not really crowded, so it was very quiet. Also, I'm not sure where the negative staff comments are coming from, but I've had no problems with the staff in any of my stays here other than some technical computer (possible user) issues that really weren't much of an inconvenience.

Unfortunately, I really can't recommend this hotel for just the average traveller, unless you really like a firm (as a rock) mattress and don't really care about internet speed and usage.

Food Note: Eat at Ezell's Catfish Cabin just down the street. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you want good internet, don't stay at the far ends. First floor is a better bet as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimZ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Staff very rude....room not worth the price walked in it wreaked of cigarette smoke bed low to floor room very outdated carpet had a smell jus wouldn't recommend this hotel at all!! Gives Quality Inn a bad name!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjenkins9512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Quality Inn in Calera AL December 21. The desk clerk was rude. The room was dated and dirty. The refrigerator was noisy. To top it off, the bed was totally uncomfortable. On the return trip, we stayed at a La Quinta for less money, had better service and the accommodations were much better. We will never stay at a Quality Inn hotel again. It was anything but quality.

Room Tip: A different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

With only three hotels to pick from in Calera your choices are somewhat limited. We have stayed several times over the years at the Quality Inn and have never been disappointed. In fact I was very pleased to join the Quality Inn frequent stay program and got a $72 room rate for a double room. This is an excellent value. The inn is a little older but very well maintained. A hot breakfast is included in the room price. On our next trip to Calera we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsattui123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The room was very spacious and clean. The showerhead and the resulting shower experience are the best we have ever experienced, and that is worth staying there by itself. Breakfast was good and the staff is very friendly. There were trains throughout the night and lots of sirens, so it was a bit noisier than we would like, but that is the only negative at all. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LloydS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here one night after driving 11 hours. The bleach smell on the sheets and in the bathroom was overpowering, and irritated our lungs quite a bit. If you have allergies, lung conditions, or sensitivity to any type of odors, I'd recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalen1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calera
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn
#1 of 4 in Calera
427 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alabaster
6.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Alabaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Calera
13.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Mountain Inn
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Pelham
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 357 Highway 304, Calera, AL 35040-5505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Calera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calera
Price Range: £62 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown Calera providing easy access to many popular Alabama attractions. This Calera, AL hotel is close to local points of interest like the Dixie Railroad Museum, the University of Montevallo and the Verizon Wireless Music Center arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Calera
Holiday Inn Express Calera
Calera Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing