We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saki Hostel--Extra Effort Included”
Review of Saki Apartmani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saki Apartmani
Ranked #16 of 299 Speciality Lodging in Budva
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Saki, himself and his entire family go the extra effort to accommodate their guests.
1. Breakfast
Saki's mother's breakfast is THE JEWEL of the stay. Breakfast is just a few extra euros charge and its VERY worth it. Its several courses included eggs, and homemade pastries.
2. Saki picked us up at the bus station when we arrived.
3. Saki has a day boat and toured us around Budva Bay, Stari Stepan, and St Nickolas island.
4. Saki helped my friend download her photos via the internet on his personal computer.
5. Room was large and modern. It included a refrigerator.
Noise is to be expected for a beach town with a family living in the same building. Sounds shut down early but the sun and noise rises early too.
Room could be cleaned more frequently, towels replaced, and toilet paper replenished, etc.

Room Tip: Family lives on top level, kitchen is located on ground floor, so pick a floor in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cargo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

I was really disappointed with this place. A dorm bed cost 18 euro, compared to other places in the town which were between 10 and 15. I stayed here for one night because I couldn't get an extra night in the original hostel I stayed in.
The dorm room was really dirty, mostly because there were far too many beds in one room (about 20 I think). The bathroom was disgusting, dirty and tiny, and you could rarely get into it anyway because it was shared between two dorm rooms (over 20 people). It was hot and noisy and unpleasant. There was a small common area (two couches squashed into a tiny room), and there were people sleeping on them too, so you couldn't use it.
On the plus side, the staff were very friendly.
The worst thing about this hostel was the location. It was a 25 minute walk uphill from the bus station and 20 minutes uphill from the closest beach. But if you wanted to go to a nice beach or to the old town it was at least 45 minutes walk, maybe more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegSCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sakibudva, Inhaber at Saki Apartmani, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Hi there,
We are sorry you did not like staying at our place. Our biggest dorm room has 8 beds, and we suppose the increased number of beds you've seen may have had something to do with the fact you checked in at 4:30 am, a bit.. shall we say... intoxicated? The bathroom, we guarantee, was perfectly clean before you thrown up, but we understand you may have been a bit pressed for time to pay any attention before being sick. As for the noise you heard, unless it was other, family minded guests coming to complain over your throwing up and banging into furniture, we would like to know the name of the drink you had. We have some strong spirits here but that particular one sounds like a blast! :) You are welcome to come back any time and maybe check the number of the beds in the dorm room again ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is a fantastic place for people traveling. We felt so welcomed in the apartments and had an amazing room. The offer of home-made meals for dinner for 5euros is amazing and everything is fresh :) Saki and his family are incredibly friendly. Large, clean rooms and a rooftop bar, we would recommend this to anyone who goes to Budva and doesnt want to stay in one of the massive hotel complexes!! Thanks Saki and family for an amazing stay!!

p.s. although it seems far away on a map of Budva, its only a 15min walk to the old town, 5 to the beach and all the other apartments and hostels are in the same area, so Sakis is the best!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Saki's Apartments are situated in a 3-floor building very close to the central beach of Buvda (about 5-10 minutes driving time from the old city)

It is kind of an upgraded hostel, with a couple of independed appartments if you wish not to be distructed by foreigners.

We stayed in 2 of these appartments, the suite (far from being one though) on the third floor and the new appartment on the first floor.

The suite is spacious and looks like a forest house (wooden walls, etc), it is quite calm and quiet, but looks a bit old. It can accomodate up to 5 people

the apartment on the first floor is renovated, and looks really cute, with 2 double beds (beware, there is only one room!) and a nice new bathroom. Furniture is a bit outdated but in general it is a good choice.

In the ground floor, one can have the option to take breakfast (average, but homemade) for only 3 euros a day.

As a conclusion, I would say that Saki' s appartments is a very good (and cheap) choice for young travellers, especially friends, situated in a good spot in the center of Budva.

Beware though, that I wouldn't characterize it a "party hotel" like most hostels, since I mostly saw families occupying the rooms.

Room Tip: The independent appartment on the first floor is very nice: Renovated, clean, tidy, spacious and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abyayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Saki's family is really one of a kind in Montenegro : they do everything possible to make you feel at home. From 6 am (and even earlier !) until midnight (and even later !), they will be able able to provide you with :
- any information you need about Budva/Montenegro/and even further
- someone who speaks german
- good food for small price
- cheap drinks on a cosy roof top
- cheap taxi ride, thay are even able to pick you up at Duborvnik or Podgorica !
- boat trip
- shower-repairing
- advices on best spots and best beaches
- finding a lost phone in few hours ;-)
Yes, Saki and his team are always full of ressources to make you enjoy your stay. They give full sense to the expression "GUEST house", as they're always making sure you have everything you need.
The place is nice, clean, with a great roff-top chill-out bar/restaurant Rooms are pretty big with air-conditionning.
It is easy to get to the sea by walk, but you can also have one of Saki's friends or a taxi driving you anywere you'd like for almost nothing and in less than 10 minutes !
I definitely recommend this place in Budva, as it is the best way to marry leasure& parties in town with a quiet and welcoming atmosphere at Saki's place.
And please, ask Saki for a boat-trip ! Unforgettable !
Wa had a perfect time there and we are definitely missing it already !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfaure1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Saki's hostel really stands out from all other hostels I've visited. It is cosy, clean, with a great rooftop but it is really the welcome and friendliness of Saki and his family that make the difference. During our stay, they went out of their way to make arrangements for us and help us make the most of our experience. We had a fantastic time and will not forget the warmth, the delicious home cooked dinners and smiles! And it is great value for money! Even though the beaches are a ten to fifteen minutes walk, taxis are so cheap that it should really not stand in your way. Thank you Saki and family for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

A friend and I stayed at Saki Hostel for a week in June and it was great. Saki and his family were very helpful and welcoming. It is pretty close to the beach and the old town. The hostel was very clean and had everything you would need! I will be coming back the next time I'm in Budva!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nls17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budva hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Lux
Vila Lux
#14 of 25 in Budva
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#4 of 25 in Budva
182 reviews
1 mi away
Avala Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sobe Nedovic
Sobe Nedovic
#26 of 104 in Budva
13 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radonjic Apartments
Radonjic Apartments
#157 of 299 in Budva
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartments Ivona
Apartments Ivona
#10 of 299 in Budva
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saki Apartmani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saki Apartmani

Address: IV Proleterska BB, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 299 Speciality Lodging in Budva
Price Range: £16 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saki Apartmani 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family has decades of experience in this business, to witch we have devoted our lives. Our goal is to make guests feel as they are visiting close friends, and numerous reviews testify that we are successful in this. Our property is a cross of apartments and a hostel, with a family atmosphere.We have a lovely balcony on the roof where you can have dinner underneath the stars, spa, jacuzzi, boat for day-trips, air condition, WiFi, TVs, fridges, private bathrooms, everyday cleaning, free welcome drinks, parking, free car rides to the beach and a posibility of transport from airport.Welcome to Saki apartments! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saki Apartmani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saki Apartmani Hotel Budva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing