We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jamm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Louis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jamm
Ranked #3 of 19 Saint-Louis B&B and Inns
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

My adult son and I arrived for two nights in November and found a gracious owner, space and staff. The rooms have all the comforts of AC, flat screen TV, separate WC and tub/sink room with large earthen ware soaking tup and mod shower head, speedy free wireless, fridge with soda, beer, water for a small fee, ceiling fans; we did not use the first two items -- they worked, just did not need them -- but the rest were welcome. The high ceilings that accomodate a ladder to a twin bedded sleeping loft let us share the room comfortably. Beautiful bedding and furniture, lots of local art and space true to the pictures made the stay all the better. With delicious meals, easy conversation in French and English, helpful suggestions for guides to bird sactuary and the fishing villages as well as art galleries -- all orchestrated by owner Yves Lamour -- we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Also try the restaurant across the street for boxing history and Spanish food with fresh ingredients and graceful decor. Would love to come again for a week of writing/sitting in the third floor sun deck and exploring the environs.

Room Tip: The "green" room has both a balcony onto the quiet side street and onto the interior court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fr57ances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
27
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

One of the best experiences in Senegal. Hotel is beautiful, staff is welcoming and the owner, Yves Lamour does everything to make you feel at home. He was found an excellent guide to the Djoudj National Bird Sanctuary. Highest recommendation!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 545Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This small hotel is very nice, the building has been restored beautifully, and it's full of interesting objects. The owner is very helpful, very friendly. it was a shame we were staying there just for 1 night. Everything was working very well, and itwasvery quiet at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Jamm hotel is a gem as is the owner Yves. When we arrived he made us feel absolutely welcome.
The rooms were fantastic and clean. The interior decor was warm and had a great energy.
Yves made us feel like were were "a home away from home". Introduced us to a wonderful guide who took us arround St Louis. Yves personally took us around to Art galaries in his own vehicle. We were really surprised to see such amazing art galaries in Senegal.
The restaurants he suggested were all wonderful.
Thank you Yves for making this an absolutely amazing holiday. I will be back at your hotel I loved it so much.

I am really sorry I did not take any pictures of the interior of the rooms to show how beautiful they were

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We had been told about Jamm on my first trip and went to check it out before our return a month later. The place is amazing. The decor is wonderful and is kept in excellent order. The owners are fantastic and went out of their way to make our stay a great one. The food is the best in Saint Louis (or almost anywhere, the in-house chef is incredible). In my opinion (and from the feedback I got from my fellow travellers) this is one of the best best places to stay, not only in Senegal but the whole of West Africa. If you are in the area and miss this you are making a big mistake!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

The Jamm is a beautiful building in the middle of Saint-Louis. Everybody there treated me with great warmth and kindness. The food is absolutely wonderful too. My hosts were extremely kind and generous - well beyond the call of duty. The Jamm is a treat - enjoy!

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamindemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

One feels fortunate to stay in the very heart of this amazing city, in a wonderfully and artistically rehabilitated ancient home delicately furnished with high-quality African artifacts.
The host provides ample and precious organisational advice for visits and out of town trips. His back-up is a great asset to any visitor.The meals are something to look forward to, especially as one finds oneself engaged with other captivating guests. The staff -two wonderful ladies - make wonderful company any time in the day. It truly was a wonderful experience that we think is worth sharing!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proiettis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Louis hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Residence
Hotel La Residence
#1 of 13 in Saint-Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
#2 of 13 in Saint-Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#3 of 13 in Saint-Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Maison Rose
La Maison Rose
#7 of 13 in Saint-Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siki Hotel
Siki Hotel
#4 of 13 in Saint-Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Rogniat Nord
Hotel Le Rogniat Nord
#11 of 13 in Saint-Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamm

Property: Jamm
Address: Angle Rue Paul/Abdoulaye Seck Marie Parsine | BP 667, Saint-Louis, Senegal
Region: Senegal > Saint-Louis Region > Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four rooms "guest house" located in the center of the historical island of Saint-Louis.On demand, diner for the guests. Ancient house refurbished in 2008 with all the commodities of the XXI° century (Jacuzzi, WIFI, air conditionning). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jamm Senegal/Saint-Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing