We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saddening stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Hostel Budva
Ranked #2 of 295 Speciality Lodging in Budva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The positive first:

the Big Montenegro Tour they offer is simply awesome, unforgettable and includes highlights like various view point stops at Sveti Stefan and Skadar Lake and visiting the lower and upper Ostrog Monastery (on request depending on the group - other option is Lovćen NP); lunch is not included but worth each and every Euro at the restaurant MOSTINA in Rijeka Crnojevića


The outweighing negative:

our guide transgressed my personal boundaries by talking very amused about one of his family members´ hatred for Germans - just flimsy excuses afterwards; took me two days to recover (I could smile again on the plane back home marvelling at those lush green mountains of Montenegro from above) - what a shame to think such thoughtless remarks are funny and harmless while they are nothing but hostile and provocative - I never expect to be treated like family or friends by accommodation owners, but I do expect to be shown a minimum of respect

What about accommodation at the Freedom? It is close to the main bus station, but far from the old town of Budva. The key I was given could open two lockers - so there was a security issue that bothered me, but I found a solution myself.

All in all, the Freedom is nothing special. If it was, where are all the rave reviews on this site???

Room Tip: Do not leave valuables inside the locker - it could be opened with other keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

This place is like a home. Only 3 rooms and that's make all the difference. Staff very warm and cheerful, nice living room and balcony, not too much people per room. They cook, sing and play music. And if you don't have a precise program in your trip, you will have difficulty to leave this place...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

One of my favorite hostels. The guys running the place do an amazing job of making you feel like you're a part of their family and everyone joins in on the feeling. We all went out together as a group each night, and they're probably my favorite staff of my entire trip. Every hostel asks you to write a review for them and after 4 months of travel this is only the second review that I've written. I only like writing for places I really loved or really hated, and this is a place I really loved. Highly recommended!

Biggest recommendation: Read the directions for this place before you arrive to the bus station, it's really close to the bus station but the people at the tourist office don't know where it is, even with the address!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night in may 2013. The hostel is easy to find from the bus station with the directions provided, took about 5 minutes. We arrived and were greeted by 2 friendly hosts, they showed us around and our room, they also gave us a welcome shot of "rakia" a traditional montengro drink? It's was like tequila wasn't prepared for that. The hostel is clean and nice. We were in. 6 bed room, only for us of in there. Bunk beds were comfy and were given a towel and fresh sheets etc. the bathroom was clean, hot shower shared with the top floor, we didn't have issues with having to wait to use the bathroom but maybe when it's busy it could be a issue?
Kitchen was well equipped and tea & coffee supplied and breakfast when you woke up. This hostel had a party vibe, the hosts kept offering the rakia. We would recommend this hostel for travellers and we would stay here again. It was close to budva centre, buses and markets etc.

Room Tip: The 6 bed was a bit small, but we were lucky that there was only 4 people staying that night. Could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Nikola is an excellent host. Very chilled out, friendly, helpful and social, without falling into the hostel trap of organised fun. Cold beer on arrival and a cheese and ham toasty provided every morning. Hostel is simple but with nice touches, instantly felt comfortable and at home there. Lovely feel at this time of year when it's quite quiet, although in the summer I imagine it might feel cramped, especially with limited bathrooms. Lockers could be bigger. Hangings over the bunks to give privacy are a nice touch. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank D0Ttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Its a small and very friendly hostel. Nicola knows how to make it a social place. The common room as well as the terrace and the garden are very inviting. There is only one bathroom with a toilet - as long as everybody is concerned about that - no problem at all.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adbstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

For most of our stay, we were the only guests, because it was very early in the year. But this wasn't at all a problem for us. Nikola, the owner of the hostel, gave us a lot of attention, advice for things to see and places to go and lots of interesting, late-night conversations about all sorts of things. We also met his friends (we were invited to his friend Svetlana's super birthday party on the beach!), and we were happy to get to know a bunch of friendly, interesting local people. So even when the hostel is not populated, there's nice folks around. To us, the Montenegrin coast seemed all the more precious in early spring, because it's not crowded, but already warm.

The hostel is lovingly decorated, has a well-equipped kitchen, free internet in the common area (including a sunny balcony) and our dorm, and offers cheap laundry service. Some details of the dorms' equipment are very useful: There's a lamp, a little board for your book/phone and power sockets for all the beds. Plus, you can draw a little curtain in front of your bed for extra privacy. Very mindful! There was only one bathroom, but we were told that in the summer, there are three bathrooms and a garden shower in operation.

The location is in a quiet, residential area, very close to the main bus station. You can easily walk the distance, even with baggage. If you really want to take a taxi, it will literally be a one-minute drive, so do not pay more than 2 Euros. To avoid being ripped off, it's best not to take the first taxi waiting in line when you come out of the bus station.
There's a small supermarket 400 meters from the hostel that's open every day until 10pm. A local restaurant with cheap food is also around the corner. It's a bit of a walk to the beach and the old city (around 15 minutes), or a 1 Euro-drive by taxi.

All in all, we're very happy to have found this place. Nikola is a great host, and he is attentive of every detail of his place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braunschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budva hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Lux
Vila Lux
#14 of 25 in Budva
45 reviews
1 mi away
Saki Apartmani
Saki Apartmani
#15 of 295 in Budva
62 reviews
0 mi away
Montenegro Hostel
Montenegro Hostel
#9 of 295 in Budva
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radonjic Apartments
Radonjic Apartments
#156 of 295 in Budva
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Vanja
Villa Vanja
#1 of 295 in Budva
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mijovic Apartments
Mijovic Apartments
#44 of 104 in Budva
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hostel Budva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hostel Budva

Address: Cara Dusana 21 | Old Town, Budva, Budva Municipality 85100, Montenegro (Formerly Montenegro Freedom Hostel)
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 295 Speciality Lodging in Budva
Price Range: £15 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Freedom, your home away from home. Freedom Hostel perfectly located in the center of Budva Historic Old Town, only 30 steps from the nearest beach, surrounded by historical monuments, restaurants, bars, clubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freedom Hostel Budva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing