We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avalon Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Rooms
Ranked #20 of 34 Oradea B&B and Inns
Oradea, Romania
1 review
“No problem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our booking via a third partie website didn't came through and we found the place closed for the day. This was solved with a quick call, after which we gained access to the our room. Quick solution for this problem and besides that a very well furnished, cosy place to stay. Also very helpfull with booking taxi's and providing other information.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin-Maurits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pop D, Owner at Avalon Rooms, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guests, thank you for sharing your positive impressions.

As we previousely mentioned in other responses, but also in our presentations over the web, we do have a limited hours reception (05:00-21:30, and 08:00-12:00 in religious holydays), still, check-in is possible (on guaranteed bookings) at any hour with a prior notice from the guest.
Regarding other services, like, transfer to important locations (airports, trainstations, other) we are happy to help, at any time with suitable solutions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
11
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Think of Avalon as the best choice if you want to be close to the heart of the city. The rooms are rather small but nicely decorated and clean. The parking is in front of the building . We arrived in the evening around 20.00 and even though the owner was not there a very nice lady from the bar nextdoor offered us all the necessary info and the door key. We would go back again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UrzicaAnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristur, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Although we stayed just one night, arrived after check-in was closed and left before check-out closed, the staff was extremely helpful and found a really nice, tastefully decorated room. Quiet, good location, awesome experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakabfizsofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

It's placed right in the city center, very conveniently if you plan to visit the city. Beautifully decorated room, quiet, especially because of the hotel's calm atmosphere. No permanent reception, runned by owner, a very nice person, present there every morning and some evenings. Perfect clean rooom/bathroom, white immaculate linnen. Room rather small but with great design and space cleverly managed. Good (stand alone) air condition and minifridge, helped us be comfortable in a overheated weather (above 36 deg.)

Very pleased with the choice, we reccommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very convenient location close to the city centre. Immaculately clean, comfortable and very nicely decorated room. Dacian who runs the place is a most welcoming, knowledgeable and friendly host with perfect English. Having e-mailed me train information prior to my visit, he then came to pick me up from the train station at night and was patiently waiting for me although my train arrived 20 minutes late. It was my first visit to Romania, I was going to meet up with a Romanian friend, but as a result of last minute changes found myself a little bit apprehensive on my own in unknown territory. Damian gave me a guide book to look at, a map to take with me and a lot of excellent tips and recommendations and as a result I spent two most enjoyable days exploring the city on foot. I highly recommend Avalon Rooms and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: my room was fine, but can't remember the number ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solveigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

(PROs) Great location, near the city center, very easy to reach. The room had lcd tv, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi, amazing mattresses (we slept so well). Although the room was quite small, it was very light, clean and cozy. The furnishing and decor are lovely :). The room faced the interior yard, so it was quiet enough, although the hotel is located on a busy street. Budget-friendly.
(CON) In the early morning we could hear the trams, so we had to close the window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the yard, because even in a room like this you can hear the tram starting 5-6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iuliatuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pop D, Owner at Avalon Rooms, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the room.

You took advantage of our very good placement, still, this position comes with certain disadvantages. Being close to a main street at 500m from center (Piata Unirii-Primarie), draws in a certain level of sound discomfort. Even if the street is quiet during the night, maybe not everyone could sleep with open windows, of course this may be different, as we are not the same. Because of our high quality air condition units and the efficient double glasses soundproof windows, sleeping with closed windows is the best option, especially in summertime.

Thank you!

p.s.:
Nice photo’s :)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stadt Sonneberg, Thüringen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked a double room at Avalon at the end of February for our stay at the end of May and the Avalon Staff just forgot our reservation. At first they even denied receiving it which I find very offending for a guest interested in a stay. After driving for hours to get to Oradea we found the Hotel doors closed, the manager didn't even have the common sense to come and talk to us personally but instead sent us to another hotel at the other end of the city. After demanding he solved the problem he caused himself. Really unfriendly, we cannot rate the rooms or other service areas, but my advice: if you choose to travel to oradea pick a decent stay (we chose Double tree by hilton-it's excellent at very good rates) or double or better triple check your reservation at avalon. It will save you lots of trouble!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pop D, Owner at Avalon Rooms, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Tourist,


We are very sorry, we couldn’t accommodate you, without a valid booking.

In February, upon a request of yours, we confirmed the availability and the rates for a room, but denied your booking because of your request for inner private parking and breakfast from 07:00 am (services, which unfortunately we can not provide), a negation which we communicated to you and required a response.
Nothing happened from then, no email, no answer on our several phone calls. Consequently, your “booking” remained just a request
It is how, it’s understandable, that we “couldn’t find” your booking; it is why we did not expect any check-in for that day (our location is never “closed” for tourists);
Because there was no registered booking on your name, we searched for the email exchange which, you kept insisting that it was launched on April. This misinformation had confused us a lot.
Finally, attempting to stop the dispute, we proposed you alternative accommodation; it was not liability, but common sense and courteousness…sorry that you did not understood that!

We pity, however, the way you decided to handle this; your rush to launch a “revenge” on us, creating yourself a Tripadvisor account exactly in the day of the incident, your advert to other hotel, rises strong, legitimate questions, about your fair intent and disqualifies your approach…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oradea hotels
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nevis Wellness & SPA
1.4 mi away
Silver Hotel Conference & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Continental Forum Oradea
0.9 mi away
Atrium
Atrium
#17 of 24 in Oradea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Oradea
Ramada Oradea
#2 of 24 in Oradea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Rooms

Property: Avalon Rooms
Address: Strada Primariei nr. 35/b, Oradea 410209, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Bihor County > Oradea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Oradea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from the 0km of Oradea, surrounded at a walking distance by all the attractions and main points of interest of the city: City Hall, Piata Unirii, Black Eagle Palace, The Church with the moon,Faculty of Medicine, AVALON Rooms resides in a small, elegant, with an original design, property. Calm and intimate, free from the specific agitation and bustle of the big hotels, you will feel good and well taken care at the AVALON Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Avalon Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing