We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Mermoz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mermoz on the beach
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Louis
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Mermoz for 11 days and I have nothing but positive remarks regarding this hotel. It is very important while commenting on a hotel to include de staff ; the staff at Hotel Mermoz have to be the friendliest people I met in St-Louis of Senegal. The service was very good : anytime I had a need of something, I only had to wait 3 minutes till I received what I had asked a member of the staff for.
Also, he restaurant at the Hotel Mermoz, I have heard, happens to be one of the best in the who.e of the city. This does not in any way surprise me, as for 11 days, I ate like a King : the food was excellent and was varied, which allows you you eat differently every meal. The menu had a lot of choice also.
The Hotel Mermoz is by far one of the best hotels in town, for the simple reason that is is located right in between the river and the Atlantic Ocean, which allowed me, and the other guests, to have the best of both worlds, a priviledge found in no other hotels in St-Louis.
Overall, my experiences at the Hotel Mermoz a nothing but great memories and I encourage any visitors looking for a shelter in St-Louis to stay at the Hotel Mermoz, because it is by miles the one of the best hotels in the old french colonial capital.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Calum James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Hotel Mermoz is a nice beach property with a good vibe. The rooms are a bit sparse, and a bit of decor and updating would be nice. For instance, the mosquito net was not the right size for the bed, and kept pulling up during the night. Staff are friendly but need prompting about towels, cleaning, etc. Breakfast is nice - fresh fruit would be much appreciated instead of the cut fruit from the tin. Fixing these room and service issues should be easy, as the hotel already has a good base, but that lowers the overall score for now.

Mermoz is a bit far from Saint Louis, meaning a bit more negotiation with the taxi's. It's not too expensive to get there, just CFA 500-1000 more, but some drivers do not want to go, or might ask ridiculous amounts.

The only problem with Saint Louis is the trash that is everywhere. For a tourist destination, the city needs to focus on keeping the garbage off the roads, and out of the ocean. Hotel Mermoz has a good property, but the actual beach front is full of plastic debris from the town. That is the second reason for the slightly lower score.

Overall, I do recommend Mermoz for a visit, allowing you to see the city and step away to a quiet beach property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaviAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed at Mermoz for 3 nights in April 2013. Fine, clean room, nice pool, good restaurant and nice bar area as well. Nice secluded setting on the beach, although the beach was quite dirty with litter in some parts and the waves were a bit rough for swimming, was still beautiful for walking, or going horseback riding along! Taxis to and from the center of town were easy enough to find, and there were also nearby local restaurants. Unfortunately the reception staff was a bit hit or miss on the hospitality and helpfulness. Paying the bill was difficult as after many attempts, their card reader turned out not to be working, so the front desk staff had us go to the nearest ATM (in the center of town) quite late at night (not offering to pay for the taxi fare either). Staff were also not readily helpful in helping us to arrange transportation to leave early in the morning, nor with our "free jacuzzi" which was a nice touch for guests staying 2 nights or more, but unfortunately was cold and we were left to figure out how to turn it on ourselves (the buttons were broken so we had to turn switches in the cable box). Overall a nice setting and accommodations, but staff could definitely be more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophiesaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Was there in the mid of a motorbike tour by AnM. You can not beleive after the harbour and the worst spots of St.Louis there is an oasis of pleasure. Wide rooms, nice pool but you you wanna have a great experience, dive into the ocean waves.
Average the reastaurant, we did expected something more tipical.
A must hotel if are in town.
The Djoudj Bird Reserve deserves a visit but do not expect so much. We had a great lunch instead at the Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fif_dot_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I liked the room. It had a view, which I didn't ask for. It had a flat-screen television set as well -- I didn't ask for that either. The room was spacious; I didn't need that, though. In short, although I had booked the least expensive room over the phone, and they certainly understood that because the person who took my booking clarified that there were more expensive rooms with views -- and I confirmed that I neither wanted, nor needed that. They upgraded me anyway, and I got stuck with the bill. Hence, regardless of any of this resort's attributes, it gets a big FAIL.

A hotel is first and foremost in the service industry. A hospitality company that does not heed the wishes of its customers will never be successful. I hope that Hotel Mermoz learns that short-term greed will not pay off in the end. I just moved to Senegal and will live here for three years, but I will never, ever return to Hotel Mermoz.

Room Tip: Make sure and insist on getting the room that you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
3  Thank Kristine_Archi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMermoz, Directeur général at Hotel Mermoz on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013
Google Translation

Hello,
Your comment is incredible! This is the first time in 18 years that a customer is upset by what the hotel has FREE placed in the best room of the hotel and get a very negative comments ... Have you booked a cheap room at 21 € you paid 21 € and you disposed of a superior room facing the sea with a value of € 67 and you're not happy ...
I think you made ​​a joke ...
Anyway, I present to you our apologies for believing in you to make you happy outperforming FREE.

Bonjour,
votre commentaire est incroyable ! C’est la première fois en 18 ans qu’un client est fâché par ce que l’hôtel l’a placé GRATUITEMENT dans la meilleur chambre de l’hôtel et reçois un commentaire extrêmement négatif … Vous avez réservé une chambre économique à 21 € , vous avez payé 21 € et vous avez disposé d’une chambre supérieure face à la mer d’une valeur de 67 € et vous n’êtes pas content …
Je crois que vous nous faite une farce …
Quoi qu’il en soit, je vous présente toutes nos excuses pour avoir cru vous faire plaisir en vous surclassant GRATUITEMENT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The rooms here were good, the location great if you want to be just out of the town (yellow taxis shuld cost 1000 francs). Buffet breakfast better than many Senegal hotels though coffee poor - ask for a Lavazza from the bar! A few things not so impressive - reception staff mainly surly; bar staff much better. The hotel restaurant is convenient, so we used it a few times, but overpriced by Saint Louis standards; much better places in town. Also bar and general drinks prices even more than Hotel La Poste in Saint Louis; the location here is are good but bar prices are not displayed so beware if you're adding everything to your hotel bill. And watch out for the 4% additional fee they want to charge if you pay by card on departure! I disputed this, especially as reception had advised I pay this way without mentioning the 4%.

Room Tip: Great view of the ocean from some rooms; book in advance if you want this. Note - not safe for swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LFF549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

A very nice bungalow on the beach which is wild not for swimming. You have to like dogs as they roam around but don't bother you. Easy to get into Saint Louis by taxi 10 minutes.
Was not impressed with the restaurant, nice pool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Louis hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Diamarek on the beach
Hotel Diamarek on the beach
#6 of 13 in Saint-Louis
61 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Residence
Hotel La Residence
#4 of 13 in Saint-Louis
115 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel de la Poste
Hotel de la Poste
#2 of 13 in Saint-Louis
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Cap
Hotel Cap
#5 of 13 in Saint-Louis
71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Siki Hotel
Siki Hotel
#3 of 13 in Saint-Louis
82 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Rogniat Nord
Hotel Le Rogniat Nord
#10 of 13 in Saint-Louis
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermoz on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermoz on the beach

Address: Route de l'Hydrobase, Saint-Louis 99999, Senegal
Phone Number:
Region: Senegal > Saint-Louis Region > Saint-Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Saint-Louis
Price Range: £36 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mermoz on the beach 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mermoz Saint- Louis, Senegal , distant from the city center only 3.5 Km, is situated on the most beautiful sandy beach of the Langue de Barbarie sand, a narrow strip of sand between the Atlantic Ocean and the Senegal River , in an area that also sported ornate 2.3 Hectares where life is good . These 40 rooms scattered in the countryside are divided into 3 categories to suit all types of budgets and provide equal access for all infrastructure of the hotel. Each has a private bathroom with hot water and is provided with the phone and WiFi. The high category rooms , most of which face the ocean, air-conditioned ( split system therefore silent ) and have satellite television with ten channels including 8 French . This is the ideal place for those who want to combine beach holiday and stay discovery in a relaxed family atmosphere. It will suit the whole family, to all generations . Even businessmen will find them through our beautiful air-conditioned seminar room , facing the ocean, up to 120 people. If , for you, the holidays are : a comfortable, good food , sun , ocean , pool , beauty treatments , various excursions? You are in the right place , you access it all without leaving the hotel . Want more activities ? Horse riding, table tennis , board games , library , quad and many other things are available . Want excursions? The famous city of St. Louis is close , classified World Heritage by Unesco , it will charm you . Excursions , many and varied , are available from the hotel. See here. You want us to take care of you ? Our comprehensive aesthetic center with hammam, jacuzzi, massage , facials , hands and feet ... Is pleasantly integrates with hotel facilities and fill you with happiness ... At local rates ... Check all sections of the site and do not hesitate to contact us . See you soon ... In Mermoz , you will not regret it ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermoz on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermoz Hotel Saint Louis
Hotel Mermoz On The Beach Senegal/Saint-Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing