We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“z&a Australia”
Review of Hotel Conte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Conte
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We used Hotel Conte as our base for a few days before and after the sailing in Boka Bay. Our room was just above the restaurant with a fantastic view of Kotor Bay, Verige and two little beautiful islands, a landmark of Perast. The room was actually 2 bedroom apartment with a small venetian balcony in the main bedroom facing the little square that was in the midday full of local people and tourists. The apartment was simple but tastefully appointed and very clean.
Staff very friendly, breakfast rich and tasty. We felt welcomed and were well looked after. Our kids were occasionally treated with a free ice-cream etc.
Waterfront restaurant with a fresh and tasty seafood. The white meticulously cleaned tablecloths and an old-fashioned service with never stopping jazz music in a background made our meal time very enjoyable.
Definitely highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Visited Perast early September so just slightly out of season.

The hotel was quiet so we were upgraded we think to room 9...which was in fact a 3 bedroom apartment slightly away from the hotel...absolutely fantastic.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, waiting staff a little 'clinical' perhaps...all the restaurants here really push their 'first class fish' (fresh catch of the day) and the Conte was no different...a less pushy approach would have been good...Having said that the dining experience was good overall

Breakfast on the hotels deck overlooking the Bay of Kotor was amazing...stunning views up and down the bay.

You only really need 2 days in Perast and i would recommend the Conte...staying over allows you to experience the town before and after the daytrippers and cruise ship passengers engulf it for a few hours in the middle of the day.

Would highly recommend Perast Museum...

Room Tip: room 9 is a fantastic 3 bed apartment with its own garden....a great upgrade out of season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripphillondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Perast is described in some literature as a little Venice, which is a huge over-statement of the fact that, whilst it is nice for a stroll, there is really nothing here which will make you want to linger on the way to Kotor. A fenced-in basketball court disfigures the waterfront, and some of the hawkers were a little over zealous in their marketing.

The hotel itself is fine for one night, but I think it depends on which room you get. We had one at the back over the kitchen (which is also where the rather unpleasant main entrance is), and whilst I liked the simple decor and the comfortable bed, the only view we had was the wall of the neighbouring property.

We ate at their waterside restaurant. Undercooked chips with everything, I didn't think the food was anything special.

Message to receptionist: Never ever attempt to leave guests' passports lying in an unmanned reception area while you show guests to their room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambus36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Make sure you pay a little more and book a room with a view. The room was nice and clean with plenty of space. The staff at reception helpful and we were able to park our car on site which was handy. There is very little to do in Perast so it was strange that we weren't allowed to enjoy the waterside restaurant just for a drink. It was nice to have breakfast there each day though. The wait staff were less than friendly but that was also the vibe of the whole town, almost like we were an inconvenience to their day. 2 nights here is all you need especially if you're already well underway with a relaxing holiday. A bonus is that the cleaner will do your washing for free!

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Hotel had decent room, bed somewhat hard but ok for one night - no discount for eating at the Hotel restaurant overlooking the sea whose food was really good. Perast itself not the most exciting so okay for travelling through to Kotor. A decent enough Hotel, we called and reserved by phone a negotiated a cheaper price than online staff speak good English.

Room Tip: Make sure ask for facing bay on Top floor otherwise you could end up first floor and less good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

the location of the hotel, right at the edge of the water, is very nice. so is that of its outdoor restaurant.
the rooms are nothing special, clean and functional. the doors are very noisy. the way to the room, at the back of the hotel, is not particularly pleasant.
there is very little parking space in the area,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
1  Thank sotrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Perast is a very special location and Hotel Conte is right in the heart of it.
What they describe as an apartment, actually is a hotel suite: a big room with a leaving room area and minibar.
Staff is very helpful and friendly. Kids and babies are welcome.
Breakfast is good and very rich.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perast
3.6 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
332 reviews
2 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#2 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
117 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Eco Hotel Carrubba
Eco Hotel Carrubba
#1 of 1 in Donja Lastva
110 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Pana Kotor
Hotel Pana Kotor
#4 of 4 in Dobrota
69 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#1 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conte

Address: | Obala Kapetana Marka Martinovica BB, Perast, Kotor Municipality 85336, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Perast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perast
Price Range: £52 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Conte 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the former House of Culture and a step away from the Church of St. Nicholas, Hotel Conte (****) and its restaurant are located on the coast, on the main square in Perast and have a formal status of Historical Significance Object. In an environment adapted to the unique architecture of Perast, Hotel offers elegantly decorated rooms and suites, with breathtaking views of the Bay of Kotor. Known for its authentic ambience and a large selection of traditional dishes of the Mediterranean cuisine, Restaurant Conte is specialized in organization of weddings, business lunches, seminars and other types of gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Conte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing