We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signed up for 1 night-stayed for 3!”
Review of Hotel Perla

Hotel Perla
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Perla
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Herceg-Novi
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Signed up for 1 night-stayed for 3!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

After driving around Albania and Montenegro for 2 weeks, this was the perfect place to end our vacation. The hotel understands tourism and does it well. It is located on the 7 kilometer promenade that goes into town, with bars and restaurants along the way. However, the restaurant is very good and you can sign up for half board free if you stay for 3 nights or more. Breakfast is always included and it is a nice buffet. You can sit inside the restuarant or out in a covered open air restaurant overlooking Kotor Bay. The view is beautiful. You can get a room with a balcony overlooking the bay, also. Highly recommended! The "beach" is concrete, however they do have padded chairs, umbrellas and ladders into the water.

Room Tip: Turn on the water heater before you take a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pointspeaksandpasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    73
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
81
90
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have spent one night in this hotel. The beach is just 10 meters from the hotel, and there is a very nice promenade from the hotel to the old city. The view from the room was just great. Service was good as well. The breakfast is really good, with a nice terrace just up to the beach.
Herceg Novi is to me a very good place to visit the Kotor's area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdelattre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as a base for exploring Montenegro. Our room was average in size and very clean. We had a small balcony that overlooked the sea front. The hotel was a 25 minute walk away from the Old Town. As my husband had injured his ankle, we often took the cab into the old town and the journey never cost more than 2 euros. From the bus station, we took the bus to Budva and Kotor, which proved to be easy and cheap. Staff at the hotel were welcoming and helpful. However, there was an incident regarding confusion over a missing item, which was resolved straight away. This wouldn't stop me from staying here again. This hotel was lovely for a relaxing break. We found it too quiet for our liking. If we return to Montenegro, we would stay in Budva or Sven Stefani as it is a bit more livelier.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel Perla, perfect location overlooking the Adriatic.We had a standard room which had what I would call Utility furniture. No handles on the cupboards and a rather small bathroom. having said that the room was kept spotlessly clean and we got clean towels daily..

The food was varied but just never hot even when we went down for evening dinner at 7pm prompt the food was lukewarm. Tea and coffe are not included with dinner. They do not do an English Breakfast although there were fried eggs and only occasionally bacon. If you wanted toast.you had to request it. If they want to encourage more British visitors then I think they should review this.

It was very quiet during our visit and although we are in our 50's we would have liked it a bit livelier. We frequented a local bar Splendido's who sold the local draught beer very cheap at 2euros, cocktails 2.80 euros.

Walking along the promenade is a lovely experience and has the best views of the surrounding mountains. To get into town involves a hike of about 20 minutes and is quite a climb.

We took 4 excursions and I would recommend them all. The first was a Kotor Bay tour cost 20 euros and we were out from 10am to 6pm. The cost included a drink of the local brandy, wine, bread, cheese and salad. A stop at the Lady of the Rock. Then onto Perast 1/2 hour. Kotor Old Town 2 hours.

Next excursion a Montenegro tour cost 36 euros with stops at various places such as Cetinje and Lovcen. Scenery was amazing.

3rd Excursion was to Dubrovnik cost 20 euros which was just a transfer which dropped you off at the Old Town and the day was your own. We walked the walls which can be quite steep in places not helped by it being a hot day but worth it for the great views of the City and Harbour.

Finally, and what we thought the best was a visit to Skadar Lake. Cost 46 euros. Took over an hour to get there from H.N. Once on the boat you are given the local brandy and then as much wine as you want plus cheese and donoughts with honey. (Delicious). A trip around the Lake for 2 hours with stunning scenery and lunch in a local restaurant which consisted of soup, bread, salad and a main meal of either fish or meat.Excellent value.

One disappointment to us, the local people who we found quite ignorant, you rarely got a smile from them. They did not seem very courteous to each other either. travelling on the local buses was an eye opener. Bags were put on empty seats leaving passengers having to stand. People sitting on aisle seats so that passengers could not sit down. The buses although very cheap would not have been classed as roadworthy in the UK.. Certainly an experience.

Despite these niggles we had a thoroughly enjoyable time and couldn't believe what a great value holiday it was. We actually had spending money left at the end of our trip.

Room Tip: request a higher floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dink12Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I think the last reviewer - KC2604 - must have got this hotel mixed up with another one. I stayed there in February and didn't see a gym at all, nor do I see one on the website. And the rooms were average in size for a hotel of this price range. Perhaps KC2604 stayed in one of the annexes? But they don't seem to have a gym either.
I liked every aspect of the hotel but was only there for one night. I'm going back next month and will write a fuller review after that.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heather0012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We were very disappointed by this hotel and would not recommend to anyone to stay here. The photographs and information on their website are misleading. The rooms and bathrooms are incredibly small, so is the balcony. The service from the reception staff was very poor, except for one staff member who was friendly and knowledgeable. Most of the others treated you like you were an inconvenience. The gym does not look remotely like the one shown on the website. The equipment was old and rusty and not in working condition. Most of the time the gym was locked and not accessible. The food at the restaurant is not worth eating. We only ate lunch there once and the fish was over-cooked and tasteless. The wait staff were rude, with the exception of one young wait staff member who was very friendly and was more then happy to arrange an ice-bucket and wine glasses for our room. Pool towels are available, however you must leave a 40Euro deposit, cash only, returned when you return the towels. This hotel is quite some distance from the centre of town. My husband and I are very fit, and it would take us around 20-25mins to walk along the broad walk to the centre. There are much better restaurants located there, and the visitors information booth is very helpful and recommended some great restaurants.

Overall, I was not impressed with the service or facilities of this hotel. I would not stay here again. If I visit Montenegro another time, I would not stay in Herceg-Novi, but somewhere further into the lake district .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KC2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I stayed a week at the hotel in May 2011.
We liked it because it was small, friendly, clean and was right on the sea!.
The hotel arranged to have us picked up from the airport. The room was very clean, the food was good and the staff extremely friendly. We stayed in May at the beginning of the season so things were a little quiet. It suited us but may not be to everyone's taste at that time of the season.
The hotel is a little way out of the town but there is a long promenade which allows an easy walk along the coast. Alternatively, you can hire a bike and ride the length of the promenade.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AresElembty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herceg-Novi
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#3 of 17 in Herceg-Novi
107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Xanadu
Hotel Xanadu
#4 of 17 in Herceg-Novi
60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apart Hotel Kukoljac
Apart Hotel Kukoljac
#5 of 17 in Herceg-Novi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort
Hunguest Hotel Sun Resort
#6 of 17 in Herceg-Novi
145 reviews
7.3 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
268 reviews
20.3 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perla

Property: Hotel Perla
Address: Setaliste 5 Danica, Herceg-Novi, Herceg-Novi Municipality 85340, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Region: Montenegro > Herceg-Novi Municipality > Herceg-Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Herceg-Novi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Herceg-Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Perla 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perla Hotel Herceg Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing