We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! My group and I loved it!”
Review of Villa Alice

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suceava
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Alice
Ranked #1 of 34 Suceava B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were travelling as a group visiting Romania and Bukovina and decided to book several nights in Suceava. Luckily, we found Villa Alice, which has many types of rooms, all very comfortable and elegantly furnished. We reserved ahead of time from their website and got the 5% discount for online bookings. I really enjoyed the apartment in which I stayed particularly because each room had its own TV (soaps and matches for everyone at the same time!) and also because of the nice view from the large balcony. The others in the group picked 5 star and 4 star rooms and were also delighted with their stay. The receptionist also kindly directed us to some nice restaurants and sights which were all in close walking distance. Also, the buffet breakfast was delicious. As I said before, my group and I loved our stay and will come back here when we'll return to Bukovina.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Very good location, central, with kind and helpful people. As you walk in the reception you can easily notice a big religious painting, a replica of the votive picture of the Voronet Monastery (what a wonderful idea!), and a mini-hall of mirrors which makes the space bigger, but which also made me say „Hi” to myself a couple of times.

However, I was greatly impressed by the room in which I stayed (a giant TV with a Blu-ray disc player and a PC, among other incredible facilities) and also its bathroom. I really liked that you can take a Jacuzzi bath in the two-person tub, but if you get bored of that (not likely) you can always turn on the steam sauna of the additional shower.

I don’t know if this happens every day, but during breakfast there was someone who played live piano for us, beginning with the Ballad of Ciprian Porumbescu, in an original piano version. In the end I also got a book with an autograph from its author (the owner!).

This was the most extraordinary stay I’ve ever had at any hotel I went to so far in the country or abroad. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianIulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Recommended by Romania tourism as amongst the country's "distinctive accommodation". Unlike their other recommendations it was not particularly distinctive. The sort of hotel one images travelling businesspeople would use. That said there was nothing particularly wrong with it and the young man on reception was exceedingly helpful. Copious and good breakfasts (and the local lady serving us seemed perturbed that we were unable to make bigger inroads into her cooking).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandPDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaalice, Manager at Villa Alice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your positive comments from the text of your review which, nevertheless, do not seem to be in accordance with the only three stars out of five rating you gave us. You have stayed in a 4 star guesthouse (bed and breakfast) room which you did not find to be distinctive at all, hence standard. The white solid wood furniture in Louis XV style, a queen-size bed with ergonomic mattress, an 82 cm LCD TV, original paintings in gold leaf frames, a bathroom with a large window, shower cabin with several types of hydro-massage, FM radio, bidet, phone in the bathroom, bathrobes and slippers, balcony etc. seem to you to be standard facilities for a 4 star guesthouse room and all these for less than 35 pounds?

Anyone can find on the Internet the facilities of the rooms from the big 4 or 5 star hotel chains from London or Bucharest (we cannot nominate them here) which often have old, grey and outdated furniture - standard, but for the 1980s or 1990s – with tube TVs also from the 1980s and 1990s, no bidet, no hydro massage, many without phone in the bathroom, no balcony etc. but with prices up to five or even ten times bigger than at Villa Alice.

If you had chosen a 5 star room at Villa Alice, at only 69 euros (about 50 pounds or so) – which is the price of a 2 or 3 star room in your country, you would have noticed that it has some facilities that cannot be found in no hotel room from your country and some other facilities which you cannot find even in the suites of the only hotel in the world regarded as having 7 stars.

We assume that you are actually bothered by the fact that you have found a Romanian place which is superior to a similar English one and much cheaper. We believe that you should start getting used to such things and learn to respect us, especially because for this you only need to be fair-play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spent 1 night in transit visiting the painted chapels in a beautifully appointed, elegant room. Extremely clean and comfortable, good location (although not much in Suceava), family run, eager to please, wifi and good breakfast cooked by mother/grandmother. Large parking lot. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I was asked by the receptionist if I would do another review of our stay which of course I said yes of course.

I have stayed here now three times, and on all occasions it has been excellent.

The last review I did didn't do this place enough justice.

First of all, Villa Alice is very well located in the centre of town. It is extremely easy to find, and is only 10 minutes if that by taxi from Suceava Station (not the Nord One). A taxi from the Airport (Suceava Salcea not Otopeni!) to Villa Alice should cost you know more than 25 RON. It is only a few minutes walk from Villa Alice into Suceava town.

The B&B Itself is very well furnished and decorated, some of the fittings are very plush and are very high quality! We Stayed in a 5* room - expect to find a Jacussi Bath tub, Bidet, along with a Shower with Hydrotherapy settings, radio etc. There was also a 60" Plasma TV which was wonderful to watch movies on at night. There was also a fridge, safe, Personal Computer, and tea and coffee facillities in the room. The last time we came there were no tea and coffee facillities, however, these seem to have appeared from the last review I did, and it shows you how much the staff care about making guests feel most welcome.

The bed linen is some of the best I have ever slept on, with down duvet's and hypo allergenic pillows, which make for a good night's sleep after a very long journey! It is changed every day and cleanliness of the room's were spick and span.

The Staff here do everything possible here to help you, from carrying bags to your room, ordering taxi's. getting florist's numbers you name it - they will do it!

We in particular were impressed with how much the staff work here. One receptionist here in particular (guy with spikey hair saw him in Padrino?) was most pleasant and really made our stay here very pleasant.

Thank you for a very plesant stay and for the bottle of Becuil Domnesc! We'll be back soon!

Places to Eat nearby:

Padrino (short taxi ride) - Italian / Romanian Cuisine- can recommend the Muschi de Vita Gratar
La Fierarie - (short walking distance) - round the corner literally!
Taco Loco - Now Non Stop (24/7) Also short walking distance - Mexican / Portuguese / Romanian Cuisines- excellent food very reasonable - recommed the Coutlet de Porc

Room Tip: All Room's have A/C and Central Heating -take your pick! 5* Rooms have Balconies If travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexfenlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great place with awesome rooms and an excellent location! I definetly recommend this to everyone who wants a central location and luxury rooms! I will keep coming here! great breakfast as well! Also great for families with children

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Bucovina, the Northern part of the former Principality of Moldova, was once part of the Austrian Empire, which is visible in the exterior architecture of Villa Alice, with wooden balconies and charming flower pots, as I saw in the Salzkammergut region, near Salzburg, where I spent a few days. Location is very central, very quiet and surrounded by fir trees. Staff is very welcoming , thoughtful and helpful. But the trump card are the rooms : a symphony in white, in Essene white (supreme Masonic color),in stylish and elegant furniture, bedding, walls, bathroom. Everything is new and very clean. Beds are very comfortable, pillows are soft and duvets are warm , so that sleep is deep and recovery is guaranteed.
Staying in Villa Alice is like living in a dream : beauty, style, elegance, comfort and cleanliness.
And all at affordable prices.
What else could a traveler want ?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boazug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suceava hotels
0.1 mi away
Continental Hotel Suceava
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 12 in Suceava
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Orizont Suceava
Hotel Orizont Suceava
#21 of 34 in Suceava
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balada
Hotel Balada
#2 of 12 in Suceava
31 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pensiunea Alessia
Pensiunea Alessia
#22 of 34 in Suceava
1 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lary Hostel
Lary Hostel
#4 of 13 in Suceava
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alice

Address: 1st bis Simion Florea Marian Street, Suceava, Romania
Region: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Suceava
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Suceava
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Alice has an exceptional location, being situated downtown, but in a quiet place, near the ever-green Simion Florea Marian Park. It is the ideal accommodation in Suceava or Bukovina both for business, cultural or relaxation stays, being close to the main state, city or county institutions, the best restaurants and the important tourist sites. We have a private and secure parking with non-stop video surveillance, 24 hour Reception, central private heating, breakfast room, conference room, sauna, fitness, medical clinic with round the clock medical service and other on demand services. Villa Alice has been completely renewed, now offering you 4 star rooms, 4 star "Belvedere" apartments, as well as – a premiere for Bukovina, but also the northeastern part of Romania – 5 star rooms and bathrooms. These are equipped with 152 cm (60”) Full HD Plasma TV, digital & HD television (over 115 channels), Blu-ray player, personal computer (in the room), wireless and cable Internet access, cold or hot air conditioning, minibar refrigerator, detailed control of the lights also through personal remote controls, smoke detectors etc.. The huge bathrooms have: double tubs with hydro massage and Jacuzzi and a shower cabin with hydro massage and sauna and many more. The furnishings are from white solid wood custom designed for each room in a French style close to the age of Louis XV. Bio and ergonomic mattresses, 100% natural fluffy down blankets, satin cotton bed linen, hypoallergenic pillows etc.. The original paintings in the rooms or hallways present old Suceava in a true exhibition. Everything is new and the prices are affordable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing