We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...travel through time...”
Review of Hotel de la Poste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Poste
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Piraeus, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“...travel through time...”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

..really enjoyed my 2 day stay at Hotel de la Poste. Excellent location, very well maintained and clean rooms although a bit outdated (in a strange way it adds to the old charm).
A beautiful colonial patio with nice plants and a very friendly staff.
The swimming pool right across from the main building is a great place to relax after a day's exploration.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covaltio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    49
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
31
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel certainly has a lot of history to offer, which is definitely a part of the charm, but apart from this, I was positively surprised by the cosy, clean and inviting common areas and the friendliness of the staff. The location is also excellent, straight in the middle of the main island of St Louis, at the waterfront, with walking distance to most things you could be interested in in this city.

We stayed 5 people in an apartment in the hotel, which was really nice as we had two bedrooms and a big living room with a kitchenette and a very nice view (only curtains separating the rooms, no doors). We had to fight a bit to get any sort of equipment (glasses, plates) to the kitchenette which I found a bit strange. Rooms were clean, but with the African simplicity and "rawness".

Breakfast not included, it was ok, quite simple with some non-impressive croissants/pain chocolat, egg and a yoghurt.

Overall a very pleasant stay though perhaps a little bit overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetraPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

A truly charming and atmospheric experience, that captures the simple beauty of Saint-Louis. The rooms are as plain and raw as one should expect in this part of the world, but the charming staff, and lovely restaurant bring a glowing sense of harmony and comfort to any visitor to this curious little corner of Africa, where Colonial Ruins mingle with the everyday life
of these simple fisherman and their families, along the waterfront. A most fascinating experience for real travelers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHeinzNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Checked in during the night in a 4th fl. rm.. Climbing the staircases, hearing convulsions of voices and music I thought I was staying in a Hostel or tenement. At morning light, I opened the curtain and saw I was gifted w/ a breathtaking panoramic view that almost gave the feeling of being on the waterfront. Situated between the Atlantic Ocean/ Senegal Riverside w/ the Isle partially flooded, it felt as if I was uncovering the window of a Oceanliner's stateroom. The blind stairways, floor elevation changes and walks winding down to the Courtyard and into the Lobby with its photos and artifacts reflecting a era gone but preserved greeted with a Breakfast a step above Continental

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneHellavaRride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monein, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

After driving from England this place is a wonderful oasis. I Stay here or at least call in for a drink every time I'm in St Louis. Charming - evocative - atmospheric - friendly..... I love the place

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogerthebodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Louis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residence
Hotel La Residence
#1 of 13 in Saint-Louis
96 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
#2 of 13 in Saint-Louis
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cap
Hotel Cap
#5 of 13 in Saint-Louis
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Diamarek on the beach
Hotel Diamarek on the beach
#6 of 13 in Saint-Louis
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siki Hotel
Siki Hotel
#3 of 13 in Saint-Louis
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Maison Rose
La Maison Rose
#7 of 13 in Saint-Louis
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Poste

Property: Hotel de la Poste
Address: Bp. 48, Saint-Louis 46024, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Saint-Louis Region > Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Poste 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Poste Senegal/Saint-Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing