We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Perast”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #5 of 9 Perast B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have spent four magnificent days at Hotel Admiral this summer. Hotel is very peaceful and perfect for those who need to get far from the crowd and noisy places. Thick walls of the hotel rooms are great because you can’t hear your neighbors, and on the other side, it is never too hot in the room (although there are air conditions in all rooms). Staff of the hotel is polite, friendly and always ready to help. They are speaking English very well. Hotel is on the great location – just on the Perast promenade and has beautiful view. Also, it is not far from the main road from which you can get local buses to Kotor or Herceg Novi. There is a restaurant in the hotel with delicious seafood. We would recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: The best room view is on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great sunset, good value for money, right in the heart of Perast. We had a wee balcony which faced off across the water. The breakfast was nicely prepared and we had a large amount of items to pick from.

All in all very nice place to stay!

Room Tip: There aren't that many rooms, but try and get a balcony facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Crownpoint_G_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Perast is one of these unique places that still are a gem. The hotel is really well located and the service of the hotel people was very helpfull. Especially Mariana was great in advice. Rooms are clean and nice, bathroom need improvement. Perfect breakfast location.
The restaurant (where breakfast is served) is from different owner..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fil2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We loved this cosy, small hotel in Perast. The whole experience was beautiful.
The room was just right, very nicely done and decorated with taste.
The balcony view was nice. Small bathroom and bit low bed but we still loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SarajevoAlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our 6 or 7 days in Perast was delightful. Friendly place, friendly staff who accomadated us well. The balcony seaview room was fantastic... And the water refreshingly blue and green. The place is as relaxing as Perast itself. (Why they dont forbid cars/or make the road one way drive, I don`t know) :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Petter_Soernaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Positioned in picturesque Perast, this place has the makings of a really classy boutique hotel. We secured room 101 with stunning views of the water, our own private terrace and gentle cross breezes. The room was large, light and spotless, though the bathroom was particularly cramped. The decor was fine, if a little dated and a tad like someone's rich elderly aunt. There's a bar fridge, air conditioning, tv and dvd player but no glassware. There are disposable plastic beakers, but these were not changed when our room was made up. Nor were the shampoo sachets replaced. We had to inquire about extra and we (2 adults) were given one to share on our second night!
The hotel provided parking (very handy in this part of the world at this time of year) and there is a neat but small platform by the sea for guests of the hotel to use. The swimming was delicious: the water crystal clear, brimming with fish and just the ticket after a hot day touring Kotor. Be warned, however, there appears a habit of guests to reserve the limited lounge chairs by placing towels on them. No guarantee they are using them. Is it me, or does that seem a weeny but selfish, to 'book' chairs, not use them and have other guests do without?This was certainly the case when we visited, chairs ostensibly taken (but vacant) while remaining guests scrabbled for what space they could. The culture of sharing seems bewilderingly foreign to some. It certainly isn't something supported by the management. Maybe the hotel could encourage its clients to be more even-handed and fair when enjoying the space so all can take advantage of its lovely amenities.
Incongruously, however, there is a laminated list of house rules for guests on clear display in your room. 24 rules for us to abide by!! Less like staying in a friendly hotel and more like being back at school. Not especially inviting as it assumes most people are likely to do the wrong thing. Moreover, basic information like when and where is breakfast is not on any of the literature provided. Maybe something about sharing communal poolside lounge chairs could be added!! The overall trend was more about what you couldn't do rather that what you could. Where were the posters showcasing nearby destinations? Where was the pamphlet showing Kotor highlights? Where was the map detailing day trips? Nowhere. Instead we were given a generic list of how to behave. Not the stuff of the ideal holiday.
So...what's the real rub here? After nearly 4 weeks travelling the Dalmatian coastline I think that the restaurant service was the worst I have come across. It was comically abysmal. The waiters appear to be from the Basil Fawlty School of Hospitality. Grumpy, grim and outstandingly slow they eventually arrive with dazzlingly small portions of all too forgettable food. Breakfast is quite the exercise. It comes with the room. The waiter told us we could order only 1 item, no more from the menu. Dare you ask for cereal AND fruit, you'll be told this is not possible.
I had the audacity to ask for some butter to accompany the bread (NO toast...oh no, that would be extra!) along with the eggs I had ordered. I fear that it became all too much for my waiter who a) kept forgetting my request b) took an age to deliver. I eventually made my way to the kitchen to collect it myself.
Interesting really as the other restaurants along the strip were buzzy of an evening, when the Admiral's one was relatively quiet and, as a result, somewhat uninviting. Perhaps a more proactive, hospitable and competent attitude from the service team might afford a more successful venture. Surely it's worth a try at the very least.
Small stuff really. I know that. There are real issues in the world to get antsy about. That said, you are paying top dollar here, so these things could/should be attended to.
What a missed opportunity by the management at this otherwise lovely hotel, truly busting with potential. The dining area is, in itself, quite spectacular. A little more investment in training staff to be friendly and forward thinking, coupled with a bit more generosity regrading portions and options, this could well be THE place to stay when visiting the bay of Kotor.
Added to that, after touring this coastline for the summer this was our most expensive stay. When much more affordable places like, Vila Drago at Sveti Stefan, can get there service culture so very right, it leaves me bewildered how Hotel Admiral can get it so very wrong.
Primarily, and on reflection, the Hotel Admiral felt like a beautiful, captainless ship. There is SO much going for it, but no one seems to own its direction. It's a very lovely vessel that feels a little lost. I LOVE the fact this is an independently owned, local, small hotel. I was just disappointed that it was rather poorly run. As I said before, it's a missed opportunity.
I would heartily recommend Perast. 100%. Unequivocally. It's is an extraordinarily beautiful destination in Montenegro. Away from the hubbub of Kotor but steeped in natural beauty. A gorgeous village in a genuinely splendid location. Would I stay at the Hotel Admiral again? Well..no.The location is incompatible. Room 101 has one if the best views from any room I've stayed in, but I'd buy breakfast from the nearby market, actively 'negotiate' a spot on the seaside terrace and eat out for breakfast & dinner. Hotel Conte is up the road. Looks nice. We ate there in the first night and the service was charming. Shame, as Hotel Admiral could be OUTSTANDING!

Room Tip: Room 101 has amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beautiful place, really like it. Room was great,, with a beautifil seaview. Hotel staff are very friendly. Breakfast is nice. We also had dinner in Admirals restaurant. It was gret, fresh, nice fish.
Admiral has everything what you need for good vacation. Perast, sea, sun, and Admiral. Perfect! I would definitly come next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perast hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bogisic Rooms and Apartment
0.2 mi away
Apartments David
Apartments David
#3 of 8 in Perast
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Per Astra
0.1 mi away
Apartments Gudco
Apartments Gudco
#1 of 8 in Perast
13 reviews
0 mi away
M&M Rooms and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Obala kapetana Marka Martinovica 82, Perast, Kotor Municipality 85336, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Perast
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Perast
Price Range: £57 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the fantastic location surrounded by the sea, with cordial staff and warm, family atmosphere, we'll provide you, at least for a short period of time, forget habits which modern way of life carries and enjoy in the charms of a true holiday. Hotel Admiral has 8 double rooms, each with TV, DVD player, air condition, mini bar, wireless internet connection, sea view. Hotel has restaurant with the amazing view of the Boka bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing