We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the classic Saint-Louis Hotels”
Review of Hotel La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Residence
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is not as old as some, dating only from the 1950's. It's Aeropostale themed decor help give it a pleasant ambiance.
Clean rooms, decent breakfast, generally good restaurant, plus live music, often jazz, once or twice a week. WiFi works but is spotty in places.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel La Residence for 6 days during New Year's and found it to be a wonderful base from which to explore Saint-Louis.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the building itself is an old French administrative building. However, it is kept in an austere, but tip-top condition. My room was simple but very clean and well-maintained. I had no issues with any of the facilities in the room. There was an air conditioner, but even in the middle of the day, the ceiling fan was completely sufficient. There is a large atrium in the center of the building that overlooks the restaurant and most of the rooms face it. With this arrangement, it could get a bit noisy in the evening, but not unbearably so.

The location is very good - it's not far from Pont Faidherbe. I drove up from Dakar in a rental car and was able to leave it in front of the hotel where a careful eye was kept on it by the hotel's security guard. Moreover, it's a great location for walking around Saint-Louis.

The hotel restaurant is very good. A friend who had stayed there had recommended it and it did not dissapoint even though I went there multiple times. The breakfast was basic continental. They will make eggs or an omelette if you wish.

The staff really helped to make the stay very pleasant. They were always friendly and patient with my French and, if they sensed I was really struggling would speak more slowly (in fact, this is a big difference between France and Senegal). Several of the staff also speak English quite well, so communication was never an issue.

Finally, I got sick one day and the cleaning woman very kindly checked in on me from time to time (but not too often) just to make sure I was okay.

All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereverIMayRoam5074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We only used the restaurant and did not stay at this hotel over night, but we were very happy with the friendly and professional service and the quality if our food. The design of the restaurant is very colonial and you feel transported back in time in a very nice way. There is a court yard setting with nice art work so that the stay becomes a discovery for various senses.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SigInDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My husband and I had 2 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are quite basic but we had a room off the roof terrace and it was lovely. There was a bit of noise from the neighbouring water pipe but the room was otherwise quiet and private as no-one used the terrace during our stay The highlight of the hotel is the restaurant. Both the food and the staff were superb. We ate every lunch and dinner here as it was so good it seemed silly to go elsewhere. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs for the water pipe but room 300 was well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himawari1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Although lodged in a old french administrative building this hotel has a great personality. The rooms are basic, without frills, but the bar and restaurant are a must. The expresso coffee was great and the restaurant has very nice quality

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camilo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

During my recent round trip to Senegal, I spent one night at this little hotel. The rooms are very basic and so are the bathrooms. Staff were nice. Breakfast was very simple and dinner was acceptable (booked with dinner included).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisiosAlbufeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

In terms of accommodation, this hotel was a little out of our price range, so we ended up staying somewhere else. However, while wandering St. Louis, we were charmed by the great decor and atmosphere of this hotel and decided to try it out for lunch. Lucky us because this turned out to be one of the best meals we had in a trip filled with great food.

We came back another night and hung out in the bar. Both times the service was impeccable. Make sure you try their signature drink - the Marquise - it is incredibly delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0madsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Louis hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
#1 of 13 in Saint-Louis
200 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Diamarek on the beach
Hotel Diamarek on the beach
#6 of 13 in Saint-Louis
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siki Hotel
Siki Hotel
#3 of 13 in Saint-Louis
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#4 of 13 in Saint-Louis
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Cap
Hotel Cap
#5 of 13 in Saint-Louis
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Rose
La Maison Rose
#8 of 13 in Saint-Louis
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residence

Address: 159 Rue Blaise Diagne, Saint-Louis 46024, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Saint-Louis Region > Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Louis
Price Range: £52 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architectural charming hotel, from fiftie's, situated in the heart of the historic island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Residence Senegal/Saint-Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing