We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Hotel Podgorica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Podgorica
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Podgorica
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having worked in Montenegro for a number of years, and knowing was hotel standards are like, It was with some trepidation that I checked into Hotel Podgorica on a recent return visit to the country. I had nothing to be concerned about. The receptionist was excellent - good language skills, efficient, polite and friendly, and helpful. I was allocated a room facing the front of the hotel but, when I arrived at my room, the reception was calling to say that she could give me a room with a terrace and a river view - an unexpected and lovely upgrade.

The decor in the room is contemporary and very relaxing. There is a good selection of TV channels, free wifi, a good range of toiletries and very comfortable beds. My only issue is that the air conditioning is centrally controlled. I was staying in October but the temperature was in the mid 20s and air conditioning would have been really nice.

The breakfast buffet offers a good selection of hot and cold items, including delicious pastries, and excellent coffee.

The public areas are nice but quite smoky as smoking inside is still permitted in Montenegro and smoking is very common.

All in all, it was a very good experience and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnaBuric, General Manager at Hotel Podgorica, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kerry,
first of all sorry for late respond. On the behalf of the entire staff, i would like to thank you for such a long and nice review. We appreciate all positive comments and recommendations given.
Looking forward to your future stay with us.

Best regards,
Ena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    56
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
24
9
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great is all about the hotel with one word. I was at that place more than 40 years ago. What remains in my head is a beautifull view on the Morača and Ribnica river. When planning my trip to Podgorica this time I decided to left hotels in the centre of the city and go to hotel Podgorica again. When approaching by taxi all rthe major lines remaining as they were. But all the rest was renewed. A great job. Spatious and clean rooms, equipped above the cathegory, good design. Great breakfast. And what a luxury sitting on the balcony and enjoy the unique view. I am visiting different hotels. Podgorica is on top. Keep on doing it in that way. See you soon again. By the way. 10 minutes to go and you are in the centre of the city.

Room Tip: A must is to book a room with the view on the river Morača.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinetou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnaBuric, General Manager at Hotel Podgorica, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for the review. We are proud to have such a positive feedback. Hopefully, you will be our guest again soon!

Kindest regards,
Ena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is located by the Moraca river. A quick walk from downtown with its laid back cafes. This is most definitely not your typical business hotel, with lots of character and personality. The architecture of the hotel mimics some ruins nearby and seems to be sort of a "point" in town. The bar, very charming (although with lots of smoke from cigarettes) is always busy and have a nice vibe.
Several rooms face the river and I really enjoyed sitting at the balcony, facing the river and working or just watching the sunset. Staff is very attentive although most of them with limited English. The restaurant definitely surprised me. Very nice food and sort of a hot spot in town, with a large patio and sumbrellas, facing the river.
Cigarette smell was the only "minus" I could point out but still think it is worth it for the ambiance.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river. Amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValeriaUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnaBuric, General Manager at Hotel Podgorica, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Valeria,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are very happy to hear that you had nice stay in our hotel. We are also content that you feel vibe of our charming bar.
However, we are sorry about limited English from some stuff, but i assure you that they improved their knowledge. Also, we are sorry because there were a lot of smoke from cigarettes in the bar, but smoking in bars and restaurants in Montenegro, unfortunately is very common.

In the meantime, we are looking forward to your next stay in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Ena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel Podgorica is situated in most perfect location when coming to the Montenegro capital and its geographical position. By laying on the bank on the Morača river it provides it-s guests the most amazing view, in comfortable and I would even say, luxurious ambient. Although it is situated in calm and enjoying natural environment with the view to the beautifully azure river Morača, it is only 10 minutes by foot far away from the central streets and locations. It is in deed impressive hotel complex. The room was bright, large enough and clean and offered a combination of natural materials such as wood and stone. When coming to the available features it has overcome my expectations. It was equipped with air conditioning, hydro massage shower, mini bar, TV, cable and Wi Fi internet, and all the necessary and even some additional, not so expected but available bathroom and room items as slippers, Cotton sticks, individual safe box, totally free Wi-Fi all around the hotel etc. The food was also remarkably good, as the choice was based on the Swedish table style, and containing such diverse kinds of meals that I believe can satisfy the most choosy taste and gastronomic wishes. Maybe the disadvantage is the price per night, as it overcomes the prices of other available accommodation facilities in Podgorica. If coming for business trip as my case was, this facility is in deed perfect choice as it has a conference rooms and logistics available for performing meetings and workshops as well. The distinguishing level of hotel's staff professionalism is add-on to the mentioned benefits list. I was really impressed as it overcame my expectations.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the view to the river Moraca!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnaBuric, General Manager at Hotel Podgorica, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Valentina,

Thank you for the great review! We are very happy that you recognized our hospitality and beautiful nature that surrounds our hotel. Your positive feedback is very important to us and our future guests. Once again, thank you very much for such a detailed and beautiful review.

We hope to welcome you here again!

Kind regards,
Ena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Spent a night at this hotel for business travel. Generous sized rooms, clean, friendly staff and small but perfectly adequate gym. The charm of this hotel is that the exterior mirrors the ruins across the rivier. Designer clearly had a sense of humour! Location is also definitely one of the selling points of the hotel. However, in spite of the fact that the rooms were very clean, you couldn't escape the smell of cigarettes anywhere. I guess that is hard to avoid in Montenegro but prepare to have your suits dry cleaned upon your return. Restaurant was clearly a hotspot in town. Food was fine, breakfast exceded my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the bar in order to get away from the cigarette smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 070OKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnaBuric, General Manager at Hotel Podgorica, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for the time taken to write a review about our hotel and thank you for the great tips!
However, we are sorry for the smell of cigarettes, but as you know that is pretty common in Montenegro.

Thank you once again and kind regards,
Ena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This one of the prime hotels in Podgorica. It is really well located and has amazing views over the river specially if you can use the terrace. A short walk from the main square as well as the restaurants and bars. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is good but not amazing. The hotel is somewhat overpriced.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with the view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivankcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnaBuric, General Manager at Hotel Podgorica, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

On the behalf of entire staff, thank you for devoting time to write this review. We are very happy to announce that we improved quality of our breakfast since the last time you have been at our hotel.
Hopefully, you will find out that during your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Ena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Wonderfully located on the bank of a picturesque river! Summer time you can eventually go to swim or just have a walk along the stream. Excellent quality of the rooms, they are nice and big, with new furniture and fresh renovation. Breakfast is also at a very good standard.

Room Tip: If you want to have a view on a river, book this specific rooms, they are a bit more expensive, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnaBuric, General Manager at Hotel Podgorica, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for devoting time to leave such a beautiful review. We are very happy because you recognized our commitment to you and other guests and for recognizing beautiful nature that surrounds our hotel.

We hope so that you will stay in our hotel again!

Kind regards,
Ena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Podgorica
1.8 mi away
Hotel Philia
Hotel Philia
#9 of 17 in Podgorica
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Podgorica
Ramada Podgorica
#4 of 17 in Podgorica
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aurel
Hotel Aurel
#1 of 17 in Podgorica
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Podgorica Crna Gora
Hilton Podgorica Crna Gora
#3 of 17 in Podgorica
68 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Sokoline
Hotel Sokoline
#1 of 1 in Danilovgrad
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
CentreVille Hotel & Experiences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Podgorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Podgorica

Property: Hotel Podgorica
Address: Svetlane Kane Radevic 1, Podgorica, Podgorica Municipality 81000, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Podgorica Municipality > Podgorica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Podgorica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Podgorica 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Podgorica offers 44 rooms and suites, equipped according to high standards, specialized in sports, business and MICE tourism. It was built in 1967 on the bank of river Moraca, based on the project of Svetlana Kana Radevic, for which she was awarded a architectural award of ex-Yugoslavia, with the special emphasis on fitting the hotel into its existing surrounding environment. The greatest uniqueness of the hotel's architecture is the cornerstone carved into the exterior walls. Situated in the heart of the city, along the river that flows beneath the terrace, green trees and chirping birds, it provides complete isolation in our oasis of peace. It disposes of conference rooms that are ideal for business meetings, conferences and other gatherings. Aperitif bar of the hotel is one of the most popular venues of businesspeople in the city. Within the hotel, there is a souvenir shop, gym, business desk as well as the free parking space for hotel guests. In the vicinity of the hotel, there are open courts of the sport center "Moraca", which gives an opportunity to the hotel guests for additional recreation and swimming in the swimming pool. The hotel's restaurant ,,Three centuries" with the terrace that faces the river is one of the most beautiful parts of the hotel, where you can enjoy in traditional and international specialties. We also kindly recommend you our sushi menu. If you love the drink of the gods, we strongly recommend our wine list, which has 138 types of wine. You can indulge in pleasure while you're tasting them in the mystic ambiance of Taverna, as well as in the JustClub. And finally our greatest value is our staff that is courteous, positive and always smilling. Visit us and find out why you will become our friends, who will always come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Podgorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing