We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option for lodging at the tip of Bay of Kotor”
Review of Hotel Xanadu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Xanadu
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Herceg-Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hotel Xanadu has several things going for it: 1. good hotel staff, especially the friendly and helpful hotel reception staff (who helped us find many things during our stay) and Milos the super-friendly poolside bartender. 2. Great water access. You walk down (and back up!) several outdoor steps to reach the water. It was an easy passageway to reach the quaint waterfront bars where you go early to get a chair and start your day with outstanding coffee drinks and ease into beer and wine through the day. The water is beautiful and the other sun worshippers provide good people-watching. It's not a classic beach but really is fun. 3. Beautiful, clean, relaxing pool with poolside bar and restaurant and of course Milos to tend to your beverage needs. 4. Good price, at least in September when I was there. And they take credit cards. But NO ATM nearby.

The rooms are big and there is AC. The bathrooms are small and quirky. The hotel restaurant is suitable, and we had a full and tasty breakfast there every day. The location isn't walkable to other nearby towns due to the curvy and speedy road with no walkways. However, the little village where Xanadu is located has 4-5 bars / cafes, two markets, and one grocery store.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Janet_in_Nashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is situated just beside the main road, but I could not say that the noise was a problem.
Nice pool (fortunately) because the beach was not a beach, but a cement dock!!! quite narrow and crowed. Really impossible to stay there (we had an infant with us)
More of that, for reach the sea you have to cross the road (no problem...the hotel has a tunnel under the road) and after you will find a very slope stair.
Not allowed for baby cart or for people which need a wheelchair, for these people all the hotel it is not indicated because there are stairs everywhere.
The air conditioned on our room did not work properly. We told this to the reception and they came, they saw, they tested, they apologized, but they did not fix the problem and we staied with a bit of warm (the weather was nice and not muggy fortunately).
I appreciated the restaurant... it happened only me of the family...anyway I appreciated and the view from balcony pays all in my opinion.
Herceg Novi is not so far, but if you are looking for something for living the night too you should consider other choices, because just around the hotel there is nothing and you will need always the car for moving towards other places

Room Tip: Ask for mini apartment and you should not accept the rooms on the other side of the road (placed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matteo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The hotel has 3 types of rooms, and we chose the intermediate one. For 50 euros a night (in August) we had a sitting area, a sleeping area and a balcony with a sea, mountain (and road) view. The room was quiet. There is no elevator/lift, but someone was available to carry our large suitcases up the steps. The hotel has a pool and a private beach. Breakfast included grilled vegetables, salad, oranges and eggs.The downside was the slight odor of sewage in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arabrab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Xanadu! The hotel has both pools and credit card machine!
The hotel is good for families, because they can provide you with suits or larger rooms. The outdoor poles were nice and clean. Good food, and excellent service from the hotel staff. We will go back an other year for sure. Also because of the environment, it is very beautiful cities like Kotor, Perast etc very close to the hotel. We hired a car, and had a splendid time.
The bathrooms were clean but old, so the hotel should upgrade them. And they should put more info in the rooms. (info about the hotel, places to go, things to do etc.) The hotel is not very expensive and we can recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here (couple in our thirties) for a few days rest by the pool after a bit of back packing around Bosnia. We had read some negative reviews on other sites but thought we'd give it a go at 60 euros for the room per night (these are the cheapest rooms available for 2, which are twins) which was good for a hotel with pool at this time of year. The cheapest rooms are quite small and you'll be lucky to get one with a balcony but they are fine for the money.

We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel, the decent facilities and the staff (for whom nothing was too much bother). For example when they ran out of sun umbrellas around the pool they went out and bought one for us. The staff really were great. Pool wasn't too busy and was in good condition. Large beer around the pool is 2.5 euros. Salads for 2/3 euros. Main meals about 10/12 euros.

If you like beaches you are better off elsewhere as there isn't much beach and what there is is crowded. There are concreted areas with sunbeds/ down by the sea that you can use but it is busy. Most guests are Russian and we found them to be more friendly than other Russians we had met elsewhere.

There are plenty of small places to eat out down by the sea (about 100m away).

You can get to the hotel from Herceg Novi bus station by taxi (all on meter so less chance of a rip off) for about 8 euros or catch a bus along the coast and ask them to stop when you see the Xanadu sign (we did this on arrival, bus was 2 euros each). Hotel is under 10 mins drive from the bus station.

All in all a good hotel.

Room Tip: If you go for the cheaper rooms request a balcony, some have them but they are small. Might be worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The hotel had no swimming pool and credit card machine, although the website stated otherwise. Clean, very nice breakfast and cute rooms. Set in an area off the main coastal road of Montenegro.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergeyMarkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alessia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herceg-Novi
1.8 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#1 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
239 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#2 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
116 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort
Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort
#6 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wellness & Spa Hotel ACD
Wellness & Spa Hotel ACD
#8 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
24 reviews
3.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Kukoljac
Apart Hotel Kukoljac
#5 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
40 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#1 of 2 in Bijela
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xanadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xanadu

Address: Kumbor, Herceg Novi, Herceg-Novi, Herceg-Novi Municipality 85340, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Region: Montenegro > Herceg-Novi Municipality > Herceg-Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Herceg-Novi
Price Range: £71 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Xanadu 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xanadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing