We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine....but...”
Review of Hotel Blue Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blue Star
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is OK, but nothing spectacular, for an 4 star hotel at the sea side. Personally, I did not feel as being at sea side. Maybe because you need to take a 10min walk to the beach :-). Luckily, I was there for business reasons - it is ok if you just sleep there, but I would not consider it for holiday. Staff is polite and nice. And BTW they have smallest elevator in the world :-) - you could hardly manage your suitcase to be with you in elevator :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aidasba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontenegroStars, General Manager at Hotel Blue Star, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
All our clients' reviews help us to improve our services and our premises as our main target is your satisfaction.
We thank you once more and hope to welcome again you during your next trip in Budva.
Sincerely, Vesna Fuštić, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

We booked this hotel because of the location of where it is situated, close to the beach, shops restaurants and wanted to be nearer to others who we were holidaying with.

I feel we paid slightly over for what we got, i.e. rooms, breakfast, and other facilities; isn't what I call a 4 star to be honest. E.g. there isn't any space for swimming pool, etc. The staff were very nice and friendly. They could improve with better choices of breakfast maybe to cater broader audience, wifi in rooms, etc.

Budva itself is a beautiful small coastal town with spectacular mountain backdrops, historic features, etc. I believe the tourists consists of mainly former Yugoslavs, Russians, Italians..?
I personally feel Montenegro although it is a new country has a few years to catch up. Maybe this appeals for some?

All restaurants serve almost same food and oh yes there is 1 chinese restaurant in the old town marina.

This is my personal views and I wish you Happy Holidays

Room Tip: 1. Montenegrin are friendly people * Hvala means thank you in the local language. 2. There isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I will come back. Room was large, clean, and comfortable. A/c very good. Wifi in lobby only. Young, female afternoon receptionist was very, very kind and helpful. Great location for walking around town. Breakfast was average tourist buffet fare in an uninteresting room on level 1. They should consider serving it on the main floor which has outside patio seating...perhaps add some large umbrellas or awnings to help with the morning sun...it would be charming!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Hotel is situated in the center of Budva and everything is within walking distance, old town, shops, post office, night bars... The gentleman that worked in the night shift at the reception was really nice, polite and helpful, which cannot be said for other receptionist. We spent 3 nights there, and even though our stay in Budva was nice I wouldn't go to this hotel again. Breakfast was OK, and the lady that was at the buffet was really nice and polite too. Our room was big and nicely decorated on first look, but after few minutes we realised the carpet hasn't been vacuumed for months probably (it wasn't vacuumed during our stay neither), tables were full of dust; there was a hole the size of tennis ball on the ceiling in the corridor which had stains from, I assume, dripping water. Night stand had burned marks as if somebody left cigarettes burning on them and the room had a smell of cigarettes which nonsmokers (as myself) notice immediately. When we were checking out the maid came down and said to the receptionist that we took something from the bar (which we didn't) but was unsure herself if that something was even placed in the bar before our arrival. I don't think hotel staff should have this kind of conversation in front of guests. If this was a 2 or 3 star hotel, I think I would't be this disappointed, but for a 4 star hotel, I expect much more. All 3 star hotels we stayed at around Europe were way cleaner and better organised than this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannahSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The service is excellent, an at the bottom, this counts the most.Small and clean hotel, at good location in Budva, very cheap, everything is stated!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We chose Budva and the Bue Star Hotel to explore Kotor Bay and the mountains around. The Blue Star is rated as a 4 star and I believe deserve the classification. It is a modern building, good and big rooms, good bathroom, good dinning room and a small elevator. The breakfast was good also. The beach it is 10 minutes walking and we can find more restaurants there and a little bit far there is the Old Town with more restaurants, bars, shops and so on. The price is also very reasonable when compared with the prices at Croatia. For us was a excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

The room was nice and clean, the breakfast was a little bit poor, but I think the price is too much comparative with the quote.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sghelbereu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#3 of 25 in Budva
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Lux
Vila Lux
#14 of 25 in Budva
45 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Astoria Boutique Hotel
Astoria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 25 in Budva
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Bojana
Hotel Villa Bojana
#1 of 25 in Budva
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
#10 of 25 in Budva
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Star

Address: Mainski put bb, Budva, Budva Municipality 85310, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Budva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Budva
Price Range: £49 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blue Star 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Star Hotel 4* is a city hotel located in the heart of Budva close to the old town and administrative offices. It is 15 km from Tivat International Airport and 70 km from Podgorica Airport. Our hotel offers 24 beautiful rooms and apartments with views of a quiet street and a garden. The hotel’s main restaurant serves international dishes and offers a wide variety of wines. In our café Bonjour, you are welcome to try desserts and cakes prepared daily in our own pastry. Our hotel’s location makes it a perfect choice for a business traveller. Our experienced staff can help you make the most of your trip to Montenegro – help with getting around the city, renting a car, booking tickets, etc. Our conference room, comfortably arranged for small-scale meetings and events, is also at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blue Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing