We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many rules!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avala Resort & Villas
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Reviewed 5 June 2014

For the price of 210 Euros a room, the level of comfort and service is not worth the amount. When you pay that much at a supposedly 4 star hotel you expect much more.

The rooms were nice, with a good view but apart from that there were many things we were unsatisfied with.

1) The steam room opens from only 4-8 in the evening
2) You get one towel per guest at a cost of 30 Euros for lost towels -- we were always stressed about losing our towel cards.
3) The wifi is free only in the lobby and extremely slow when you pay to use it in the rooms.
4) The hot tub is cold, and the rude staff makes many excuses as to why the temperature cannot be raised, even though the temp is well under the limit proposed by the hotel.
5) The beach advertised is also not free for guests (which is what I thought is ridiculous). You must buy a chair for 25 Euros to use the hotel's "private" beach.
6) Overall poor design of hotel with dark hallways, and towel desk only at inside pool, one way escalators and non-optimized elevator.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank realfoodindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Front Office Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Pune,
Thank you very much for staying with us.
I read carefully all your objections.
One of them surprised me- You, as a hotel's guest, were charged at the hotel's beach for the price of sunbeds and umbrella that is announced and applicable for non-hotel's guests only?!
If something like that happened you should immediately contact the reception.
Free usage of hotel's beach ( with chairs and umbrellas included ) is service guaranteed to all hotel's guests. We never had the accident like that, so, if you still have the invoice issued for this "trade" or if, at least, you can remember when exactly it happened I would highly appreciate forwarding that information from your side on my e-mail (fom@avalaresort.com).
Thank you for all other objections that will be very useful for us in planing of our future activities and making decisions for possible procedure changes
We truly hope that, except of these few objections, your impression of staying with us remains pleasant and we hope to host you again.
With the best regards
Dusan Becir, fom Avala Resort&Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We returned home from Budva on Sunday after a lovely half term week away (last week in May). It was our first time away with our 6 month old son, and we took along the 3 grandparents for back up. Consequently we were a group age ranging from 6 months to 66 years old.

LOCATION: On the whole, we loved both Budva and this hotel. As other guests have mentioned, the location and views cannot be beaten. On seeing the location of a couple of other hotels we were considering (in Becici) I am confident we made the right decision. Overlooks the old town and the sea. Beautiful.

BEACH, POOLS, SPA: Though the beach was closed on arrival, it could still be used (closed just meant the bar was shut and there was still a bit of sorting out left to do) and it opened within a couple of days of our stay. Whilst shut, we brought our own food and drink and the staff were fine about this as they were unable to offer anything else. Beds and brollies are free for guests and towels can be got from the beach (when 'open') or the spa. You need towel cards - and don't lose them! The outdoor pools were also closed on our first day, but opened on the second; the infinity pool is amazing. It lost the sun earlier than the beach but therefore would be a perfect place in the height of Summer. Though there is limited seating and therefore this might be a problem in busier periods.The indoor pool was open throughout our stay. We spent ample time at all three and enjoyed it very much. We also used the beach around the corner (walk right as facing the sea). It was a better beach. Here it cost 15 euros for 2 beds and a sun umbrella, which is expensive but to be honest cheaper than I've paid in Cyprus and other places. The beer was better too. :)
We didn't use the spa, the treatments are expensive, but you had to go through it to get to the outdoor pool.

FOOD/DRINK: We stayed half board and found breakfast in Bruno's to be fine (plenty of fruit, cereal and yoghurt, bread, cheese and cold meats; hot food was fine though some unusual items at times); we found the evening meal in the restaurant at the top also to be fine. There was a huge selection of salads, cheeses, cold meats and breads; always a soup of the day; a number of main meals options including a pasta, white meat, red meat and a fish dish. The view from up here is lovely. Drinks are quite expensive, as they are in most hotels. We ate out a couple of times (just for a change of scenery), we especially enjoyed Jadran National Restaurant on the marina; staff are dressed as saliors and they have a three person band singing traditional music - they have a great choice of seafood as well as chicken and meat dishes and they are very reasonably priced (VERY large dish of mussels 10 euros and large domestic house red 2 euros). The beach restaurant next to the hotel beach also makes a nice Montenegro sandwich (about 5 euros). The bar next to the clock tower, in front of the citadel, is a lovely, quiet place to pass the time (large wine about 4 euros) and the draft beer is also good. The bars directly opposite and backing onto the wall are more pricey for wine; beer is okay... they are the place to be seen. We had many a giggle at people discreetly taking individual pouting selfies whilst they thought no-one was looking. There's no shortage of places to drink and eat though, all serving food until late.

STAFF: I am shocked at the number of reviews on here referring to impolite staff. We found everyone at the hotel to be polite, friendly and welcoming around the beach and pools, restaurants and reception. Everyone smiled back and made conversation when we did and everyone had a smile and a wave for our little boy, the waitresses in a morning often took one of our baby spoons or a pot to wash before we left, they often gave us a lift with the pram if they were passing, and once they got to know us were ready and on hand with a high chair as soon as we sat down.

ROOMS: I think we had a superior room to accommodate the cot; parents had a 2 bedroom superior room (upgraded due to a delay when checking in). The rooms were... roomy, very spacious, nicely and tastefully decorated. Clean! Nice balcony overlooking the front. The bath was like a swimming pool for our little one! The cot provided was a proper (metal) cot, not a travel cot, well padded out and comfortable.

WEATHER: Not that the hotel can control this but thought I'd mention it for other 'shall we go in May?' travellers. Mixed; a day or two cloudy (but warm and enough UV to burn); one day rain (we took the bus to Koto); the rest sunny and pleasant. We all got a decent tan.

TRIPS AND VISITS: We did the 'Montenegro Tour' taking in Koto, the Serpentine Road (UNBELIEVABLE VIEWS), a village and a town which once served as the capital. A good and enjoyable day out. We used our tour operator (Jet2) for ease; there are plenty of operators outside of the hotel, however just check the commentary you receive will be in English as many cater for Russian travellers. Everyone is running the same trips and those on the streets are 5-10 euros cheaper than the holiday companies. On our rainy day, we also took the bus back to Koto, as it was a pretty place to visit with a lot of history. We didn't climb the steps due to having a baby in a buggy and the fact it was wet made the steps extremely slippy but by all accounts it's worth the climb. To get there is costs 1.50 euros from the main bus station. The station is a 15-20 minute easy walk and easy to negotiate once inside the station, with regards to buying tickets and getting on the right bus. It's a nice walk around the marina and it's worth the 2.50 euros to go into the citadel for the view from the wall. The lovely little church in front in amazing inside, you can't take photos but more than worth popping your head in for a look.

THE NEGATIVES: We very much enjoyed our week, however there are always niggles, some of which are down to the hotel and some of which Jet2/the resort. We had 5 pairs of hands to negotiate our baby/buggy, which is good as there are a lot of steps in and around the hotel. There is a lift that takes you down near to the beach but this wasn't open until the beach officially opened and it stopped operation at 20:00. There is also one down to the casino (from where you can access the street) but again there's a step or two once down. There's also a step at the main entrance (where the coaches drop off). The restaurant where the half board evening meal is served, is on the equivalent of floor 6. To reach it you must start on floor 0 and take steps and 2 large escalators. One evening the baby had already fallen asleep in the buggy therefore the guy on reception suggested we take the escalator to floor 6 and then use the fire exit onto a roof space/air-conditioning unit space to access it, with the baby still in the buggy (not possible using the conventional way). This was much easier but you still had a couple of steps to get up to the fire exit and back down again and a number of further steps to get up to the restaurant. We managed fine (we have a small baby lol) but if you have MOBILITY ISSUES this is not the hotel for you.

We had issues checking in, along with a couple arriving also with Jet2. They had rooms, my parents and mother-in-law were provided with an upgrade (2 bed superior room I think), and it was resolved within an hour however we'd been waiting on the bus at the airport (Dubrovnik) for an hour and 15 mins for other flights to come in, plus flight, plus transfer, plus early start so we really could have done without it. The transfer from Dubrovnik took about 2 hours but it's a nice drive and soon passes; nice views, plus ten-fifteen mins on the car ferry where you can get off soak up some sun and get some fresh air.

We also had to call down more than once for a cot and my parents room wasn't serviced one day and again they called twice to remind them and in the end they just left it.

Free WIFI is only in a section of the lobby, not a problem for us as though we like our social networking and keeping up with the news it's actually relaxing and nice to have limited access and have a break from it all.

The rooms at the front, facing the wall, where we were, had some street noise; not a problem for us but in high season will probably be louder so if you're a light sleeper you may want to bear it in mind.

OVERALL - LOVE BUDVA, LOVE AVALA AND LOVED WHAT WE SAW OF MONTENEGRO! :) Don't listen to the haters, go and see for yourselves xxx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tigeralfiewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Public Relations Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Tigeralfiewoo,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Your comments are the best possible prize for all our efforts.
Hoping to see you again next year, we would like to express the gratitude to you on behalf of all our team
With the best regards
Avala Resort & Villas management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is great hotel the location on the beach next to Budva old town you can't ask for a better location. The hotel staff are very good the reception staff all speak very good English, the pool and facility's are superb but just book for B&B as the evening meal is not in the main resturant bit in a all inclusive resturant on top of the hotel. There is enough places to eat in Budva that are very good. Cannot fault this hotel on much at all enjoy your stay,

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Budva looking for a nice(r) place to stay near the old town. Avala has a great pool, workout area and sauna. The hot tub was a little luke warm. To be honest, it's hard to beat the views (anywhere in Budva) and Avala's proximity to the old town - literally right outside the southeast gate. Price was okay, views were unbeatable. The guest service was spot on!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel looks pleasant enough from the outside but inside is very dark in places and poorly maintained.

The food is dreadful and labelled badly, if you're vegetarian be careful, what sounds like it should be safe often contains unexpected meat! The vegetable pie and vegetable rice being two examples.

Drinks are not included in the half board evening meals, however, this didn't stop non all inclusive guests from helping themselves to drinks whilst we had to pay for the drinks we ordered. The service was atrocious and often rude, consequently we stopped eating in the hotel towards the end of our stay.

The outdoor pools were closed throughout our stay with no real details as to when the problem would be fixed. As this was one of the main reasons for choosing the hotel we were very disappointed.

Budva itself is ok although not as cheap as we were lead to believe.

Given the choice I would never return to this hotel and think the hotel reflects badly on jet2 holidays!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Public Relations Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Avala Resort & Villas. Although you have few serious objections we hope that the holiday you spent with us had been mostly pleasant.
As we always say : Any kind of objection help us to check the implementation level of service standards and to make corrections if necessary. That’s why we appreciate any kind of comment written from the guest’s side.

After reading your comment we immediately check all the points , especially objections on food and restaurant service quality.

We keep very high standards regarding the food quality and the food presentation and we are absolutely sure that our buffet table offer does not content any product marked as vegetarian if it contents any animal origin ingredient.
Closer explanation the guests can always get from the chief’s side.


Information that the half board service do not include extra beverages is presented to all the agents ( as this service is used mostly by the side of agency guests) we deal with from our side. It is agent’s duty also to inform the guests about it properly.

As you know very bad weather conditions ( period of 20 days permanent rain which caused even serious overflow in the whole region ) prolonged for not more then few days technical preparations for outdoor pool opening. On the other side, as you said , indoor pool was all the time at the guest’s disposition.

Thank you once more for your comments .

We truly hope to see you again

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Arrived here on Saturday morning, first impressions were fantastic location and beautiful pool. Unfortunately now our view is changing, both outdoor pools are closed for different reasons and we are not even allowed to sunbathe next to the main pool. We can't swim in the sea from the beach next to the hotel as they aren't set up as yet so no lifeguard, seats etc. With my wife being pregnant we are having trouble making sure to keep cool, not helped by the fact that the air conditioning is not working either. Saved up for our honeymoon but starting to regret our choice and a week and a half to go! Reception offered a bottle of water to compensate so I guess that makes it all okay?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived 2 days ago and a number of issues but will write fuller review on my return.

They seem to have maintenance issues and not ready for the new season.

Both outdoor pools are out of order and reception tell me probably for the full duration of our weeks stay. However, they can't say more than "technical issues".

The hotel beach area is still being built.

The air conditioning doesn't work right. It's 25 degrees outside and won't cool to 20. Can't imagine how will cope in the summer.

One of the main lifts (essential if don't do steps to get to beach) was and still is out of order.

The most annoying thing is I asked to speak to duty manager yesterday and chased again this am. Reception are reluctant and have told me twice duty manager is not around. I wonder where he is and what doing if not available to speak to a guest?

Apart from that....good location!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank NH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvalaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Avala Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Avala Resort & Villas.
Although I am very sorry to hear for "Not the best impressions", your objections are absolutely correct.
These kind of objections , even more then positive, can help us in detecting a weak points and improving service quality on the higher level.
Unfortunatelly we had a 20 days long period of permanent rain that prolonged for a few days technical operations that are obligatory in beach opening operations and that is the reason for the “few days delay” in beach opening.
Any kind of exceptional technical circumstance even caused by weather can not justify the explanation you mentioned as given by the side of reception staff: "No duty manager at the moment". This matter , as any simillar accident, will be accuratelly investigated from our side.
The starting days of the season can be very stressfull for all of us ( preparations for opening of the beaches, final technical reparations, and accidents allways can happen under these circumstances ) but it can never be the explanation nor the justification for even minimal deficit in the service level.
As the hotel beach will be open in the next two day or two , I am sure that the rest of your holiday with us will be much better
Guest relation service Avala Resort & Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#3 of 25 in Budva
182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astoria Boutique Hotel
Astoria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 25 in Budva
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Lux
Vila Lux
#14 of 25 in Budva
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blue Star
Hotel Blue Star
#5 of 25 in Budva
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avala Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avala Resort & Villas

Address: Mediteranska 2, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Budva
Price Range: £67 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avala Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Avala Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avala Resort And Villas
Avala Resort & Villas Hotel Budva
Avala Resort Budva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing