We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Hostel Izvor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Izvor
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I was travelling with friends from Serbia too montenegro during the exit festival and was recommended by friends too stay the hostel izvor to break our journey up. Ten hours into our journey we had a crash 50km away from Podgorica completely ruining our vehicle upon arranging other transport tired and stephen my freind being extremely distressed from the crash we arrived at izvor where we was greeted with a big smile we explained our situation meanwhile our bags where being taken to our rooms our dirty washing cleaned all while we sat relaxed in the bar area the staff prepared us some excellent wholesome traditional food just what we needed. The room was clean and cool considering the summer heat plus the beds where comfy, shower rooms are spotless clean and nice and warm, the surroundings of the hotel are breathtaking ideal for rambling and rock climbing. We spent a total of 5 nights at hostel izvor and had some great evenings and days sat outside in the peace with a few local refreshments from the well stocked bar. There was numerous amounts of other groups of tourists staying and the relaxed atmosphere put a big smile on everyone's face. I look forward to going back in the future. Great hotel run by great people :-)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Clayton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place is a bit of a hidden gem. The rooms and bathrooms are basic but very clean. We stayed in our motorhome and the site offered us some amazing views. The staff were incredibly helpful, cooking for us when we were the only pair in the restaurant. The meal was incredibly fresh and featured local ingredients. Excellent wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and some friends recently stayed at Hostel Izvor whilst travelling, this hostel was recommended by friends that had stayed there previously. I found the hostel to be very peaceful and scenic, it is located within the mountains just off the main road next to a crystal clear river.

Upon arrival after being warmly welcomed and fed we where then shown to our rooms, the rooms were very clean and spacious unlike previous hostels which were a little crammed. We had lots of dirty clothes which needed washing so we inquired about cleaning facility's. All the washing was washed and dried for us, whilst we had a walk up the river taking in the sights. Once we arrived back from our little trek we decided we wanted to get showed and changed. Shower rooms had multiple showers with warm water so we didn’t have to wait for each other getting ready. After getting changed into our clean clothes we decided to checkout Podgorica town and ordered a taxi into town costing around 3 Euros. The town was very nice with lots of bars and restaurants and amazing food. After checking out the town we decided to get a taxi back find taxis is easy we just flagged one down straight away and headed off back to the hostel bar, the bar was nice and had benched outside to sit out and chill with a few beers. The staff were very friendly and helpful telling us about various activity’s and helping us arrange them. After a few drinks we decided to go to our room and sleep we all had had a good night sleep as the hostel is very relaxing being set in the mountains and away from the centre.

Overall the hostel was just what we wanted a base to relax after exploring the town,mountains and going on trips. It offered excellent facility’s, friendly staff ,spacious rooms and I would highly recommend.

Pudla

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SteHorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Absolutely love this place, so much so that it is the second time I have visited and second time I have felt compelled to write a review.

The Pesic family and I have remained friends since my last visit three years ago, and when I arrived it felt like we had not been away.

They couldn't have done more for us. Arranged for us to stay in the apartments for the duration of our stay free of charge. This despite the fact they had never met any of the rest of our group before. They were more than happy to plan trips for us in the local area, arranged transport to and from Budva, Skadar Lake and Dubrovnik airport. The hostel bar is brilliant and the staff will ensure that it stays open until you are finished not them!

The area is well connected to the city centre. Just three euros in a taxi. From there you can get trains to the coast (Bar) or other destinations such as Serbia. The hostel itself is on the main road in from Kolasin and is a spectacular drive. The train line runs right past too.

The area is ideally located for many activities in the local area. In less than an hour you can be white water rafting, sailing or visiting the historic old towns of Budva, Bar, Kotor etc.

If you are lucky enough to stay here and become friends of the owners you will be sure to be friends for life and return to the hostel.

Room Tip: If you prefer private hotel style rooms request one of the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank claretmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Location is not great so would only recommend you stay here if you have a car. It is about a 15-20 minute drive to old and new town.

we had a private double with bathroom. The place was dirty, dusty, and it smelled. The sheets were faded and rough. The breakfast included was ok, not great.

The staff was nice enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The room I was in was stinking. It was an eight bed dorm without heating. The smell was literally of a cat litter tray. It's also a bit too far from the town centre. The building looks ok from the outside, but the work inside is a bit of a mixed bodge job. Almost like they've only ever half finished anything.

The guy on reception seemed helpful, but in reality wasn't that helpful apart from booking my taxi the next morning to the bus station.

This has to be one of the worst places I have ever stayed. I was very glad to get out of this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Hostel is a little bit away from the centre of Podgorica which isn't really a problem since taxi cabs are really cheap (around 3€ to the centre). It's located next to a beautiful river with the first market only 10min away. The building itself is maybe not in the best possible condition but considering the price you are paying (about 10€/night) it is a decent place to stay. The staff is very helpful and simply fun to be around. If you're lucky you might get to attend one of their parties, they tend to be quite...amusing! I do however recommend you bring your own toilet paper because it tends to run out fairly quickly and also, if you're a vegetarian be a little flexible when it comes to food, Montenegrins tend to eat meat three times a day, And cabbage, Lot's of cabbage.

Room Tip: There are two parts of this hostel, try to get one on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Špela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Podgorica hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Podgorica
Hotel Podgorica
#7 of 17 in Podgorica
143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Philia
Hotel Philia
#10 of 17 in Podgorica
63 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Aurel
Hotel Aurel
#2 of 17 in Podgorica
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ramada Podgorica
Ramada Podgorica
#4 of 17 in Podgorica
248 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel M Nikic
Hotel M Nikic
#6 of 17 in Podgorica
109 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hostel Podgorica
Hostel Podgorica
#12 of 29 in Podgorica
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Izvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Izvor

Address: Smokovac bb, Podgorica, Podgorica Municipality 81000, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Podgorica Municipality > Podgorica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Podgorica
Price Range: £20 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Izvor 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostel Izvor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing