We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay in budva”
Review of Vila Lux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Lux
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is basic but cheap, we paid €92 bed and breakfast for a clean room, nice service in a hotel in he centre of budva. It also has space for cars, ideal for one or two nights but wouldn't stay longer as it is a bit old fashioned and quite small? We were pleased with the hotel and would definitely recommend it as in budva you are unlikely to spend much time in the room anyway!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frasanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

I have been to this hotel in July 2011 for one week. I will review it per category:

1) Location: right on New Budva's main street, this means two things: the hotel is just 10 minutes walking distance from Budva Old Town, where all fun is going on; the negative part is that all possible trucks and cars on Montenegro's roads pass under your window.

2) Room: my room was noisy. As I said, this depends on the location of the hotel, which sits on the busiest street in all Montenegro. At 7am I was already awake, either because of the noise or because there is no possibility whatsoever to shade the window. The room was ok in terms of size, actually we used it just to sleep.
The room service was almost completely missing: they never made the bed and the only thing they apparently did was to change the towels in the toilet. Once I had to go to the reception to get a toilet paper roll because it was almost over and no new one was put in the morning. My girlfriend also noticed that the bed linens were quite used, meaning old.
Air con was ok.

3) Breakfast: it was quite random for me. I am italian and I like to have something sweet for breakfast. The poor buffet featured very cheap cured ham or ham steak slices, cheese, very cheap sausages and scrambled eggs, bread and jam (one flavour, red fruits). Additional items were available upon payment of extra cost.

4) Staff: the guys at the reception were very kind and helpful, speaking quite good English. Once there was no parking available for my car in front of the hotel, and the Bosnian guy who was at the reception took me to the garage they have on the other side of the street. Very kind and friendly.

5) Wi-fi: they have a wi-fi service but I do not know how it works because I have never used it.

To sum up, if you go to Montenegro just to visit this wonderful country and do not care about noise, light waking you up at 7am, not tidy room, or whatever breakfast you can stay for some days here. If you want also a pleasant accomodation, this hotel is not for you. It was maybe acceptable 10 years ago. Now it seems it is just trying to survive,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neri_Partanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We arrived by car from Croatia and chose it for its location close to town and free parking. However, upon arrival we were disappointed that it was on a busy road and the surroundings looked dubious. The hotel looked basic. There was no lift in the hotel either.
Our fears were confirmed when we went to our room. The bed was hard, the sheet covers were frayed and the room was facing the road and even with the balcony door closed, we could hear the noise coming through clearly. It was so bad in fact, that I could hardly sleep due to the traffic noise all through the night. The room also smelt of cigarette smoke.
The bathroom wasnt great either - the shower was small and dripped constantly, towels were old & stained and there was a lack of toiletries.
We were told there was free wifi, but we could not connect to it in our room!
The TV in the room was tiny.
Breakfast was reasonably basic with some cereal, scrambled eggs, sausages and cold meats/cheese.
I was glad we only stayed there 1 night and wouldnt recommend this hotel. I would also not rate this hotel a 3 star but a 2 star.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euro_Traveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Even the hotel is on the main road from Bar to Kotor, is very quiet. The location is nice close to the beach and the bars. The service was pleasant the breakfast was standart.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magistros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: От второго этажа, обязательно с балконом.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 894denis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris8888777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank nertila87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Star
Hotel Blue Star
#6 of 25 in Budva
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#4 of 25 in Budva
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria Boutique Hotel
Astoria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 25 in Budva
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Bojana
Hotel Villa Bojana
#1 of 25 in Budva
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Podostrog
Hotel Podostrog
#13 of 25 in Budva
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Lux

Address: Jadranski put bb, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Lux 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing