We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for one night”
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Iris
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Oradea
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Only 1500 metres from the border with Hungary, this hotel is convenient for those with their own transport. The hot water on the second floor was exceptionally long in coming. I gave up and complained to reception who said to persist and it will come eventually. Couldn't get the TV to get any reception. Wi Fi worked well. Breakfast was the highlight, Multiple choices. I had 'English" which was bacon and eggs with sausages, juice and coffee. Trucks queue up for the border past the front entrance but the night was quiet.

Room Tip: Maybe the hot water will come more quickly on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

I had the chance to stay here with two other Americans, on a trip we took around western Romania. This was a easy place to stay, near enough to the train station - although it's not actually in Oradea, but just outside of it. Either way, the taxi ride was dirt cheap (by our standards), and while the hotel was a little higher than we'd anticipated on spending - they let us stay the night even without a reservation.

The room was very clean, large, and with a nice TV; We were actually surprised at the nice standards of the place, considering we were in eastern Europe. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that in Romania, TV channels - that are showing English programs - are left in English with Romanian subtitles.

The bathroom was nice sized, and all three of us had our own bed. The view was nothing special - just a lot of empty terrain, flat and with plenty of dirt.

The hotel itself was very bright, clean and large - and also quite western looking. The staff was extremely friendly, and I would say that all in all, the price was fair considering everything.

I would highly recommend it to anyone in the area, looking for a comfortable place to stay the night, once again keeping in mind that you are no longer in western Europe. It's definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euroerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

The hotel is not in Oradea - it is a couple of km outside. In fact it is just over the Romanian border - so fine for a first night in Romania. Lots of trucks lining up to leave the country on the road - but were not a problem.

The hotel is perfectly acceptable for a stopover - staff friendly and helpful and the hotel rooms were clean. Very easy to find on the main road - and although you would not want to stay for a few days it is an ideal stopover.

Buy you vignette (road tax) at the border before getting to the hotel as it proved difficult for us to buy at other stations after the hotel. Also change money at the border - the hotel didn't do it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: in alcune camere si sente l'odore della cucina, in altre si sente l'odore di fumo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoDoTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sax1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oradea hotels
1.9 mi away
Ramada Oradea
Ramada Oradea
#2 of 24 in Oradea
272 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oradea
2.8 mi away
Continental Forum Oradea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria Oradea
Hotel Astoria Oradea
#5 of 24 in Oradea
98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Impero
Hotel Impero
#9 of 24 in Oradea
34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Qiu Hotel Rooms
Qiu Hotel Rooms
#3 of 24 in Oradea
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: Soseaua 400 Borsului Road, Oradea, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Bihor County > Oradea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Oradea
Price Range: £20 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing