We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that tries to please everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Budva
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A hotel that tries to please everyone”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel has a bit of everything, and what is quite impressive is that it achieves that rather well.
The hotel is situated within the historical town, which is a beautiful location though tends to be noisy. However, the hotel at the very entrance to the centre, so it is probably as quiet as that area can be. It also doesn't have many rooms (my guess is about 15-20) so the hotel itself feels peaceful.
The building on the outside is beautiful old stone, while inside it's rather modern. Rooms are very very spacious, well appointed and clean. Historical buildings tend to have plumbing issues - this was not a problem here at all.
Breakfast is served until 1pm which is a huge advantage when staying out late. We had our breakfasts right on the beach - the hotel has got its own private beach which is clean and well maintained.
The staff is polite and very helpful in arranging parking tickets, sourcing boat tours and making restaurant reservations.
The roof-top balcony looked amazing, however the prices did put us off and we never ate there. The only other thing that may be considered negative is the loud music being played at the next door beach from mid-morning to late afternoon.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the street. it's not as noisy as one would expect, however try to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slav103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    66
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
37
99
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berg
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The hotel was perfectly located within the old town. The accommodation was boutique style and ultra chic. Our room comprised of a living area, large bedroom and a large separate bathroom complete with spa.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Very well located, great use of space within Budva 'Old City', very helpful staff with great restaurants. Very flexible breakfast option until 1pm and check out at 12pm. You really feel party of old town although rooms well appointed and modern.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The Astoria Budva is perfectly positioned, just inside the city wall but with direct access to a beach. The staff were astonishingly friendly which made a real difference to the stay. You have a choice of where to take breakfast, for us this was always the restaurant on the beach.
This was our first visit to Budva, but I can't imagine why anyone would want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Reading previous internet reviews concerning the noise level I specifically booked a room on the 2nd floor and with a city view. However, upon arrival we were placed in a room on the 1st floor facing the air condition head unit. Note that in these rooms you can not have the windows open due to the noise from the unit. Despite having our agreement in writing the hotel manager could not move us to the agreed room due to the hotel being fully booked. Neither did we receive a discount. After a few nights we were moved to the 2nd floor but still facing the air condition head unit. If I would have known this beforehand I would have booked another hotel.

Rooms are dark with few lights and generally cheap fixtures and fittings. Overall room standards are poor in comparison to Western Europe.

Breakfast was good with a great variety as we were able to order from the full hotel menu. The view from the roof terrace was spectacular, however, the food and service was average to poor. Having found fish scales in my beef salad I barely received a sorry from the waiter and no new dish or discount was offered.

Beach chairs can be used for 10 EUR per day, however, be aware of the loud disco music being played in the afternoons and the dirty water with rubbish floating around.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HannaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. Located just through the gates of this beautiful and quaint walled city check in was easy. The friendly staff looked after us and we were soon sat outside by the beach drinking a cold drink whilst our room was made ready. The staff were fantastic. The breakfast was excellent and the ability to swim in the warm sea steps away from the hotel was a big bonus. This is a great location in an old town full of character. We had dinner in the hotel itself on two of the nights and we were not dissappointed the food was excellent and reasonably priced.With luxury yachts in the harbour and a feel good atmosphere in the square by the town this area can only become more popular. A great stay.

Room Tip: Although sea view rooms are limited it makes little difference as the location by the sea is excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKingdom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for one night during our quick jaunt to Montenegro. The location in Budva was excellent, it was within the walls of the old city and the restaurant is right on the beach. The rooms were decent, the bathrooms were quite large. We did have an issue where we could hear the HVAC system but with the window closed we couldn't hear anything. It was the most expensive place we stayed during our trip and would didn't think it was quite worth the money, it was however decent and I would recommend it for anyone going to Budva.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vv212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#5 of 24 in Budva
155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Star
Hotel Blue Star
#7 of 24 in Budva
88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dukley Hotel & Resort
Dukley Hotel & Resort
#23 of 24 in Budva
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Lux
Vila Lux
#11 of 24 in Budva
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
#10 of 24 in Budva
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Bojana
Hotel Villa Bojana
#1 of 24 in Budva
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Boutique Hotel

Property: Astoria Boutique Hotel
Address: Njegoseva 4 | Old Town, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Budva
#5 Luxury Hotel in Budva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Budva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing