We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, yet not ready for Westerners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Budva
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice setting, yet not ready for Westerners”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

First the Positives: The place has beautiful sprawling facilities in sets of villas. It has various mini-restaurants/cafes and minor shopping sprinkled nearby. It is well located in Budva, within a few steps from the beach and a nice beach-side walk to the old town. The villas were well supplied and of good size. We had a two bedroom villa which had two single beds in each room and a small central kitchen/sitting area. Nice pool, although water was cold (not their fault, just timing of year). Price was reasonable.

The negatives: Terrible buffet. It would be better if they just did not offer it. We have eaten at many other buffets in the Balkans, so we know how the local cuisine is made, and this one was just terrible. It was greasy and the place was so crowded it had about a 20 min wait for the coffee (no kidding). Hotel staff was friendly but poorly trained. When I decided to check out at 7 am, the clerk said only the manager could do it and he could not tell me when in the morning the manager would come. After some pushing, he frantically called the manager who walked him on how to use a credit card machine. The water in the showers was freezing cold both days we were there.

My recommendations is that this place is mostly geared to locals, and not really to westerners. If you decide to go, be ready to deal with some of these issues. It is not used to dealing with English-speaking people. Paying attention to some details would make this place a very good choice, but it is not yet ready.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rfmonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    227
    149
    79
    77
See reviews for
211
160
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My first trip across the border
and never regret it was Montenegro
My tour operator gave me an option for my budget
and it was Slovenska Plaza
Close to the beach half pansion
Its all you need.
beach is easy to reach
Old town is a 10 minutes brisk walk
Sea is perfect. If you need some salt you'll get it)
Room is not big but enough.
Clean and well maintained.
Everything you will need is here
3 stars what else you can say.

Room Tip: on a buget
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madeinrussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It was a clear hotel, very big indeed, for 2000 people. Hotel itself is fully repaired,with very comfortable rooms. Small 3-4 floor villas transmit the Greek style of this hotel (white exterier with blue windows). This is not a hotel for those people who dislike to walk, even the system of mini-buses for tourist's transportation is not working correctly.To be honest, personal sometimes can be very rude, and they even refuse to transver me, when I injured my leg, because they had finished their work 2 minutes before. On the other hand, I was surprised with the big range of services inside the hotel and beautiful gardens. The list includes yoga, pilates, aqua-shapeing, restaurants, shops, etc.... I dislike dinners in the hotel's restaurant, many other restaurants which have affordable prices and good menu are situated near hotel. But what I really liked about this hotel is it's swimming-pool, believe me it is worth to see, conversely beach in this area is awful by all mean. You need to walk a long distance to reach Becici beaches. Finally, if you desided to choose this hotel, beach massages are worth to try, especially Bobby's massage, with rosemarine extract for all body. Whish you all the best in Montenegro.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank son-sonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Having just returned from a 1 week stay at this hotel I can only say WOW, this is not a hotel but a small village right on the seafront with a beautiful walk way along the seafront scattered with restaurants all the way down to the harbour & old town. The 3 star rating is wrong this is definitely more like 4 star. There is a second walkway packed with everything you could possibly want to buy & lots of pizza & burger stalls.

Transfer: 2 hours and included a short ferry ride.

On arrival you & your cases are chauffeured to your room by buggy.
We opted for the self catering room as they are generally bigger than standard rooms for 4 people!! The room was spotlessly clean with air con, big LCD TV & walk in shower. This was a recently refurbished room hence the misunderstanding with the kitchen sink, as we did not plan to eat in our room this did not spoil anything... Very nice.
Warning..... MOSQUITOS, the room was full of mozzy's, I quickly nipped to the shop & emptied his shelf of mosquito aerosol spray!!! Got Em....... No bites all week but the maids opened the doors & windows every day so had to keep spraying on return from pool.... hahahaha

The adult pool opens at 8, if you want a bed you need to be at the gates for 7.30.... I kid you not, at 8am the gates open and the 80 year old eastern European Grandma lets go after clinging to it for 45 minutes, she sprints across the pool side along with the rest of the rugby scrum that have qued behind her for the sun beds. Within 2 minutes the towels are out, not a spare bed or deck chair in sight and all the inhabitants are gone!!!!!! I bedded down on my own stake and watched in dismay as people turned up one after the other searching for the lesser spotted sun bed.

At 11am we went over to Raspucin cafe which is situated opposite the entrance to the adult pool.
Here you can have a lovely breakfast/dinner (Brunch) for 4 people with drinks for 25 euro's.

The pool bar serves hot & cold drinks until 7pm.

Lots to do during the day, outdoor gym, Aqua aerobics, yoga, zumba, well equipped outdoor kids play area, kids pool & entertainment etc etc you want it it’s there.

Evening: Dress to impress, this is a Cosmopolitan resort.

Children: Loads to do, rides, games, go karts + BIG boys Go-Karts for all the budding Lewis Hamiltons !!!

FOOD, everything from burgers & pizza (1.50 a massive slice) stalls to fantastic restaurants. Family of 4 eating a good average priced meal + drinks 50/60 Euros.

Restaurants: Bola, very nice, good service and a table on the beach by candle light!!!! Very nice.
Porto: Top notch, we went twice in one week, excellent all round.
To be honest we did not have a bad meal all week.

Bars: You want Boom Boom Boom it’s there, you want traditional Mediterranean its there, salsa it’s there, general easy listening it’s there.

Wi-Fi: most bars & restaurants have it free so once you have the password's the kids are gone into cyber space for 45-60 minutes giving you & the Mrs some peace & quiet while enjoying a nice drink.....!!!

We also booked self catering as we did not fancy the all inclusive and yes there was no sink in our kitchen or a kettle or even a decent set of cutlery & plates!!! & yes we told our rep twice & on the second to last night we got everything apart from a sink!!! But this is not the end of the world.....life goes on & we had a fantastic time.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel/complex & we will be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Make sure self Catering has a kitchen sink if opting for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romeo24799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Targu Mures
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I wasn't looking to forward to staying at this hotel for our Montenegro trip after reading some reviews, however I was very pleasantly surprised.

This is not your traditional hotel, it's a laaaaaarge complex with multiple buildings with rooms and apartments.

The services offered are very varied and you wouldn't expect it from a 3 star hotel. Luggage service, parking, kids playground, multiple pools, animators, yoga, zumba etc.

Also the complex is littered with shops, restaurants and bars that are at your fingertip if you don't feel like walking to much and they are surprisingly good.

Room was cool, basic but they tried to spice it up with decorations and bathroom looked great with a glass shower. Had a modern LCD tv and a good selection of programs.

Cleaning was daily and although I did notice a few spots here and there on the linen it was nothing to scary, clean overall.

We had breakfast and dinner included. Food got a bit repetitive after 1 week, but good variety none the less and decent foods. Nothing extraordinary but good. Sometimes if you hit rush hour there are quite a few people and you might need to stay in line a bit for food. Again, nothing scary and overall really good.

Staff might seem a bit rude, but everybody is a little rude in Montenegro, I guess it's just the nature of the culture and people.

Overall this is a really solid hotel I think It might merit an extra star as well and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms close to the restaurant if you have food included otherwise it can be quite the wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ToonKing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vrnjacka Banja, Serbia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I was with my husband and son (3 years) on vacation in this hotel in mid-July 2012. We are very pleasantly surprised by the offer in this hotel, primarily for children ... from large outdoor playground, to a closed, air-conditioned children's playroom with animators ... Then, there are two swimming pools, one of which is a children's pool with fresh water, water slides, beach umbrellas and sunbeds (every evening held a kids performances), and another pool for adults with a (very clean) sea water, hydromassages, beach umbrellas and sunbeds, where every night is held open-air cinema.
Animation for tourists is exceptional, from yoga every morning at 8 am, 18 pm pilates, aerobics in the pool several times a day, until the evening entertainment with professional salsa dancers ...
We were in renovated studio apartment, and we were very delighted with their comfort ... spacious, with new furniture, new bathrooms, satellite TV, air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a nice terrace. We were especially thrilled room cleanliness, because the maids cleaned every day and changed the towels... The whole hotel is very neat and clean, with a nice green spaces. What a pleasant surprise to us, is that in the evening in the room does not even hear the music and the noise from the bars which in Budva has many ... so every night we slept with the window open.
Food was varied and very tasty ... there was plenty of fruit and vegetables of various meat and fish, ... so it was really a bit of everything.
Overall, we are delighted with hotel and we recommend it especially for families with children because every child will enjoy ... and therefore will enjoy the parents. We will definitely stay again in this very pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: renovated studio apartment are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Snezana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We( my boyfriend and I), after much deliberation decided on Montenegro for a week long holiday in July. We arrived exhausted to the complex after a 2 hour transfer via minibus at 2am to grumpy and unhelpful staff who barely uttered a word to us when we queued for check-in. We were then ferried to our room (apartment with kitchenette). We had paid for self catering and on bleary eyed inspection at the wee small hours even I couldn't find the kitchen, though the room was lovely and clean and bed comfortable. We went to the meet and greet with our tour rep next am to find we were not blind, and yes, we were in the wrong room. After 40 minutes sitting waiting as we were told by rep to do, we went to front desk to find out what would be the next step. Here a rude and condescending woman told us we would have to move but the room was not very nice that we were going to then shooed us to the couches in foyer. Needless to say we had no choice and were again told to go and sit to wait and not once did any of the front reception staff attempt an apology for this error. We were then beckoned( another 15 minutes later!) by two porters who barely grunted at us to the first room,told to pack up our belongings and move room. When we were in the middle of this they repeatedly beeped to horn and shouted at us to come down. We barely were allowed five minutes to pack up. When we went to next room it was only in the process of being cleaned and we and our bags were left on the doorstep. This room was obviously a much older and worn room with the most uncomfortable bed and was I was so disappointed as the last room was quite nice. Only saving grace was the balcony which we did use a lot. We ended up in this room for 4 nights. On our second last day we came home from a day trip at 5pm to find the room was soaking, ceiling had leaked all over the bed and puddles on the floor so we ended up moving again to another room (again with no apology or attempt at customer service).Again we arrived to a room that was in process of being cleaned and again we and our baggage were left to wait on another doorstep. The last room was the same package as the second room as in self catering but the room was much newer and cleaner and this really was annoying as we had given ! night in a nice comparable room then 4 nights in the older worn room. The staff were very unfriendly and in general it would have been a far nicer break if people had made the effort a bit more to apologise for mix ups and if we had gotten a good room in the first mix up. We certainly would NOT recommend staying here unless you like room hopping and poor manners. No one made much effort to speak English even though my boyfriend attempted regularly with broken Montenegrin to speak to people. Stay here but only if you must!

Room Tip: Insist on one of the newer rooms as the one we were moved to on last night was lovely and fresh unli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suezaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budva hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#7 of 24 in Budva
141 reviews
2.0 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Bojana
Hotel Villa Bojana
#2 of 24 in Budva
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila Lux
Vila Lux
#14 of 24 in Budva
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#8 of 24 in Budva
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue Star
Hotel Blue Star
#6 of 24 in Budva
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slovenska Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slovenska Plaza

Property: Hotel Slovenska Plaza
Address: Trg Slobode 1, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Budva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Slovenska Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Slovenska Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slovenska Plaza Hotel
Slovenska Plaza Budva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing