We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family-run B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensiunea Leaganul Bucovinei
Ranked #15 of 29 Suceava B&B and Inns
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Friendly family-run B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent two nights here, paying 110 RON for a large double room with (small) bathroom. As previous reviewers have mentioned, it's a bit like staying in someone's house, with quaint decor, lots of bric-a-brac, cats and rabbits, a nice garden and a relaxed feel.

The owners are easy-going and accomodating. We ate breakfast and dinner in their restaurant. The former costs 15 RON for a rather large platter of eggs, cheese, sausage etc. but they were happy to provide me with just coffee and toast as I requested. Dinner was a bit hit-and-miss since a large menu is provided but obviously all the dishes are not available and you might want to order ahead of time to give them time to prepare. It's hearty family cooking but at restaurant prices.

The B&B is situated on a busy-ish road, close to a shopping centre (the Galleria, which has a supermarket, a pub/bar, cash machine and various shops devoid of customers). It's a half-hour walk into town or you can take public transport. Once you're in town, it's another 20 minutes to the fortress ruins (path by the MacDonalds). Taxi to the train station which is a bit further out costs around 15-17 RON.

We went on the painted monastery tour offered by our hosts (Euro 50 per person to five monasteries) which was very enjoyable, with Alina translating into English the fount of information provided by her father who was driving.

This is a simple but comfortable place to stay in Suceava with kind, welcoming hosts.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I do not usually stay at B&B's which Leaganul Bucovinei calls itself so am not sure if it's as unique as it seemed to me. Since I am roaming about the Balkan region with different hotels almost every day this was a treat in one direction--the "going home to visit the family" direction. It is a charming place--a big old house with the family heirlooms all about, the wild tree-filled backyard with tables set out to eat and the food purely fresh from the garden, orchard and dairy. The family that owns/manages the hotel is kind, warm, accomodating. I went on a Painted Monastery tour with Andy and somehow we communitcated in a friendly and informative fashion with my 27 words of French, etc. The location is a bit on the edge of town if you really wanted to roam about the city but cabs are plentiful. My room was sweet and old-fashioned, worked well with the exception of a strange mattress and no screen on the window which, since I love open windows, did result in a mosquito visitor (although I don't think he/she bit). It is lovely and worth a visit even aside from the beauty of the region.

Room Tip: Maybe ask about the mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roresand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had a great time visiting this gorgeous area and enjoyed our stay to this family run place.Our room was clean and confortable with an on suite bath and with a little terrace facing the garden. Our hosts are indeed very, very nice people, they welcomed us and gave us a lot of attention right from the start.
We liked this place, the garden is absolutely darling, with beautiful flowers, fruit trees, and blueberry bushes. For children's enjoyment there are bunnies to play with and a large swing for both parents and children.B
The location is convenient, the are several public transportation options available to get around town or the area.
We also used the monasteries tours provided by our host and they worked out perfectly for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbydor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

All in all, a very positive experience. Well situated if you have a car. The family that owns the place really tries to make your stay comfortable. The lady even gave us fresh pears from their garden the morning we left ! The food was very good, but a little bit expensive comparing to the price of the room. The room was large, very clean, quiet, with a private bathroom. The only negative point was the mattress which was really uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodolapierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria-Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

The staff was very friendly. The room was large and comfortable. The place is very properly situated, not in the city center but near from it and with a very good service of city buses. The price is very correct.
A very good basis to explore the region of Bukovina

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granada45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

Three of us visited Suceava for a couple of days, and had a warm and considerate welcome from the Leaganul Bucovinei Pension. We had a magnificent suite with original decor, plenty of space for all three of us and our own bathroom, plus excellent breakfasts and dinners for when we came back weary from Painted Monasteries. And our host kindly took us to and from the station. The Pension is on the outskirts of town but near enough for exploring on bus and foot, and in the midst of green gardens.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Suceava hotels
1.6 mi away
Continental Hotel Suceava
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnenhof
Hotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 12 in Suceava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rapsodia Pension
Rapsodia Pension
#2 of 29 in Suceava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Orizont Suceava
Hotel Orizont Suceava
#19 of 29 in Suceava
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Balada
Hotel Balada
#3 of 12 in Suceava
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pensiunea Scorpion Suceava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiunea Leaganul Bucovinei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Leaganul Bucovinei

Property: Pensiunea Leaganul Bucovinei
Address: Bulevardul Vicoveanca Sofia Nr. 18, Suceava 720285, Romania
Region: Romania > Northeast Romania > Suceava County > Suceava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Suceava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensiunea Leaganul Bucovinei 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leaganul Bucovinei boutique hotel Suceava was founded in 2003. It is a pretty building, surrounded by trees and quiet gardens, situated in the green, residential area of Suceava (at the entry to the town when coming from Bucharest, on the left-hand side). It is very easily accessible with a 10-15 min walk to the town center and great positioning for outbound travel. The 8 rooms and 2 suites available are fully fitted to modern standards, with en-suite bathroom, shower, hot running water 24h. There is complimentary WiFI Internet access for all our guests. Parking is available within the inner premises and is secure. Our boutique hotel is a welcoming retreat. The colourful garden and shady trees provide a cosy landscape for our guests in Suceava. We also have facilities for barbecues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensiunea Leaganul Bucovinei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing