We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most beautiful, sunny and fun activity holiday in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vila Killara

Villa Killara and pool....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Killara and pool....
Enjoy your meals and  drinks on the covered terrace.... Pool size 10 m long x 5 m  wide x 1.30 m deep, blue, clear and inviting.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Villa Killara and pool....
Enjoy your meals and  drinks on the covered terrace....
Pool size 10 m long x 5 m  wide x 1.30 m deep, blue, clear and inviting.
Jacuzzi on the top terrace
More relaxing ...
Barbeque dinner with wine and beer
... grapes, aloe vera
Sunbathing, relaxing, chilling out ....
The pool - clear blue and inviting
Pristine pool
Admire the amazing mountain views
Comfortable lounge with modern kitchen
Open plan living
Romantic nights in the Master bedroom...
The Studio (2nd bedroom)
Shower room 2. in the Studio
Shower Room 1.
House and garden, main entrance
Fun for the kids
Villa Killara's garden; tall conifers, blue sky, sunshine...
Views to remember from the sun terrace...
Flowerbed on the terrace
Meljine- fun on the beach
The town square in Herceg Novi
The view  from Bife Beograd cafe in Herceg Novi town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Herceg-Novi, Herceg-Novi Municipality

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CEK59
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most beautiful, sunny and fun activity holiday in dream home”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Definitely need a car, a gorgeous 5km drive upwards into the mountains with fruit-stall at bottom of hill where we stocked up on figs, delicious peaches and fountain-watered melons every time we drove by.

The house is reached through a lovely pathway lined with Italian cypresses. The grounds are gorgeous and surrounded by tall mountain peaks, bright blue skies and the oasis of turquoise blue 5m pool is inviting us to cool down every time we arrive from one of our daily journeys. There is a star-gazing rooftop terrace and on the terrace below there is a lovely big dining table where we ate our meals. The house itself if very modernly set up with all comforts thought of, even enough basics to start us off like coffee, condiments etc. All technicalities like Wifi and air-conditioning etc in full working order. Plenty of space and room. Were able to follow some of the Olympics with the telly. Comfortable beds, super clean, I can't think of a single thing to complain about in the house.

The owner as well as the manager provided great customer service and I would definitely recommend this place to family or friends.

I thought I would not like lack of sandy beaches but instead we developed a love of the Montenegro and Croatian coast with its super clean soft stoned beaches. We discovered a magical secret beach near Popovici half an hour drive away worth the search... Pasjacha. For crossing the border we had to queue a bit so we discovered and preferred the border via the smaller road that follows the coastal road from Igalo via Njivice to Popovic. We were also so close to Dubrovnik from our villa. We had lots of choices of beach clubs with all kinds of watersports: waterskiing, jet skis, scuba diving (Adriatic Blue in People's Beach Bar in Herceg Novi - only 15 minutes from the villa), great service, friendly people everywhere etc.

We also did a 3 hour quad bike safari just over the Croatian border, at Kojan Koral (they do horse riding too). And a must in Montenegro, which after all, is a country of mountains, is the rafting excursion down the rapids through the Tara Canyon, second biggest after Colorado! We drove through the amazing nature of lake-filled valleys to the Waterfall Centre and stayed the night in a cabin in the woods with great food prepared around a campfire followed by a day of most magnificent rafting journey including swims in the river and waterfalls etc.

What can I say: one of best holidays ever. Thanks Jan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful grounds, close to everywhere, super practical home, really fun pool
Liked least: need car, can't walk to beach but that was our choice
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for sharing your fun filled holiday information; I am sure our future guests will appreciate it. Unfortunately, as much as you wanted to, you were unable to extend your stay in Killara due to lack of available airline seats, but perhaps next year?! We have found the book you left behind and will send it to London at the earliest opportunity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nowandy
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa but I do not recommend if you have toddlers”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The proprietors were very friendly and helpful in the booking process and we received a very warm welcome on arrival. The villa was beautiful and presented to a very high standard with lots of extra luxuries like satellite TV. The setting and facilities were simple beautiful.

However we had some issues:
1. We were told the key to the second half of the villa was missing and couldn’t be replaced, so we only had access to the main part. So we ended up with a one bedroom villa after paying for 2 bedrooms and we were not offered any money back.
2. The house rules were too punitive for us. The rule book set out lots of financial punishments e.g. tripping electricity too much, using air con too much, etc. We were told in strong terms not to wear sun cream in the swimming pool, which meant our two children could not use it and we had to go and buy a separate paddling pool for them. We were even told not to let the kids touch any plants or stones in the garden. The owner visited every 2 days so we constantly felt on edge in case the kids had moved a stone on the lawn.
3. On the third day we received a hostile text from the owners telling us the neighbours had threatened to call the police as our 2 and 3 year old were too loud. The owners insinuated our children were the worst they had ever met. We were really confused why a simple ‘could you keep the noise down’ could not have sufficed. We also noticed a man walking up and down the road starring at us through the fence which was really intimidating. For the rest of the stay we kept our children in-doors as much as possible and tried to spend most of our time away from the villa.

It was a beautiful villa but we were made to feel uncomfortable, unwelcome and anxious staying there. I would only recommend Villa Killara if you don’t have small children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful villa with luxurious facilities
Liked least: Made to feel unwelcome and uncomfortable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you for the review. We appreciate that for most people holidays are for "letting your hair down" and for the children to experience some freedom of the rules that may be imposed on them at home by the parents. However, unless the property is completely isolated and in the middle of nowhere, the neighboring houses may have guests that have escaped from the everyday noise of screaming children and have looked forward to some peace and quiet. Our neighbors on 3 sides had guests that complained about the noise. As a goodwill gesture, we sent a bottle of champagne to each family. Anybody who has children or grandchildren will know how noisy 2 and 3 years old can be when they are not supervised and left to their own devices. We have had many small children staying at villa Killara over the years and have never before received a noise complaint.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kate b
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“peaceful and beautiful...”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

my partner and i stayed here for a week in early september, it was so beautiful and relaxing spot on the hill overlooking the mountains, perfect for sunsets!

the house and the gardens were amazing, so well kept, and a pool to boot!
there were fruit trees and tomatoes vines, and even a little tiny tortoise shuffling around the garden too.
the house was lovely and fresh, the super king size bed was so comfy, it made me get one for my own bed once i had got home!!
the owners of killara were so nice too! they made our stay really personal and special, and can't wait to go back!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you found Villa Killara very relaxing and enjoyed the peace and tranquility it offered. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollysMum...
Rochester
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, stunning country”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday on our first visit to Montenegro. As there was just two of us we only used one section of the villa - it was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Although the owners were out of the country when we visited, they ensured that we were well looked after by friends and neighbours and were quick to respond to any enquiry via email.

Visiting out of season worked well for us as it looked as if all of the resorts (especially Kotor and Budva) could become extremely crowded in the summer - however it did mean that a number of restaurants had yet to open (although there were still loads of really good places to eat). It also meant that it was too early for the pool to be put up at the villa - but this didn't worry us.

We had a couple of days in Herceg Novi - enjoyed walking along the promenade, strolling around the old town and had a lovely couple of meals on the terrace of Gradska Kafuna with a beautiful view overlooking the bay. We were fortunate with the weather and managed a few meals out on the terrace of the villa and a bit of star gazing from the upper terrace.

Montenegro is a beautiful country - would recommend a couple of nights in Durmitor National Park - if visiting in March/April you will need to bring snow boots, but it is well worth it! We also had a night in Budva and visited Mount Lovcen, which was the highlight of our trip - the panoramic views from the top are amazing. The owner of the restaurant at the top of the Mount told us we would be able to see '80% of Montenegro' and he wasn't exaggerating!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very friendly and efficient owners, who ensure we were looked after during our stay.
Liked least: We had an issue with the wifi connection, this was resolved in a few days but throughout the stay the wifi was patchy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for the review. It would appear, your holiday was a great success. Perhaps you will visit Montenegro again?! June and September are ideal if you want to miss the crowds, but still enjoy hot weather and swim in the sea, or a dip in the pool in Villa Killara. Thank you for treating the villa with respect. I heard from the team you were perfect guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday perfection! Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Last summer we stayed for two weeks in Villa Killara and had a wonderful time. We are a couple in our 40's with 2 children 5 and 8 years old. The children loved running around the huge garden and spent most of the time in the pool. The pool is above ground which was a huge plus, since we didn't have to worry about the kids falling in by accident; there was a short ladder which could be removed if necessary. The villa was very clean and was equipped with everything one could possibly need, we felt completely at home. The kids loved the attached studio, since they felt like they had their own house to themselves! You will need a car to get to the beach and restaurants since the Villa is located up a mountain, but the drive is short. All the restaurants serve made from scratch delicious food. We always ate well. The views from the restaurants and the beaches are to die from; mountains and the sea everywhere you look. Some beaches have small pebbles and some are concreted with steps to get into the sea. The owners are extremely friendly and hospitable. They want you to enjoy your stay and will go above and beyond if you need help. I would recommend Villa Killara for a couple with no kids, couples traveling together and families with younger kids. We all had an amazing time and can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy holiday with kids
Liked least: Nothing I did not like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2016
Thank you for writing a review. We were very happy to hear that Villa Killara lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the facilities it had to offer.Thank you for coming to stay in Villa Killara; we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chloe ros...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely setting but shame about the pool and deposit”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Montenegro has a beautiful natural coastline but be warned - it is unfortunately spoilt by poor tourist development. All the beaches are packed, although in quieter months there are relatively undeveloped beaches such as Morinj that could be really lovely with smaller crowds - beware there are no long sandy beaches; they are narrow and rocky but with lovely views of mountains as you swim. The property is in a lovely setting overlooking mountains; very quiet just the sound of crickets chirping and neighbours calling to their children. Very peaceful. The property is very clean and well presented with a little studio room which is great for teenagers. However, there are a few things the owners don't tell you until you get there: the pool is not a sunken pool as it appears in the photo - it's raised off the ground like a large paddling pool (about 6 adult strokes makes a length) No diving or jumping possible for the kids. Also, the air con can only be used for two hours at a time or the electricity will cut out. Even without using the air con, the electricity goes off now and then - from anywhere between half an hour to a few hours at a time. When we stayed, there was an ants' nest near the terrace which meant we had to sweep and mop after every meal in order to keep the ants at bay - the owners may get rid of them for future guests but when we stayed I had to do more cleaning than I do at home to avoid being swarmed by ants. The biggest drawback of this property however cropped up at the end when the owners kept £100 of our £200 deposit at the last minute (literally when we were handed our bags at the airport): they justified this by claiming we were to blame for the fact they had to empty and clean the pool - it literally turned green on our last day. The owners put this down to the sun lotion we wore (I used P20 once a day - used sparingly on my fair skin; my brown skinned husband and children hardly needed it by the second week. We rinsed our feet every time we used the pool and we fished out any insects that strayed in). We were also charged for a table that was broken when we arrived (although the owners claimed it was not and suggested we must have chipped it, which led to it shattering into hundreds of tiny pieces under the oil cloth...) and the money was kept for petrol that we had put in the hired car (which the owners claimed we had not). A pity about the deposit shenanigans and the accusation of lying which I didn't appreciate, because otherwise it should have been a lovely holiday. We are a professional couple with a seven year old and a twelve year old, and we were looking to relax, enjoy the setting and spend lots of time together as a family after a stressful year; we hadn't been to Eastern Europe before and hoped the weather would be good (and it was scorching hot, although the previous year had apparently rained loads.) We rented the villa because it had a pool and we knew, being a good drive from the nearest beach, that we would spend a lot of time in it. However, if you don't care much about the pool, and the air con isn't a problem for you (we got used to the heat after a while) then this villa is in a lovely setting. The owner visited every other day for a couple of hours to clean the pool and water the garden. You can ask them for local advice; they took us to the pharmacist and then the doctors when we got ear infections from dirty seawater at a local beach. Be warned - beaches are either tackily developed, or a bit grotty - and the pretty little places you might prefer only offer tiny bits of rock where you can lay a towel down. We hired a land rover from the owners for £520 for two weeks which was a good deal. But it was a shame we were not treated decently at the end; £100 isn't a massive amount but the reasons given for keeping our money were spurious; I didn't much like being wrongly accused of lying, and the way the money was handed to me at the airport was unfortunately underhand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: the pool, ants, air con and having half my deposit kept!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Thank you for writing a review. We regret to hear you were not completely satisfied, however, there are two sides to every story. Thank you again for choosing Villa Killara for your 2015 summer vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness of the villa and the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
Thank you for choosing Villa Killara for your holiday. We are glad you enjoyed the villa and the peace and tranquility it offers. Looking forward to seeing you in 2016.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing