We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip that felt like vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Oradea
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Business trip that felt like vacation”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was just a business trip, but the hotel was so excellent that I just had to review it.

The selection was made by my Oradea friend - I didn't check the TripAdvisor score first, if I did, I probably would know to expect excellence ;).

The hotel is located some 15-20' from the historical city center, just one bus stop from a tramline (a pity bus is every 60-120 mins then). The location is between a moderately-used road and a river; there's a park with some sport areas on the other side of the road, and a large olympic pool is adjacent (also themal water spa is nearby but it is currently closed for reconstruction). All in all, location is quite nice.

The staff are lovely and extremely helpful. They all do know English very well, much better than a few standard words I think (or at least that was my impression). The reception helps with whatever is possible, the waiters organise with the kitchen for Your extra wishes (like fried eggs, lemon for smoked salmon etc.).

The rooms are very good - clean, comfortable, spacious. The bathroom is quite cosy, I love the built-in shower with warm, sandy ceramics. The only downside is that the rooms (at least those on the northern side of the building) can get quite cold and the AC unit seems to be unable to heat them (at least at this time of the year). The bed is comfortable, the linens nice to the touch form the very first night. WiFi in my room didn't work very well on all of my devices (the tablet actually had problems connecting from time to time despite supposedly very good signal quality).

Breakfast is really good - I always had a good selection of cheese and cold cuts (with either a herring or smoked salmon to boot), varied vegetables and fruit. There are several brands of bread and rolls, there's muesli and cereals. Hot stuff included local sausages, bacon, tomato bean for our English friends and scrambled eggs - surprisingly good! If that's not enough - ask for fried eggs, they'll come with green salad :) . Tea is good Althaus brand with several flavours - and there's water and juice.

The hotel has a pool area with sauna, jacuzzi and themed showers. The water is clean and warm (just warm enough to be nice but not to warm so that You become too lazy to swim!), the pool is large enough to stretch a little when swimming, there are also several sunbeds and a few warm beds. An excellent place to relax between a conference and, say, official dinner!

The restaurant is very nice, though quite expensive compared to the city prices - even cheese platter is more expensive there than in the bar in the same restaurant! Still the atmosphere is nice, the food is very good, so I guess it is still worth the money.

Also worth noting is that, when the hotel discovered I had birthday during stay, I got a "happy birthday" card and a small sweet snack waiting for me in the afternoon. A very friendly gesture :)

Value for money: for me it is more than excellent, as the hotel was near perfect! It should be noted, however, that Romania is indeed quite cheap compared to other EU countries, and it may have been the cheapest hotel of this category I ever visited.

If I ever visit Oradea privately - I will surely stay in this hotel too!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have a better view and a lot of sun. Also the higher up - the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalGrzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOradea, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for such an extensive report on your last stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea. We are very happy to read about great experiences and especially that the staff made you feel comfortable and as well that you had the opportunity to have a try of all our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back privately as well for an excellent next stay.
Anca Platz, PR executive, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    143
    30
    7
    6
See reviews for
130
129
25
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oradea, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Everything was great! Thank you Double Tree by Hilton Oradea! I have only words of praise about this hotel,staff very well trained and friendly,excellent accommodation, luxurious rooms, maximum cleaning,free wireless,tv, access to the spa, swimming pool, sauna, fitness, relaxing area. Excellent location of the hotel area 10-15 min from the Centre, great wiew to outside:) . The hotel has parking spaces. A szuper hotel !!! ) will definitely come back here with joy ! Thank you DoubleTree Oradea! "My journey called home!"

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maria Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOradea, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great weekend experience in DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea. it was an honor for us having you as our guest as the winner of our Facebook contest so we hope you have enjoyed it to the fullest and come back for more contests and stays. In the meantime safe travels and don't be a stranger.
Anca Platz, PR executive, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Quality beds, good food and drinks, breakfast acceptable. Swimming pool nice and clean with large jacuzzi area, robe and towel provided. I would recommend an apartment on one of the upper levels and you will get a view over the city. Staff very helpful especially maid we had on our floor

Room Tip: ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOradea, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share great words of appreciation referring to your last stay in DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea. We are proud to read you had a try of our caring service and professional staff. Hope this will be a good motivation for a return trip, you will do us great honour.
Anca Platz, PR executive, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My first visit to the Doubletree in Oradea and I stayed 4 nights. This hotel is of an excellent standard throughout. The rooms are of a good size, beds very comfortable and good spec of bathroom. Hotel is quite new and maintained well. Car parking was free of charge. Breakfast was also very good and a nice choice available. I didn't use the hotel restaurant, but did experience the bar food which was very good. Pleasant and attentive staff at reception, bar and at breakfast. The pool is also very good and worth a visit if you have time. WiFi was OK, a little hit and miss, but at least it was free. Good value, quality hotel and a good central location. A complimentary bottle of water in the room would add a nice finishing touch!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FT4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOradea, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Amazing hearing from you and thank you for sharing your last stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea. We are pleased to know each time a guest had a try of our caring hospitality and also for suggestions on how we can improve for your next visit. Come and see Oradea once more and don't miss out on our hotel.
Anca Platz, PR executive, DoubleTree by Hilton Oradea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotel in which I ever stayed in. I cannot tell anything negative about it, It is new or so well-kept it seemed to me new. I travelled with one of my best friends, had wonderful time in the hotel (only one night though). Unfortunately haven't been at the wellness side of the hotel but I will definetely go back this year!

I cannot say a bad word about the breakfast, everything fresh, lots of variation you can choose from!

The location of the hotel is great as well, sits in a beautiful park, with 5-10 minutes walk to the center of Oradea, a short taxi ride to the train station.

The whole experience was 5 stars, it was extraordinary, perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kismaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOradea, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such great words of appreciation with regards to our property and our professional staff. We are pleased each time to read about great experiences in our hotel and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Anca Platz, PR executive, DoubleTree by Hilton Oradea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed one night in January on a business trip. The staff were excellent with good English. The rooms were very good and modern. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent with good knowledge of local wines and the food was above average. A big plus for business travelers is the amazing wifi and internet speeds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icepick48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOradea, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your kinds words shared with all guests about the last amazing experience you ha din DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea. We are very proud to hear about good stays and this makes us even more motivated to provide the best facilities for the future. Don't be a stranger and safe travels in the meantime.
Anca Platz, PR executive, DoubleTree by Hilton Oradea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORADEA, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very nice place, and comfortable, people are very friendly and the breakfast is huge ! Swimming pool is very large you can swim very easely and the SPA is very good (Hamam, Sauna and Jaccusy). The fitness room is good with very good material. you need 10/15 mn to go to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTreeOradea, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
What splendid words of appreciation, we thank you very much for taking the time to share these words and especially we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future with even more outstanding services at your disposal.
Anca Platz, PR executive, DoubleTree by Hilton Oradea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oradea hotels
1.6 mi away
Ramada Oradea
Ramada Oradea
#2 of 24 in Oradea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Forum Oradea
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nevis Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Oradea
Hotel Astoria Oradea
#3 of 24 in Oradea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Hotel Conference & Spa
0.7 mi away
Qiu Hotel Rooms
Qiu Hotel Rooms
#4 of 24 in Oradea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
Address: Aleea Strandului 9, Oradea 410051, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Bihor County > Oradea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Oradea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Oradea is conveniently located in the green area of the city of Oradea, just walking distance away from all major business and leisure attractions as well as the city center. Situated on the river banks of Crisul Repede, Doubletree by Hilton Oradea offers a perfect venue for all business and social gatherings for guests and locals. Our hotel features spacious guest rooms and suites as well as a wide range of guest amenities, generous work surfaces, complimentary high-speed internet access as well as wireless HSIA available throughout the entire public area spaces. Our guests have full use of many services including: •first Eastern Europe's eforea spa by Hilton with 6 treatment rooms, Vichy room and a transition lounge; •an indoor pool and whirlpool, sauna and steam bath •a well-equipped Precor Fitness Room; •24 h Business Center. Unwind in our Cafe Cris lounge&bar floor to ceiling windows facing the river side. Dine at our Mediterranean style restaurant Laurus with its terrace overlooking the quiet river offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Doubletree by Hilton Oradea has multi functional event rooms including conference and board rooms. Check in at DoubleTree by Hilton Oradea and after go outside and visit the surroundings, full of history and architectural beauty. Outside the city, at a few kilometers away is Baile Felix, famous for its hot thermal springs. Be it for business or leisure, DoubleTree by Hilton Oradea is the perfect location in the northwestern part of Romania. Our friendly staff welcomes you with our signature DoubleTree Chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing