We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in another city!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Inn

American Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camden
North Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stay in another city!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here one night with a group of high school students. Only two small motels in this town all other options within a 2 hour drive were booked.

This motel was really bad! Non-smoking rooms had a strong smell of air freshener to cover up an odd smell in the room. Non-smoking rooms had ash trays provided (which was odd). Carpet was worn and stained.

This is the first motel that I have actually pulled the sheets back to look for bed bugs. Didn't find any, but I was very worried. The whole place just felt NASTY! Dead bugs in the corners of the room and in the bath room. Towels had old stains on them. Comforters and sheets were very worn.

Maid barged in at 9 a.m. even though I had late check out at noon. Glad I had that chain on the door for extra security.

Breakfast consisted of coffee, cold cereal and tiny packaged sweet rolls.

The only thing that I can say about this motel is the front desk staff were very nice. The people that live in this town are also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay in another town! Avoid this place at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pkw1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here in June for 6 nights with a group visiting Camden to do volunteer work. Only stayed here because it is 1 of only 2 hotels in the town - and the other one is worse! The hotel is just old and broken down. Definitely needs a thorough cleaning. Don't count on the continental breakfast, either. Once I saw the condition of the lobby area I wasn't about to touch any food that came out of there. It reeked of mildew and years of dirt and dust. I came prepared with lysol, detergent, and a few other cleaning supplies and was glad I did. Toilet was dirty, sink was dirty, countertops were dusty, and I didn't even bother looking at the sheets, just covered them up with the mattress cover and sheets I brought with me. Other reviewers complained the beds were flat, but our King bed was a fairly new, thick pillowtop mattress, and we slept comfortably every night.

Positive notes: (1) no bedbugs! (2) A/C in the rooms was ICE COLD. My hubby likes it cold and even he had to turn the A/C down (3) all of the rooms have microwaves and min-refrigerators, which was nice. There's a Piggly Wiggly down the street that we utilized to get some groceries (4) free WIFI (5) pleasant staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Princessa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

The hotel was in need of updating. The mattress was lumpy, beddings were well worn, comforter wasn't clean and chairs were well worn. There were some type of bugs lying around outside and inside. Room smelled of mildew. Had to change rooms because the mini fridge didn't work in the 1st room. Could tell at one time the hotel was nice, but now in desparate need of updating.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

Log Cabin type, single story. Rooms are huge, beds were tinie tiny!! Bedspreads too big for the size bed we had, pillows were pancake flat, old bedding. Towels are kinda scrathy!! Good stay for hunters and fishermen. We were in for 3 days and everyday the owner would call our room asking if we were checking out For some reason!! Overall, decent.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to American Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn

Property: American Inn
Address: 39 Camden Byp, Camden, AL 36726-1751 (Formerly Days Inn Camden)
Region: United States > Alabama > Camden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Camden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing